Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 21:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 87 [1297 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:31    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:

Quote:
Does the auto config of X work for anyone?


Yep, worked for me with an ATI Radeon 3450 video card. Straight through to the desktop and pronto.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:39    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
That is why I ask, did X setup automatically for anyone?


other than having to change the keyboard to UK, the language to okka-ish, the time zone to asia, the color to x24, yes it setup automatically for me no problem Smile

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>

Last edited by aarf on Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:39    Post subject:  

Don't be disappointed playdayz. Lupu is turning out great. These problems are not show-stoppers in any case. Lupu is my favourite Puppy at the moment - even with the small niggles.

Also, try not to do a U-turn with xorg either. Keep on the path you intended originally as regards this. It'll get there.

regards

Tronkel

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
murmelbahn

Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:46    Post subject:  

playdayz,

even though you're probably already putting the finishing touches on 112,
I'd like to report some 111 problems I haven't seen reported before (apologies if I'm mistaken).
Booting from LiveCD.

- good things first: the automatic screen res setting was fine (nVidia gForce2 graphics card, 17" CRT screen)
- on a 1.8 GHz P4, "First Run Configuration" window takes > 1 minute to appear
- I **must** run "Locale" before "Keyboard & Mouse" or there's just one choice of keyboard: US
- if I do and set locale to German without restarting X, then click
"Keyboard & Mouse" --> "Choose keyboard layout for your country ...", screen gets totally messed up
(bottom half = magenta, top half = 4 stripes of black and grey, desktop and mouse gone)
... a hard reboot is needed to recover
- about 10 minutes into testing, an error message popped up saying
"Error saving pinboard /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin: No space left on device",
then the little free space indicator in the panel goes red: 0M free

mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 12:56    Post subject:  

@playdayz,

Lucid 111
Azerty, LANG fr
Asus M2V, Nidvia Geforce7600 Sata, 1G Ram

The same problem with Lucid 009 or 111.
No azerty keyboard (but time-zone: OK)
No /etc/profile repertory
No etc/profile, only an empty /etc/profile.d
No etc/keyboard repertory

I did the same thing that under Lucid 009:
Copy-paste my right xorg.conf of Lucid 008 and reboot
and now it's OK
without etc/profile nor etc/keyboard repertories (not necessary for me?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 13:10    Post subject:  

murmelbahn,
Quote:
- about 10 minutes into testing, an error message popped up saying
"Error saving pinboard /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin: No space left on device",


This is highly likely a problem with your machine running out of space on the hard idsk.

The other things, eyboard, etc., are what I am addressing in 112. I believe I ma getting them. Since, as you say, the auto config of XS worked, I would hate to go back when I think we are close.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darwinev0lved

Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 13:30    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
@ darwinevolevd
Quote:
This version simply doesn't boot.


Does it boot to a prompt? Can you run 'xorg-setup' at the prompt?

Does the auto config of X work for anyone? It worked on all 5 of my test computers with openchrome, nv, radeon, savage, drivers. On monitor need me to run xrandr from the gui

I already see a list of changes for 112: ghostscript, cups, keyboard setup. As tronkel said, the keyboard setup gui does not work unless an xorg.conf has been created by running 'xorg-setup'. I will incdlude instructions to that effect.

The Permanent/Session dialog when changing resolutions with xrandr is Barry's. You should Make It Permanent and I will add instructions to that effect.

Even with a good list of things to do for 112 I am discouraged.f I thought 111 was pretty good--with a three way opportunity to get X correct--and X setting up automatically on about 90%. That is why I ask, did X setup automatically for anyone?

I think I might work all day incorporating the changes into 112 just to see if the dang thing is worth pursuing. Thanks.

On the bright side, pemasu is printing again!


Hi Playdayz, no I'm afraid it doesn't boot to a prompt. Sad
All I get is black screen of death and I have to hard power it off.
On the plus side the auto-config of Xorg seems to have worked with a (not quite as old) ASUS eepc701. So don't get discouraged!

Could this driver problem be something really simple? I noticed that the i810_drv.so in /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers is a symlink but to intel_drv.so in the same folder - shouldn't it be to /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers-alternate ? Could it be someting as simple as that?

Regards, Jon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 14:00    Post subject:  

I do believe I might have it in 112, due later today.

Belt -> it should boot to a good graphical desktop.

Suspenders -> If it fails to boot, run xorgwizard at the prompt
If it boots with bad resolution, run xrandr.
Change timezone and language from First run wizard

Pretty underwear -> To change keyboard, change Intel driver, or to redo the graphical desktop entirely, exit to prompt and run xorgwizard.

darwinev0led

booting to a black screen is the worst outcome--I think 112 later today can handle everything but that. What graphics does that machine have? It might be that the black screen problem will not be fixed today--but I do believe most of the other ones will, especially the keyboard.

