Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 05:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
can't pulse dial PCTEL Platnum V.90 modem
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
willie x

Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 31 Mar 2010, 22:03    Post_subject:  can't pulse dial PCTEL Platnum V.90 modem  

I got Puppy 4.3.1 up and running without to much trouble. My modem was recognized, but when I changed dial command from ATDT (tone dial sounded normal) to ATDP, I now get a little click about once per second, not the usual pulse dial sounds, then: Waiting for carrier! No carrier! Trying again.

There is a message about 18 lines down in the status log that says: ***Warning! Line *115200* in /etc/ppp/options may conflict with wvdial!

Any help or direction will be much appreciated.

Willie X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
willie x

Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri 02 Apr 2010, 22:19    Post_subject:  

Latest report ... I got dialer to dial properly but it would not connect me to the internet. Finally contacted isp provider and they said that they do not support Linux put verified my info and gave me the DNS settings. I don't see 'DNS' settings on any of the pupdial strings. So where do I go to register or check the Primary and Secondary DNS numbers?

Willie X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1501
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 19:08    Post_subject:  

willie x,
Thanks for posting your problem. Welcome.

Although I have not encountered the DNS problem, others have and point to the file /etc/resolv.conf. So I looked into what that is all about. Here is what the puppy developer wrote in a readme file (edited to make sense for your case):
Quote:
When you make a connection to the ISP . . .
the file "resolv.conf" will get automatically updated with
the DNSs (assuming IP addresses are dynamically assigned by
the ISP) -- otherwise you will have to edit th[at] file.
I connected to my ISP (MSN) to see what gets put in resolv.conf:
Code:
nameserver 209.244.0.3
nameserver 209.244.0.4
So, try substituting the addresses your ISP gave you.

What did you do to get pulse dialing to work? Anything I need to know, as modem-support developer?

Here is what happens when the ISP (apparently) provides the DNS addresses:
Code:
CONNECT 49333 V42bis
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
Level 3 Comm nas10.2ma1 UQKT2
Username:/login:/Login:
--> Looks like a login prompt.
--> Sending: MSN/(logon)
MSN/(logon)
Password:
--> Looks like a password prompt.
--> Sending: (password)
    Entering PPP Session.
    IP address is 4.140.249.150
    MTU is 1524.
--> Looks like a welcome message.
--> Starting pppd at Thu Apr  8 18:25:41 2010
--> pid of pppd: 17628

Regarding the Warning: I don't think it is important. I usually see it and see no impact.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
willie x

Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 11:41    Post_subject:  

Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to help me. You obviously noticed that I needed more of an outline to go by. I will check on what is happening with the DNS address.

Changing the ATDT to ATDP would have made the modem pulse dial but ... there was a stray dot at the end of the provider's phone number. Duh, wish that was the first time something like that has happened. Smile

Best wishs, Willie X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
willie x

Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 11:43    Post_subject:  

Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to help me. You obviously noticed that I needed more of an outline to go by. I will check on what is happening with the DNS address.

Changing the ATDT to ATDP would have made the modem pulse dial but ... there was a stray dot at the end of the provider's phone number. Duh, wish that was the first time something like that has happened. Smile

Best wishs, Willie X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
willie x

Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 12 Apr 2010, 18:39    Post_subject:  

OK'

Got the correct DSN numbers in the resolv.conf file, preceded with 'nameserver' as per Richard's example.

On dial-up I get the normal sounds and then the message:

Login failed, reason -
(-190,mrcga44ev,1271108126-000,atlga03rs09pr002)

I have no clue what that means!

Willie X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
willie x

Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 15 Apr 2010, 08:56    Post_subject:  

Richard, et all,

I finally got the PCTEL modem to connect.

Last thing I changed was: I filled in the isp2 lines in WvDial.conf. They were marked as XXXX-XXXXXX here but on the PupDial modem internet dialer they were filled with lines of code (?) so I didn't mess with em. I also clicked the dumb modem box.

The 'snapshots' were a big help.

Oh, I was surprised that nothing happens when the modem connects. I was stairing at the progress box for quite a while before I realised that the PPP info had changed and my speaker was making all the right sounds!

Thanks, Willie X
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1501
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Apr 2010, 23:06    Post_subject:  

Good going, Willie! To wrap up this thread, would you please edit the subject of your initial posting, to append "Solved" to it? You might also add a description about setting the DNS addresses in /etc/resolv.conf as "nameservers".

Those would be helpful to others with a similar problem. Thanks.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Dialup
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0633s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]