Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 00:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 49 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 13:13    Post_subject: Threat hoax  

I installed lupu116 frugal and downloaded seamonkey via quickpet. Opening the webbrowser my screen was filled by strange security threat items from firesavez7.com. Clearly aimed at windows users. I have no windows system installed on the lupu partition. Does anybody have an explanation?
Confused
ecube
threat2.jpg
Description  firesavez7.com download
jpg

 Download 
Filename  threat2.jpg 
Filesize  171.73 KB 
Downloaded  421 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 13:54    Post_subject:  

Running LuPu 116, very fast bootup, the kbd layout for Italy is now OK (on 115 it stuck to US).

AbiWord and Gnumeric do start with localized menus -- happened with 115 already. If all apps could have this, Puppy would quickly jump to No.1 in Distrowatch...

Partition sizes shown hovering the mouse cursor on the drive icons are still always 0,0GB, both for FAT and ext filesystems.

Will test all browsers, presently using Puppybrowser which seems OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 14:06    Post_subject:  

Help please. Can someone please look at /usr/local/simple-network-setup/sns and tell me how to fix this
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 14:10    Post_subject:  

More help please. Can someone please look at this code from the First Run Wizard and tell me how to get the indents the same on the two bottom entries. Thank you.


Code:
#!/bin/sh

ICONDIR="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons"

if [ ! -L /mnt/home ]; then

export firstrunwiz="
<window title=\"First Run Configuration\">

 <vbox>
 
  <text xalign=\"2\"><label>\"Welcome to Lucid Puppy 5.0.  The graphical desktop has been configured automatically.  Here are several tools that you can use to personalize your Puppy.  You can use the ones you want now, if any, and if you do not use them now, they are available for use later under Desktop and Setup in the Menu.\"</label></text>
 
 

   <frame Locale>
   <hbox>
    <text><label>Run Locale to set language, currency and local settings</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-font.xpm</input>
     <action>exec chooselocale &</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Timezone>
   <hbox>
    <text><label>Run the Timezone Setter</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-clock.xpm</input>
     <action>exec timezone-set &</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Date and Time>
   <hbox>
    <text><label>Run the Date and Time Setter</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-clock.xpm</input>
     <action>exec set-time-for-puppy &</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Keyboard and Video Resolution>
   <hbox>
    <text xalign=\"2\"><label>\"The Keyboard and Video Resolution Setter will allow you to choose a non-US keyboard and to select the preferred resolution for your screen display.  It will also allow you to select an alternate driver for Intel video chips.\"</label></text>
   </hbox>
    <hbox>
    <text><label>Run the Keyboard and Video Resolution Setter</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/prompt16.xpm</input>
     <action>exec excon</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
 <frame Simple Network Setup>
   <hbox>
    <text xalign=\"2\"><label>\"Puppy has several tools to connect to the Internet but this is the easiest and it works in most situations.  If you do not know that you have an unusual connection, then it will probably work for you.  If it does not, then please click the connect icon to the left on the desktop when you are ready to connect.\"</label></text>
   </hbox>
   <hbox>
    <text><label>Run the Simple Network Setup</label></text>
    <button>
     <input file>$ICONDIR/mini-telnet.xpm</input>
     <action>exec sns</action>
    </button>
   </hbox>
  </frame>
   <hbox>
    <button ok></button>
   </hbox>
 </vbox>
 
</window>"
gtkdialog3 -p firstrunwiz -c

unset firstrunwiz

fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 14:19    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I installed lupu116 frugal and downloaded seamonkey via quickpet. Opening the webbrowser my screen was filled by strange security threat items from firesavez7.com. Clearly aimed at windows users. I have no windows system installed on the lupu partition. Does anybody have an explanation?

ecube


Did this really happen ecube? My hold on reality is tenuous at best. You opened seamonkey by clicking the browse icon on the desktop? Or Seamonkey web browser in the menu? It will open to the "Lucid Puppy Jumping Off Page." The very first time you opened it? You had not gone anywhere in any browser before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 14:25    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Partition sizes shown hovering the mouse cursor on the drive icons are still always 0,0GB, both for FAT and ext filesystems.