You know what Geordi LaForge said about time travel, it gave him a headache Wink

Wait! When the cd starts to boot, enter 'puppy pfix=nox' at the prompt. That way you should get a prompt. Then at the prompt enter 'xorg-setup' that is just for 111--in 112 it is back to what it is supposed to be 'xorgwizard'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5932
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 14:11    Post subject:  

Lucid 111 on my Athlon XP 2.0 ghz with Prosavage onboard graphics.....correct 1024x768 resolution was automatically set out of the box. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 14:36    Post subject:  

Anyone got printing working yet? It won't work for me. But it's a bit special for me:
I have a Canon i965 printer, normally connected to a windows XP machine. However, to make things simpler, I connected directly, to a usb port.
Gutenprint does not cater well for this printer, several drivers sort of work, but black comes out dark grey. So usually I use a driver which comes as a deb from Mr Takushi, at Kyoto University, which works.

However, with Lucid Puppy, I can't get printing to work any way at all, and I thought I knew how to do it!

CUPS error log messages include things like "Couldn't read xref table", and "GPL Ghostscript 8.71 Can't find initialisation file gs_init.ps".

Can't do any more, wife wants the printer back.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 14:40    Post subject:  

hi gerry, give up on version 111. Cups had been working but then I updated--never update Wink 112 should have Cups in much better shape. Thanks for testing.

And thank you James C - I have high hopes for 112. Is this what they mean by a frenzied pace of development Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
murmelbahn

Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 15:18    Post subject:    

Quote:
- about 10 minutes into testing, an error message popped up saying
"Error saving pinboard /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin: No space left on device",
then the little free space indicator in the panel goes red: 0M free

It was Gnumeric. I was checking for the infamous Format --> Cells ... freeze / crash. Yes it was there.
As a side effect, free memory would start dropping at a speed of about -10 MB per second.
I killed the Gnumeric window by right clicking on the window bar etc, but that didn't stop
the countdown. As I was running from LiveCD, the free mem applet would report free RAM
(or would it?) - which Gnumeric presumably was eating away on.

In short: once Gnumeric is OK, free mem will be OK.

On the other hand, maybe a good replacement for Ptimer Wink

Good luck with 112!

mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 15:22    Post subject:  

@playdayz,

Lucid 111
Azerty, LANG fr
Asus M2V, Nidvia Geforce7600 Sata, 1G Ram

1) At the beginning correct 1600x24 resolution automatically set out of the box.
Only a qwerty and no locale.
But good screen with Flash (full screen : right if "no acceleration")

In order to built a new 'xorg.conf I typed in the terminal :
#xorgconfig => No command found
then
#xorgcfg => no command found
2) So I copied my xorg.conf of Lucid 008.
It's not a very academic method but... right for me.
3) reboot
4) after that I used the quickpet (geany Foxit)
and... locale FR : OK
----------
Is it strange bash3 does not get xorgconfig or xorgcfg commands ?
Perhaps are there in the Bash4 (Bash4 contains more simple useful commands)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darwinev0lved

Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 16:43    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:

darwinev0led

booting to a black screen is the worst outcome--I think 112 later today can handle everything but that. What graphics does that machine have? It might be that the black screen problem will not be fixed today--but I do believe most of the other ones will, especially the keyboard.

You know what Geordi LaForge said about time travel, it gave him a headache Wink

Wait! When the cd starts to boot, enter 'puppy pfix=nox' at the prompt. That way you should get a prompt. Then at the prompt enter 'xorg-setup' that is just for 111--in 112 it is back to what it is supposed to be 'xorgwizard'.


Hi there again. OK yes pfix=nox works Smile - one thing, just for anybody else: you have to run xorg-setup twice. Once to get rid of the wrong Intel driver and then again to probe to set the resolution. Did that and up came First Run Configuration (which btw was a mess on the asus701, but I expect not much you can do about that because of the 800*480 res.)
Hardware: it's a pretty old laptop. A Samsung X05 with integrated intel graphics 82852/855GM

Hope that helps
Jon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 16:48    Post subject:  

Playdayz: In case you get a chance to read this before you get done with 112 . . . here are a couple of suggestions about how to make things easier for those of us who may have to resort to xorg-setup instead of the fancy new thing.

I gave 111 another try, exited to prompt, ran xorg-setup, and did the following things:

1. Selected Choose, it gave me a message saying one of two drivers was removed, and I hit OK. I then did not get a choice of screen resolutions, only a prompt on a plain black screen.

2. Rebooted, ran xorg-setup, selected Probe instead of Choose, auto-probing didn't work, and so I got the good old choice of 1024 x 768 (or other resolutions) like in previous Puppy versions. I hit OK, and got . . . a prompt on a plain black screen, with a message in red letters saying to run Xorgwizard if X didn't start. I did. Xorgwizard still didn't do anything.

3. Ran xorg-setup yet again, selected Probe, and then hit Test. Test worked, I hit Ctrl+Alt+Backspace to exit to prompt, entered "xwin" at the prompt, and X then worked right on the third try. I now have a taskbar, drive icons (although they still get misaligned), 1024 x 768 resolution, and Opera with an entirely visible scrollbar.

In the First Run Configuration box, I would suggest revising the instructions so they just say that, if the fancy new thing doesn't work, (1) exit to prompt, (2) run xorg-setup, (3) select Probe, (4) select desired screen resolution if given the option, and (5) hit Test, not OK. (Also, the First Run Configuration box doesn't need to appear every time you restart X, as it has been for me in 111.)

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 87 [1297 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1168s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0195s) ][ GZIP on ]