Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 22:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Oroborus not working quite right in dpup 484 beta5 install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 13:11    Post_subject:  Oroborus not working quite right in dpup 484 beta5 install
Sub_title: solved
 

dpup-484-Beta5 full hd install on an Dell latitude CPi D266XT with 128 ram

All works great with default setup + sound and it runs super.
Never got sound to work with AntiX-Mepis on this laptop.
Might have found my new best distro if i can get the desktop preferences i like:

Installed oroborus pets (from forum) and logged out and used "xwin oroborus" to log back in.
It works but i must tap click the root window for anything to show - for everything.
if i do not - nothing shows.
No matter how long i wait but if i have one window open it works right?

I think its something with rox-filer because "/usr/local/bin/rox" opens near the edge.
.oroborusrc file is set to center of root window and its just that window is the only one that way.

Wbar covers up windows and has an block of background around it - only in oroborus.
Rox-filer doing that?

Whats the right way to start yeahlaunch at startup in puppy?
Do i need to make an script and symbolic link it to the startup folder or add to .xinitrc file?
For now its in .xinitrc and works good.
I use yeahlaunch + 9menu for the menu-system because it use less ram than deskmenu.

yeahlaunch -x 7 -fn "-*-lucidatypewriter-*-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*" -fg "light steel blue" -bg "black" -afg "yellow" -step 16 \
__HOME_ "/usr/local/bin/rox" \
BROWSER "/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser" \
__DOCS_ "/usr/local/bin/rox /root/my-documents" \
CONSOLE "/usr/bin/urxvt" \
__RUN__ "/usr/bin/gexec" \
NETWORK net.sh \
GRAPHICS art.sh \
_MEDIA_ media.sh \
_OFFICE_ office.sh \
UTLITIES utities.sh \
_SYSTEM_ system.sh \
CTRL_BOX "/usr/bin/pcp3-wrapper" \
_DRIVES_ "/usr/sbin/pmount" \
_XKILL__ xkill \
__EXIT__ "/usr/bin/shutdownjwm" &

I really like the lenny puppy and hope i can get oroborus working.
Started to like rox-filer - which i never liked before. (emelfm2 fan)

Desired desktop:
oroborus
yeahtools - yeahlaunch and yeahconsole + 9menu
conky
xbattbar
xwifibar

P.s Don't have internet so it might be an delay responds.
I use coffee shops hotspots and have the collage kids laugh at my old laptop.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4435
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 15:42    Post_subject:  

Quoting harli4:
=-=-=-=
Installed oroborus pets (from forum) and logged out and used "xwin oroborus" to log back in.
It works but i must tap click the root window for anything to show - for everything.
=-=-=-=
From experience, I can tell you that Oroborus worked fine in Puppy 3: you clikced on the background and its menu showed up. The oroborus menu works badly in subsequent Puppies.

You'll need an extra menu system or bar, such as fbpanel or lxpanel. Also simple puppy menu (spm) by aragon is a real saver with lesser known window managers, such as echinus and oroborus.

Best.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 16:23    Post_subject:  

Oroborus is not at fault.
I think its an rox-filer/pinboard setting?
i use lxtask to shut down some pin something and it worked but lost my devices icons and background?

I'm real new with rox-filer and i think its some simple setting?
I never really used rox before - sorry

I'm not using an root menu but "simple puppy menu (spm) by aragon"
sounds something i would like it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4435
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 16:32    Post_subject:  

If you're using aragon.'s spm, do you need the oroborus menu at all ? The spm will give you the Puppy menu to start programs.

Have you explored http://www.oroborus.org ?
There are a few utilities there.

I don't think you can modify the Rox-filer PuppyPin -- or what you can change is very limited. You can end up with a black screen with no icons.

You can also use the Bookmarks in rox-filer, just to the right of the "house" in the icons bar. You can add / include in it any directory you like.

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 19:00    Post_subject:  

got it to work.
thank you for the help.

i had rox controling the windows and fighting oroborus.
live and learn.

edit:
right click then,
options>compatibility>
then unclick override window manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4435
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2012, 23:04    Post_subject:  

If you do as above in rox options and you have a rox panel somewhere on your screen, when you restart rox, its panel will flash once and not really show.

To get your rox panel to show if you UN-tick the command harii mentions, you also have to TICK "panel is a dock" and "panel stays on top".

Al least, that's what I had to do to keep my top panel...

Good luck! Smile

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0555s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]