Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 08:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
FFConvert - multimedia converter
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 16 [227 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
GaRailroader

Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jan 2011, 18:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
can't seem to get FFConvert multimedia converter in Wary 5.0 to produce playable files. If I try to select and convert any ogg file (say Magic-Pilot.ogg) to an mp3 file using ffconvert, a file approximately 2.4 meg long is produced, but it lasts only a few milliseconds and is not recognizable. The command line produced by ffconvert is:


ravensrest: Sorry I am no help with your problem. How are you able to determine what the command line that ffconvert generates is?

Pat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jan 2011, 19:15    Post subject:  

GaRailroader, there are two ways I know of to see the command FFConvert generates. First, while it is converting it creates a file "ffconvert..*.sh" in the /tmp/directory. Open this as a text file to see the command line. Second, if you run ffconvert in a terminal it will print the command to the terminal.
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 03:47    Post subject: Converting ogg to mp3  

ravensrest wrote:
I can't seem to get FFConvert multimedia converter in Wary 5.0 to produce playable files. If I try to select and convert any ogg file (say Magic-Pilot.ogg) to an mp3 file using ffconvert, a file approximately 2.4 meg long is produced, but it lasts only a few milliseconds and is not recognizable. The command line produced by ffconvert is:
Code:
ffmpeg -i "/data/music/1970s/Magic-Pilot.ogg" -y -f mp3  -acodec libvorbis -ab 128k    "/data/Magic-Pilot.mp3"

Have you loaded the preset for 'MP3 Audio'?
Or, select 'libmp3lame' for the audio codec.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 12:21    Post subject:  

Shinobar, selecting the libmp3lame codec produces a usable mp3 file. Thanks, but why wouldn't one choose the vorbis codec when handling ogg files.
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2467
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 17:55    Post subject:  

French localisation : mo & po files.
If a French speaker has time to check...
Wink
ffconvert_localisationFR_2011-04-20.tar.gz
Description  ffconvert french localisation : mo & po files
gz

 Download 
Filename  ffconvert_localisationFR_2011-04-20.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.05 KB 
Downloaded  300 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 13:17    Post subject:
Subject description: some meat to explanation of internationalisation
 

Hello,

I recently found this thread and started to try ffconvert. I got a german version without being asked about that, I didn't mind because it happens to be my native language, but I didn't want these mutilated Umlaute.
L18L wrote:

edit /usr/bin/ffconvert to:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# FFConvert - a frontend of ffmpeg
# 20 Jul 2010 by shinobar <shino@pos.to>
export OUTPUT_CHARSET=UTF-8
VERSION="1.0"


didn't help. (see german screenshot)
L18L wrote:

You can launch ffconvert in English by
Code:
LANG=en_US; ffconvert


Ok this worked partially, but now there are double entries in some menus, the same thing in german and in english (see english screenshot). How can that be fixed? English is ok for me because the rest of puppy is in english too, but I'd like to get rid of these redundand german entries.
example.png
 Description   screenshot english with "Screen size" menu opened. "Same as source" option comes in 2 languages.
 Filesize   11.13 KB
 Viewed   1067 Time(s)

example.png

beispiel.png
 Description   screenshot german
 Filesize   9.36 KB
 Viewed   1066 Time(s)

beispiel.png


_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 14:07    Post subject: ffconvert
Subject description: no more meat to explanation of internationalisation
 

Hallo hanzf,
you wrote:
I didn't want these mutilated Umlaute.

Your peispiel.png shows me that you have an outdated translation file which did NOT use UTF-8.
You can prove this if you like to by
Code:
msgunfmt /usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/ffconvert.mo


Take ffconvert.mo from http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056&start=90 and copy it to /usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES.

Or just delete /usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES Wink
ffconvert-de.png
 Description   German ffconvert 1.0
 Filesize   23.39 KB
 Viewed   1165 Time(s)

ffconvert-de.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2011, 05:47    Post subject: Re: ffconvert
Subject description: no more meat to explanation of internationalisation
 

L18L wrote:

Your peispiel.png shows me that you have an outdated translation file which did NOT use UTF-8.

Take ffconvert.mo from http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056&start=90 and copy it to /usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES.

Or just delete /usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES Wink


thank you, the new .mo file fixed it.

I moved LC_MESSAGES to another place but then I still had these 2-language entries as shown in the example screenshot, so a pure english version seems hard to get. Strange thing.

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:26    Post subject: Re: ffconvert
Subject description: strange things
 

hanzf wrote:
thank you, the new .mo file fixed it.

I moved LC_MESSAGES to another place but then I still had these 2-language entries as shown in the example screenshot, so a pure english version seems hard to get. Strange thing.

really strange...
Not on my system. Could you try my version (ffconvert-1.0) attached?
click on it to decompress and move it into /usr/bin.

please use
Code:
LANGUAGE=en ffconvert

not
Code:
LANGUAGE=en; ffconvert


Thanks for reporting.
ffconvert.gz
Description  decompress it by clicking and yes
gz

 Download 
Filename  ffconvert.gz 
Filesize  7.8 KB 
Downloaded  257 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hanzf


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 127
Location: Belzig, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:56    Post subject: Re: ffconvert
Subject description: strange things
 

L18L wrote:

Could you try my version (ffconvert-1.0) attached?
click on it to decompress and move it into /usr/bin.

please use
Code:
LANGUAGE=en ffconvert

not
Code:
LANGUAGE=en; ffconvert


Thanks for reporting.

Thank you.
Still the same strange thing. The german version is good now, so it's ok for everyday use, but I wonder what this 2-language effect might be.

_________________
Precise 5.7.1 frugal with .2fs (+ Windows XP double boot)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+
1000 MB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheepy


Joined: 06 May 2011
Posts: 235
Location: GA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 20:41    Post subject:  

For some reason, if I try to convert files that are in another partition, it says "No files were converted" and exits.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 17:15    Post subject:  

shinobar,

Will ffconvert use ffmpeg -0.8.x if it is available? The multimedia upgrade for Lucid 5.2.8 has ffmpeg 0.8.x (ie., libavcodec.so.53) in addition to the default ffmpeg 0.6 (libavcodec.so.52).

I think I see--does ffconvert use whichever libavcodec is pointed to by the libavcodec.so symlink? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 21:05    Post subject:  

@playdayz
It is just a frontend to the ffmpeg binary and should continue to work until something drastic in ffmpeg's CLI changes. Keep in mind though that there are versioned api's now and most things get backported. So now if upstream does something stupid like changing bitrate defaults to be in kbytes instead of bytes (yeah - it broke a lot of scripts when they pulled that one) ... you can simply use the latest stable version in that series

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 21:32    Post subject: ffconvert with ffmpeg-0.8  

@playdayz
Recent ffmpeg is in wary-5.2, and ffmpeg 0.8 is in dpup exprimo.
FFConvert-1.0 is tested on them and works ok.

technosaurus wrote:
It is just a frontend to the ffmpeg binary and should continue to work until something drastic in ffmpeg's CLI changes.

Right.
ffmpeg 0.8 has changed only some advanced options which users have to manage.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 10:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
technosaurus wrote:
It is just a frontend to the ffmpeg binary and should continue to work until something drastic in ffmpeg's CLI changes.

Thanks technosaurus and shinobar. That is what I was asking. I didn't know if ffconvert used the libraries directly such as as libavcodec. Now that I understand, I can see that when ffmpeg is upgraded as it is the the "Super Multimedia Upgrade" for Lucid 5.2.8"that ffconvert will use the upgraded ffmpeg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 16 [227 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0955s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]