Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Network connection works, but browsers refuse ... [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
jiri.erhart

Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 14:44    Post subject:  Network connection works, but browsers refuse ... [SOLVED]  

Hi,

I’m using Puppy 4.2 and I have this problem, my internet connection worked fine and automaticaly since I tried to connect my mobile phone via IRDA to the computer. I had no success, but since that time I can’t browse internet pages with any of my browsers (Seamonkey, Firefox). It’s a weird situation, becouse when I use MTR - Traceroute it works fine, but when I open any of my browsers it just displays a mesage "Address Not Found" without trying to connect, couse the lights on my LAN port indicating the network trafic don’t light. I use via_rhine modul (It worked OK before).

Please help me, I have no idea what to do with it

Last edited by jiri.erhart on Thu 01 Apr 2010, 14:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 16:30    Post subject:  

It could be an indication that you have no dns servers configured.
Normally the ISP to which you connect is responsible for this.
Contact them and ask.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 17:55    Post subject:  

If you have no entries in /etc/resolv.conf, try these:
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
nameserver 63.226.12.96
nameserver 72.3.208.251

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jiri.erhart

Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 10:33    Post subject:  

Thanks a lot, it works now as well as before
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 10:58    Post subject:  

Glad it worked for you.
But the base problem remains, why didn't you get a dns server address.

Now for the sake of fellow posters, could you edit the subject of your initial post and add [SOLVED] to it.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jiri.erhart

Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 01 Apr 2010, 15:10    Post subject:  

I haven’t wrote it, but I found out IP address of my default DNS server and add it into the /etc/resolv.conf file. In fact the problem wasn’t that I haven’t had no DNS server addresses defined in that file, but that the file showed an error "Too many symbolic links" and I wasn’t able to open it. So I rewrote it with a new file with IP address of my DNS server. Is that ok?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 01 Apr 2010, 17:16    Post subject:  

As your connection works, yes it's ok.
Through your connection you should have gotten the dns server info resolv.conf.

Are you sure you didn't something bizarre to have that situation on too many symbolic links?

In the several years I follow this forum, I don't think I saw ever something like this.

Thanks for putting solved.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0519s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]