Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Super Easy USB Installer with Graphical Menu
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 09:49    Post subject:  

Dear Mick,

Thanks very much. You're very quick. It should make setting up "test" USB sticks very quick and painless.

With kind regards,
vovchik

PS. I usually use konsole, so I will incorporate your hacks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 13:09    Post subject:  

I must have had a bad VFAT file system on my formatted SD card, 'cause I reformatted it, put the puppeee files back on it and it booted like a charm!

...now to try it out!

Thank you for your interest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 15:06    Post subject:  

Hmm, I was hoping I could count on xterm always being there. I wonder if I included the xterm binary if that would always work. Or maybe xmessage would be a better choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 15:25    Post subject:  

Dear Jemimah,

I think xterm or a symlink xterm -> rxvt is always there, but xmessage is prettier, IMO. You could do a check on the environment var TERM or do a "which", but I figure you know that anyway. Again, xmessage might be better since would not frighten people unaccustomed to the terminal.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 18 May 2010, 01:58    Post subject:  

Hi jemimah, vovchik

Ha! I just punched "$TERM" into konsole in Mandriva2010 and got "xterm: Command not found".

To me this is a severe bug! The environment variable "TERM" is set to a non-exsistant program. Surely they could have symlinked xterm to konsole. Rolling Eyes Laughing

Ok, so xterm is probably there in most distros.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0448s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]