Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 09:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
configuring ecafe ec800 display
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
yannig

Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 16 Apr 2010, 08:50    Post subject:  configuring ecafe ec800 display  

hello, i'm trying to install puppy on a hercules ecafe ec800, but i have a problem with the display : screen is 1024x600 want to show me 1024x768

So, i'm fighting with xorg.conf since hours, triing to enrich it with lines I take from an xorg.conf that works on my machine with ubuntu. I join the loast xorg.conf file which doesn't prevent X from working ... but still doesn't show me the bottom of page !
please help ! Question
Code:

#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this  section  is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

    Load        "dbe"     # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
    Load        "type1"
    Load        "freetype"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
    Load       "xtrap"

# This loads the GLX module (if present)
    Load       "glx"

# This loads dri module (if present)
    Load       "dri"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section.  This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.

    RgbPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath   "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12).  This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

#    Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

    Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "fr" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
   #Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   HorizSync    25-50
   VertRefresh  50-75
   DisplaySize    176 100
   UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   Option      "PreferredMode" "1024x600"
   Option        "dpms"
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
   Modeline    "1024x600" 48.96 1024 1064 1168 1312 600 601 604 622 -hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "800x480" 33.45 800 840 968 1056 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
    Modeline    "1024x768" 64.56 1024 1056 1296 1328 768 783 791 807 -hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "HWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoCompression"         # [<bool>]
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "TV"                    # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_Output"             # [<str>]
   #Option     "TVOverscan"            # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_Encoder"            # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_Bus_Fmt"            # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_Flags"              # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_601_Flags"          # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_Vsync_Select"       # [<str>]
   #Option     "TV_Conversion"         # [<str>]
   #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "Rotate"                # [<str>]
   #Option     "FlatPanel"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "CrtEnable"             # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ColorKey"              # <i>
   #Option     "OSMImageBuffers"       # <i>
   #Option     "OSMColorExpBuffers"    # <i>
   #Option     "CustomMode"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "FPDestGeom"            # [<str>]
   #Option     "FPActiveGeom"          # [<str>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "geode" #card0driver
   VendorName  "Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]"
   BoardName   "Geode LX Video"
   BusID       "PCI:0:1:1"
   Option    "PanelGeometry"    "800x480"
    Option    "NoDDC"    "true"
    Option    "PanelMode"    "33450 800 840 968 1056 480 490 492 525"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 16
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       16
     Modes       "1024x600" "800x480"
      #Modes       "1024x768" "1024x600" "800x480"
   EndSubsection
EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=Advanced_Micro_Devices
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
murr4y

Joined: 24 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2011, 08:02    Post subject:  

I have excactly the same problem with my ecafe, has anyone found a solution?
Searching for ecafe in the forum shows another thread concerning this issue. However it's spanish; does somebody know if the problem was solved there?

Many thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
savvdm

Joined: 19 Sep 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 19 Sep 2011, 04:51    Post subject: same for Asus eeePC 4G  

Got the same problem with 800x480 screen on eeePC (would like to have a "virtual" 800x600 screen, like in Windows XP on the same machine). Dialogs just do not fit on the screen. Any suggestion? Maybe some window manager trick to allow moving windows past the screen boundary?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5132
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2011, 04:17    Post subject:  

savvdm,

You need to start your own topic.
Things get real confused trying to help two people with different computers.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5132
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Sep 2011, 04:31    Post subject:  

yannig and murr4y,

You seem to have the same computer and problem so what works should work for both, but maybe not.

First thing.
What version of Puppy are you trying to use?
How are you running it?
Live CD?
Frugal install?
Full install?

To see windows that go past desktop:
Alt button hold.
Left mouse button click on window and hold.
Move mouse around.

This info may help
http://blogs.fsfe.org/alge/?p=12

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0945s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0265s) ][ GZIP on ]