Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 14:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 52 of 87 [1297 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 08:22    Post subject:  

Quote:
I was working on it yesterday


good news - hope something comes of it Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 08:32    Post subject:  

I cleared out the backgrounds and added new ones
/usr/share/backgrounds

One or two changes and applies are OK
and then it becomes impossible to click with the mouse or move up or down to a new selection

So I go back one directory to share
back into backgrounds and once again I can select
Is this something to do with refresh
or the new backgrounds_original directory?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cifa

Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 08:37    Post subject:  

thanks for the great work on this folks.

I have a video issue tho' - prob due to my Intel g41 chipset.
Lucid boots at 1280 x 1024 on Intel driver
I run keyboard & vid setter
I choose UK keyboard
I then choose Intel (currently i810 only...etc)
then have to run keyboard setter again
I choose 'more' as dont want 800x600.
I choose 1280 x 1024 but get booted to 800x600 on Vesa.
gxine works fine in Vesa btw. lol. crashes in 1280x1024 using ?Intel driver at 1st boot.
How can i retrieve Intel driver @ 1280 x 1024?

btw - ran Ubuntu 10.4. Boots 1280 x 1024. Totem plays vids perfectly. do you think that's achievable with Puppy/Luicd?

many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mave

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:00    Post subject:  Network setup AND chooselocale on first-run  

Hi,

1. network-setup doesn't work for me in 115/6 with my internal r8169: no dhcp, no static ip. Taking an external usb connector rtl8150 it's okay - got this result with all (!) network wizards.

2. (choose)Locale in first-run has no effects. Only after running xorgwizard new keyboard is available.

Hmmm...?
lupu115-6-netsetup.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   65.65 KB
 Viewed   285 Time(s)

lupu115-6-netsetup.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:11    Post subject:  

Quote:
The auto screen configuration is great but would it be better in a slightly higher resolution. I guess you do have to consider the small screens on netbooks though.

I wasn't sure which browser to install because the descriptions did not provide a version number.


Thanks smokey01. The initial resolution is actually set by xorg, not us. sometimes it is too high, sometimes too low. You can use the Resolution setter in the First Run Wizard or Menu -> Setup -> Xorg Video Wizard to adjust the resolution.

All the browsers are the latest official versions. We could say that somewhere I guess--but probably won't. There are quite a few changes ahead of that I am afraid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
With the upgrading fixed, using /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin and globicons, /usr/local/bin/defaulttexteditor and defaultbrowser, and /root/.gtkrc-2.0 from lupusave, not from the main file? Pretty please?



Hey pa, I promise we will look at that before upgrading becomes an issue in 5.0.1. Fair?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
"hurry up or i will kill you" among other exploding aspects fails my violence aversion preferences


Yes aarf, I thought hard about it. My daughter played it a lot when she was 8-12 and it doesn't appear to have done much damage to her. It is a stable full screen game with lots of flash and action. I am still listening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
Q1 now it never lose connection but in Lupu it does each 30 minutes despite using SNS
so Lupu need to learn from Q1


Yes Nooby, but what specifically? I hope someone might figure it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:37    Post subject:  

Quote:
One little hitch: installed Chromium with Quickpet, all went fine, all menus are localized (yippeee). Tried Opera: same success (2nd yippeee). Tried Firefox: works OK but menus stay in English... glab Sad .


Capoverde,

2 out of 3 is .... we should get 3 out of 3. I have an enormous amount to do today to get 117, with all of this great feedback since yesterday. Firefox certainly has the locale files. What about Seamonkey? it certainly has the files also. Abiword and Gnumeric coming up in the locale language is a good thing--this could be a decided strength of Lucid Puppy.

Maybe someone has time to investigate this in the next couple of days.

BTW, Thank you to everyone for all of the help throughout this process. It simply could not have been done without you. There is a lot new in 117 (later today) and therefore it will not be an RC. It seems like we might be close to a good one, so we will not rush. 117 will be a beta and very likely 118 also because we must make sure all the new things shake down properly.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
Quickpet takes me here to download java
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=183025#183025

Does it work in Lucid 116?
Not for me . . .
I am using Firefox


Hey 01micko, after 117 let's look at all of the "minor entries" in Quickpet and just kill the ones that are not plug and play. OK, maybe we can try to fix....

