Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 14:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.0 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Fri 07 May 2010, 23:34    Post subject:  

G'day all. I've got WINE working in Quirky. Downloaded Wine 1.1.39 Pet file from here (thanks green_dome Very Happy ):
http://solidfiles.com/d/1095f2ac507c69c942554c1377b22f3c
http://solidfiles.com/d/8f30de0791db9d1f2c71c3b81a58a151

Downloaded Gecko from here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/wine/files/Wine%20Gecko/1.0.0/wine_gecko-1.0.0-x86.cab/download

Created folder /usr/share/wine/gecko and copied the gecko file in there. Opened a terminal, typed in "winefile" (without the quotes) and it worked !!! Easiest WINE installation, ever. No mucking-about with dependencies. They were all just there. If some one finds they ARE missing dependencies, they might find them in a Post by green_dome in this thread: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=398253

@rjbrewer - you're right - having that fsckme-err file is a good sign but it had me worried cos of that .err tacked onto the end of it. Thought it was an error

@rcrsn51 - you're right about the suggestive file-name

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 03:15    Post subject: Re: Quirky 1.00 Epson RX600 printer, embedded scan function  

Béèm wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
The scanner is ready, so iscan isn't a solution either.

Do you have a Puppy install you could try this driver on?
Altho the scanner is working in Lucid, I could install iscan and try with it, yes.
As it is 02:00 am now, it won't be for now. Time to go to bed.
I tried in Lucid 114, with which xsane is working correctly.

Iscan did work ok also. The device detected epkowa:usb:001:003
In Xsane the device is epson2:libusb:001:003
But also the epkowa one is proposed for selection.
When I select it in Xsane, I can scan with epkowa also.

I wonder if the installation of your epkowa.tar.gz does interfere in Quirky. I didn't install it in Lucid 114, only the iscan.pet

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3427
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 05:21    Post subject:  

@f00

1. "does xfe open the /tmp dir okay for you?"
Yes, it does, no sign of any problem.

2. "with text (fg) you can read"
Don't understand.
What does this mean?
What is (fg)?

3. "dead-full-black can be a troublesome choice at times for bg"
(a) Again, I don't understand, what is bg?
(b) In Lighthouse I use a black color scheme, but it isn't deep black, it sorta glows as though lit from the edges of the screen.
Looks really good.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Quirky-100


A. I like the "doggy = Puppy" logo; has a "certain something" about it.

B. Quirky has been pretty trouble free = "just works".

C. The appearance of text etc in the Firefox-3.6 window is very good [like Lighthouse].
Struggling to make lupu-114 Firefox look as good.

D. How do I give a black background to the [lime green] CPU graph down at bottom right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9064
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 08:13    Post subject: Re: Quirky 1.00 Epson RX600 printer, embedded scan function  

@Béèm

This is a bit of a mystery. I know that XSane works in Quirky because it detects my HP scanner with the add-on hpaio backend. So it's odd that Lupu can detect your scanner using the built-in epson2 backend but Quirky cannot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3427
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 11:12    Post subject:  

Just recently I've been suffering the following:

1. [The recent version = 3.6 of] Firefox has been crashing on various Puppies, including BoxPup-413, and Quirky-100, but NOT Lupu-116.
How does Lupu-116 manage to avoid the problem I wonder?
I'll need to begin taking notes methinks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 11:34    Post subject: yudit
Subject description: report
 

I tested Yudit multi-language text editor (www.yudit.org) and it
worked fine. I will test now on Lucid Puppy and report back.
available at www.esnips.com/web/lupu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 14:57    Post subject: Re: Quirky 1.00 Epson RX600 printer, embedded scan function  

rcrsn51 wrote:
@Béèm

This is a bit of a mystery. I know that XSane works in Quirky because it detects my HP scanner with the add-on hpaio backend. So it's odd that Lupu can detect your scanner using the built-in epson2 backend but Quirky cannot.
I wanted to start over again and uninstalled iscan and also removed the files of your epkowa.tar.gz package and rebooted.
Installed only iscan again and rebooted.
Now Xsane sees a epkowa:usb:001:003 device, but when trying to address it I get the message: can't access the device, resource busy.
Even after powering off/on the RX600 I have the same.

As for the iscan I still get that message that a command can't be sent to the device, without specifying which one. But in the light of what happens in Xsane, I suppose this msg is because the device/resource is busy.

Looks like something very basic is missing in Quirky, which is present in Lucid.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 20:26    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Just recently I've been suffering the following:

1. [The recent version = 3.6 of] Firefox has been crashing on various Puppies, including BoxPup-413, and Quirky-100, but NOT Lupu-116.
How does Lupu-116 manage to avoid the problem I wonder?
I'll need to begin taking notes methinks.


Sqlite package needs to be updated. This will be in the next release of Quirky. You can also install my updated Sqlite PET but I haven't uploaded it yet.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
headfound


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 345
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 21:07    Post subject:  

Booted nicely on my intel i5 board (which refuses to boot ANY linux distro with a kernel older than early last year!).
Detected my video card as geforce (its ati) and actually brought up the desktop but extremely dark. I restarted xorg choosing the ati driver and all was well.

The only problem i have is that no matter how many times i specify an english GB keyboard layout, it still stays as (i guess) american with @ and " swapped.

_________________
Download a better Computer Smile
Puppy Linux Song
altern8life
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 22:23    Post subject: JWM Info  

Anyone using JWM and Quirky 100 might think about compiling the newer JWM 492. This solved the no alt key + left clink drag for moving a large window.

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 03:49    Post subject:  

...got hotkeys via jwmrc-personal working by changing openbox to jwm in /etc/windowmanger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3427
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 03:57    Post subject:  

@BarryK
1. " You can also install my updated Sqlite PET but I haven't uploaded it yet."
(a) GREAT! Very Happy
I've discovered that lupu DOES suffer from that problem too. Sad

(b) Can that PET be used on all Puppies? Very Happy
e.g. BoxPup-413, Lupu-116, Quirky-100?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 04:17    Post subject:  

Sylvander I use Q1 as my main OS now and Firefox never crash.

What sites does it and which circumstances?

caveat? My FF are a cheat imported from a different subdir on the HDD and replacing the .mozilla.

But it didn't crash before either and I used youtube heavily with many tabs going at same time and going back in history which did make puppy 4.00 crash in 2008?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 06:56    Post subject:  

Running well on a Dell Latitude..
* samba-cups networked printer
* Firefox (no crashes)
* Skype
* Dude Desktop/pwidgets
*/etc/windowmanager/jwm (for hotkeys, etc)
* rdesktop (needed libsamplerate, libcrypto.so.0.9.8->libcrypto.so.1.0.0)

Nice!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3427
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 08:04    Post subject:  

@nooby
1. "What sites does it and which circumstances?"
(a) It happens at random; any site, any time.
Often/usually when I then attempt to restart Firefox, that will fail...
It's necessary to reboot, which usually works [dropping to a command prompt and coming back in just doesn't do the trick].

(b) I usually have 3 windows open at the same time.
Each window normally has only 1 tab.

2. I've updated Sqlite in both BoxPup-413 [to v3.6.23.1-p4], and Quirky-100 [to v3.6.23.1-q].
Haven't yet seen Firefox crashing since doing that.
Here's where I got the Sqlite PET's.

3. Haven't yet updated Sqlite [now v3.6.22] within Lupu-116.
No more Firefox crashing seen as yet; haven't been using it much, time will tell.

4. Tally of number of crashes [after reporting, and] prior to fix/now:
BoxPup-413 = 5
Lupu-116 = 4
Quirky-100 = 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0969s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]