Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 00:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
HowTo: Make Zip store files with absolute path? [Solved]
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 17 Apr 2010, 02:46    Post_subject:  HowTo: Make Zip store files with absolute path? [Solved]  

I`ve tried to get Zip to store with absolute paths, but they`re always relative.
With absolute paths from /, you know exactly where the file is going. Period !
With relative paths, you need a script to set the current path and run Zip. ( Sucks...)

Even Tar insists on removing the leading / from the paths it stores.
Tar has the option: " -P --absolute-names " = Don't strip leading `/'s from file names.
But I can`t get it to work anyway... Error: Cannot stat: No such file or directory ( the Tar file ).

Anyone know how to do this?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 12:44    Post_subject: Re: HowTo: Make Zip store files with absolute path?  

sunburnt wrote:
I`ve tried to get Zip to store with absolute paths, but they`re always relative.
With absolute paths from /, you know exactly where the file is going. Period !
With relative paths, you need a script to set the current path and run Zip. ( Sucks...)

Even Tar insists on removing the leading / from the paths it stores.
Tar has the option: " -P --absolute-names " = Don't strip leading `/'s from file names.
But I can`t get it to work anyway... Error: Cannot stat: No such file or directory ( the Tar file ).

Anyone know how to do this?


IIRC (long, long ago I used to be one of Info-Zip's beta testers), the preceding "/" was removed because it caused problems, and presented security risks... And for 99.999% of the users, they didn't want the root filesystem pointer stored anyway...

It will store the whole path, other than the "/". Is that not enough?

Look for "directory-traversal security vulnerability" for example:

http://infozip.sourceforge.net/FAQ.html#corruption
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 14:27    Post_subject:  

Why not just make a PET out of the program.
There are instructions on how to make one and with a PET, all files and directories are placed where they are supposed to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 15:22    Post_subject:  

Hi RetroTechGuy; As I said, a script is then needed to set the current dir. making the archive utilities not so useful by themselves.

8-bit; It`s just a long standing Q I`ve had about the archive utilities...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 15:48    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Hi RetroTechGuy; As I said, a script is then needed to set the current dir. making the archive utilities not so useful by themselves.


I guess I don't understand what you mean. I just did a quick test, sitting in /root/ (my command prompt "home"):

Code:
zip -r test.zip /mnt/sda3/tmp


Which stored the contents of tmp as "mnt/sda3/tmp/____"

Then I did an unzip as:

Code:
unzip -d / test.zip


Which wrote the contents of test.zip back to the directory /mnt/sda3/tmp/, all while my working directory was /root/.

Code:
unzip -d extraction_directory zipfile.zip


tells unzip to start at "extraction_directory" for its unzip operation.

"unzip" with no parameters will give you a short help page.

Addendum: You could also set up a batch file, making it perform "unzip -d /" on your input your zipfile, or set up an alias:

Code:
alias restore='unzip -d /'
then
restore test.zip

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 15:54    Post_subject:  

Oooppsss, I was looking at the zip -h page, that should help quite a bit...
having to use a special option isn`t "simple friendly", but it does get the job done!
Thanks T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 16:04    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Oooppsss, I was looking at the zip -h page, that should help quite a bit...
having to use a special option isn`t "simple friendly", but it does get the job done!
Thanks T.


You are most welcome. Personally, I would set up the special alias, knowing that it is your "restore" function.

(for example, I also typically alias/replace "rm" with "remove", and then reset "rm" to "rm -i", to prevent accidents)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 21:36    Post_subject:  

All good ideas, I only use rm in programs, I use Rox for the manual file operations.

Though I`ve wanted a good Win. file Explorer look-alike for years, none work very well.
ROX works well, that`s the other reason I use it, I want dir. panel at left and file on right side.
It would be nice if there was a slide out extra dir. panel to use when copying and moving.

I should look around again as it`s been a year since I`ve looked at them. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 22:41    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
All good ideas, I only use rm in programs, I use Rox for the manual file operations.

Though I`ve wanted a good Win. file Explorer look-alike for years, none work very well.
ROX works well, that`s the other reason I use it, I want dir. panel at left and file on right side.
It would be nice if there was a slide out extra dir. panel to use when copying and moving.

I should look around again as it`s been a year since I`ve looked at them. Any suggestions?


About the only thing I know off the top of my head is Midnight Commander (a Norton Commander clone).

Haven't used it, however...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 23:44    Post_subject:  

Laughing I used Norton`s commander for many years in DOS of course.
I`ve tried MC but it`s like NC, 2 file panels, not like Win. Explorer with 1 dir. and 1 file.
It`s close but... There`s 2 Win.Ex. clones I`ve seen, but they just didn`t work as well as ROX.
I`m sure this had a big impression on Barry when he chose the file manager for Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 11:39    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Laughing I used Norton`s commander for many years in DOS of course.
I`ve tried MC but it`s like NC, 2 file panels, not like Win. Explorer with 1 dir. and 1 file.
It`s close but... There`s 2 Win.Ex. clones I`ve seen, but they just didn`t work as well as ROX.
I`m sure this had a big impression on Barry when he chose the file manager for Puppy.


I actually don't use Windows Exploder (nor Internet Exploder). And in those DOS days, wasn't really a fan of NC (I did/do use Qfiler, however).

What I do when I want 2 windows is simply to open 2 windows...dragging from one, to the other. Rox doesn't care if you have the same folder twice. And you simply navigate up and down to drag and drop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Yes... That`s my standard method of copying stuff. I`ll look into it at sometime... Thanks! T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0725s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]