Yes, this is one that occurs in Quirky and other Puppies too I think and no one can figure it out. I have an NTFS partition on sda1 and linux ext3 on sda2 and then ext3 on sdb1, 5, and 6, and I just can't make it happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5939
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 14:30    Post_subject: Re: Threat hoax  

ecube wrote:
I installed lupu116 frugal and downloaded seamonkey via quickpet. Opening the webbrowser my screen was filled by strange security threat items from firesavez7.com. Clearly aimed at windows users. I have no windows system installed on the lupu partition. Does anybody have an explanation?
Confused
ecube


Looks like SeaMonkey simply got hijacked someway.......I don't see how it could happen from the jumping off page either.

Just downloaded and installed SeaMonkey with Quickpet, no problems here....posting with it now. Smile

Partition sizes.......this test box has 1-NTFS partition, 6-EXT3 and 1-swap partition sizes always show.I've got and ide drive on this one, could problem be related to drive type?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 15:14    Post_subject:  

Code:
 <text><label>Run the Keyboard and Video Resolution Setter</
label></text>

carriage return where it shouldnt be?

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 15:34    Post_subject:  

We have Barry's go-ahead now to move to release of Lucid Puppy 5.0.

He suggested we use the newest xorgwizard so we will do another Beta, 117, tomorrow. I am using a preliminary build of 117 now. In addition to the new xorgwizard, we will add Simple Network Setup to the First Run Wizard. That only makes sense I think--everyone needs to connect. Barry also said that his Network Classic was broken and to take it out. OK.

aarf, I think that broken line is an artifact of copying it to the browser but I will check.

Is this what gtkdialog is supposed to do maybe, to minimize the number of lines? (In the First Run Wizard code above)
---------------------------------------------------------------

It is not the most obvious of things why the Keyboard Setter runs with xorgwizard. The keyboard setter needs a full xorg.conf is one reason, and the code for the keyboard setter is integral in xorgwizard. Just in case anyone asked. It would be something to explore in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 16:25    Post_subject:  

Hi Playdayz,

about partition sizes in hover-on popups: they do give correct values in Quirky 018 (http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=415964#415964).

Barry surely knows why, since he fixed that from earlier Quirkies.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 16:33    Post_subject:  

the problem is actually in the written text block itself. some sort of "invisible character" i guess.
delete everything in the text block after "desktop" and retype it.
strange text.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.55 KB
 Viewed   1193 Time(s)

strange text.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ecube


Joined: 11 Jul 2008
Posts: 88
Location: Västerås, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 16:41    Post_subject: Re: Threat hoax  

James C wrote:
Looks like SeaMonkey simply got hijacked someway.......I don't see how it could happen from the jumping off page either.


The explaination is that after installing Java I opened http://www.chessproblems.com to check that a java image appeared.I was redirected from the chess site by the phishing attack. Spoofs to be security software
Very Happy
ecube
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 976

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 17:20    Post_subject:  

capoverde wrote:


AbiWord and Gnumeric do start with localized menus -- happened with 115 already. If all apps could have this, Puppy would quickly jump to No.1 in Distrowatch...


Capoverde , that is exciting news!
I've been waiting for this to happen for a long time.
Hope the other apps will follow soon.
I've been playing with Quirky 1.0 and really enjoyed it. Downloaded a localized (dutch) Firefox 3.6.3 in Quirky without any problem. It runs stable and fast.
Time to start trying out Lucid Puppy Smile
Internationalization....Slowly but surely Puppy is getting there.

Thanks Playdayz and all Devs involved!

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 17:23    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Help please. Can someone please look at /usr/local/simple-network-setup/sns and tell me how to fix this

must be something specific to your computer
sns.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.87 KB
 Viewed   1161 Time(s)

sns.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 May 2010, 17:25    Post_subject: Re: Strange tmp directory after boot  

Béèm wrote:
I wanted to inspect the boot log files and went to /tmp.
In the picture the red line indicates the time I booted.
The snapshot of /tmp was taken some 5 minutes after boot.
So the weird thing is that I have quite some files with a date and time from the previous day of which the bootsysinit.log and bootkernel.log

How can that be possible?
As far as I understand, /tmp is emptied on shutdown.

Also there are files which have a time which is some 1:40 hour later than the boot time. Weird also.

I did the exercise for Quirky 018 and the files in /tmp start at the time of boot. But I also have that jump in time with respect to the boot time as indicated by the red line.
Could other people verify this and report back.
As other people have this also, there is something quite wrong in Lucid.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 49 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1111s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0173s) ][ GZIP on ]