Fonts....an Ah Ha Moment

Booting, installing, newbie
DaveS

Fonts....an Ah Ha Moment

#1 Post by DaveS »

So I have been using Puppy now for a couple of years, pretty much exclusively, but it always bugged me that fonts dont display as well as in other distros, principally Ubuntu. I use a laptop with an LCD, so fonts are a bit of a challenge anyway.
So I downloaded Lucid and as usual, font display is excellent. Looking at settings, I noticed the global font size is set to 96. This is usual for Ubuntu, but high for Puppy. A little more research led me to an article describing how to set up the 'perfect' desktop in Hardy. Rec for LCD, 96 dpi!
Armed with this possible misinformation, I duly set the global font size in Puppy to 96 dpi. The result was huge fonts everywhere. BUT, this time, instead of dropping back to a smaller DPI, I reduced the point size in jwm, GTK Theme, browser prefs and css. Result, great font rendering. DUH!!!
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

PaulBx1

#2 Post by PaulBx1 »

Might not be a bad thing to make a how-to with a more detailed description...

Artie

#3 Post by Artie »

Yes please a how-to would be very nice! :)

Artie

DaveS

#4 Post by DaveS »

PaulBx1 wrote:Might not be a bad thing to make a how-to with a more detailed description...
OK, HOW TO:

Note: give this a try, it makes no changes to your system that cannot be reverted:

First, change the Global Font size on your system from Menu>Desktop>Set Global Font Size. Set it to 96 dpi.
Next, you must re-start X to make this take effect, Menu>Shutdown>Restart X Server

OK, so now your various fonts will probably be displaying oversize

So next, set the GTK dialogue font size:
Menu>Desktop>Chtheme GTK Theme Chooser. From the pop-up choose the font you want and set the size. Set it via the 'font' button, bottom left.

This applies instantly, so you dont need to re-start anything.

That should pretty much do it unless you are using Stardust, 4.4, or the Dude desktop environment.