Quote:
As I understand, this Firefox is just the static build from the Firefox site.(


Correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
(choose)Locale in first-run has no effects. Only after running xorgwizard new keyboard is available.


Hi mave, Locale chooses the language--so check Abiword/Gnumeric after choosing a Locale. Keyboard is a separate process--there are technical reasons in Puppy for that separation--but also I believe practical reasons in that some choose one and not the other. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 11:58    Post subject:  

Thanks playdayz

I will try to find a thread where I desperately tried to get somebody to help me with keeping connection. I need to remember what search word to use.

After I applied the suggestions they had that repaired both puppy431 and Quirky for me. Before they lost connection too.

But I don't remember it well enough. I remember vaguely that somebody gave me one instruction per post he did and I felt like a little kid and felt humiliated but in the end when I got over my hurted pride it did succeed and then it seems that Barry applied it too to next update of Quirky because it worked after that or maybe I changed from using something else to SNS when setting up connection but that does not help on lupu

Edit

I made a search and I have found three or four or five threads me active asking for help- in some threads people was very generous and tried to help but I failed to find why Q works where puppy and Lupu fail to keep it.

I know there is at least two threads more to look for. I search more today or tomorrow. if I fail to remember the needed search word. SNS maybe.

I should look in my PMs too if anything is there.

I think it was Barry that changed something so suddenly Quirky just worked for me it kept the connection while the older puppies did not.
After quirky 13 or so.

I remember vaguely that we iterated tips and trix we told each other in one thread. One went into a lib??? or .cfg file and changed something and after that change then then it keep it.

OverDrive had a similar script for dhcp?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=387677#387677

Quote:
# Nooby's Auto renew DHCP lease script

while [ 0 ] # repeat for ever
do
sleep 900 # sleep for 15 minutes before repeating
killall dhcpcd # kill current DHCP session
sleep 1 # wait a second may not be needed
rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info #cleanup last session details
rm -f /var/run/*.pid #cleanup last session details
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d eth0 #start new DHCP session
done

He made it for my sake. Sadly me was not clever enough to apply it tough.

But it kind of do something similar as what wuwei suggests?

What can it be in Q1 that makes it keep connection when Lupu fails.

I hope Barry read this and suggest what it could be that is different between them.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Sun 09 May 2010, 12:52; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 12:21    Post subject:  

Tried Lucid Puppy 116 live cd on my old machine, Intel Celeron 600MHz, 256MB ram. Won't boot, got the

Performing a 'switch_root' to the layered file system... Kernel Panic- not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

Will there one day be a retro kernel version? Is this even possible?

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 12:25    Post subject: pppoe
Subject description: work-around
 

Spend all afternoon to figure out a way to establish the pppoe connection at startup and not loosing it upon reboot. This is my - probably not very elegant - solution:

The problem comes from a ppp0 connection that establishes itself on startup. No idea where it comes from and why it is there. So manually one would have to Stop all connections in the pppoe_gui, then hit Start again. To do this automatically ...

Create a file pppoe.sh in /root/Startup; content:

Code:
sleep 10
pppoe-stop_shell
/action
sleep 5
pppoe-start_shell
/action


Make this file executable (right click - properties)

Note: Shorter sleep times did not work.

With this startup file, Lupu116 reboots with a pppoe connection automatically established after 15 seconds.

If this should not be sufficient, then additionally change the Setup of the pppoe connection. Instead of autoDHCP, give named DNS.

To find the proper DNS when you have setup autoDHCP:
> setup icon
> connect to Internet
> Detailed network interface information
> DNS

Use these DNS numbers in Roaring Penguin setup routine.

This is a very crude workaround and some of you "masters" will surely know how to refine my approach.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 09 May 2010, 13:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
I can't seem to download coolpup's pet


downloaded OK
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/JavaRuntimeEnvironment

yep definitely there . . .
http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

when I try running some java for example
http://www.screentoaster.com/

Firefox crashes
Boo!
Hope Firefox is updated I rather liked using it - till now

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 52 of 87 [1297 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1050s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0166s) ][ GZIP on ]