Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#286 Post by playdayz »

It is easier for me to ask. I am not proud.

In 009 I would like to use the automatic configuration of X that is in 000. To make it nice I would like to open xrandrshell on the *first boot* so that the user can easily make a change to resolution if need be--but in most cases it should be OK and the info will be only informative--perfectly OK. But I don't want it opening on subsequent boots of course.

So, how to run a program on first boot only? Thanks. It is one thing holding up 009--which I think will serve as an alpha.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Eyes-Only, We have been together quite a while now, back into the K-Meleon days. It is always a pleasure to associate with a gentleman of such graciousness--and discernment ;-) I am very glad you are enjoying Luci Pup. Merci.

User avatar
jrb
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 19:56
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

#287 Post by jrb »

playdayz wrote:So, how to run a program on first boot only?
This works:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
  if [ ! -L /mnt/home ]; then
	exec /usr/sbin/xrandrshell
  else
	continue
  fi
Place it in a script in /root/Startup or place it in /usr/sbin/delayedrun.

Cheers, J

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#288 Post by playdayz »

Thanks jrb.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Concerning compiling the Nvidia driver and the gcc 4.4.3/4.4.4 thing--for Mayday we might be able to put a compiled version of both the Nvidia and ATI catalyst drivers into QuickPackage.

darwinev0lved
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 12:19

lucid 000

#289 Post by darwinev0lved »

Hi just a quick report on the experimental lucid - 'fraid it didn't get past the Xorgwizard. I'm assuming it's the old picking the wrong intel driver problem (that lupup008 gives you the option to choose). So the Ubuntu way is not too smart if it's picking the wrong driver :D

Having said that - I tried the Ubuntu 10.04beta2 running off a usbstick and although it boots with the speed of a dead dog, it did find the right driver - so they're obviously doing something right.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

Re: lucid 000

#290 Post by playdayz »

darwinev0lved wrote:Hi just a quick report on the experimental lucid - 'fraid it didn't get past the Xorgwizard. I'm assuming it's the old picking the wrong intel driver problem (that lupup008 gives you the option to choose). So the Ubuntu way is not too smart if it's picking the wrong driver :D

Having said that - I tried the Ubuntu 10.04beta2 running off a usbstick and although it boots with the speed of a dead dog, it did find the right driver - so they're obviously doing something right.
hey darwinevolved, in 009 you will be able to go to new-wizard if the auto config fails and that has the option to handle the alrenate intel driver. Please let us know. thanks.

darwinev0lved
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 12:19

Re: lucid 000

#291 Post by darwinev0lved »

playdayz wrote:
darwinev0lved wrote:Hi just a quick report on the experimental lucid - 'fraid it didn't get past the Xorgwizard. I'm assuming it's the old picking the wrong intel driver problem (that lupup008 gives you the option to choose). So the Ubuntu way is not too smart if it's picking the wrong driver :D

Having said that - I tried the Ubuntu 10.04beta2 running off a usbstick and although it boots with the speed of a dead dog, it did find the right driver - so they're obviously doing something right.
hey darwinevolved, in 009 you will be able to go to new-wizard if the auto config fails and that has the option to handle the alternate intel driver. Please let us know. thanks.
As soon as 009 is out, I'll give it a whirl.
On a completely unrelated point - has anybody tried to get apt/synaptic working? - I know there was a lot of work done on it for dpup but it's all gone quiet over there.
regards,

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

Re: lucid 000

#292 Post by playdayz »

On a completely unrelated point - has anybody tried to get apt/synaptic working? - I know there was a lot of work done on it for dpup but it's all gone quiet over there.
No on apt/synaptic. We will not have that implemented when we release Lucid Puppy. it is an interesting point. On first thought it seems like a no brainer and maybe it is something for 5.1, but it does not work absolutely straightforwardly--that is, Lucid puppy has a different organization and consequently not all ubuntu programs are a straight fit. What I mean by saying that Lucid puppy can use ubuntu binaries is that it is easier than ever to prepare programs for use in a Puppy. You can see that from the list of programs in QuickPackage, I did several of those per day (01micko did some and a few were adopted from earlier Puppies). Personally, I have put the energy into making sure that a small number of very high quality programs are available for LuciPup and that they are configured and tested for LuciPup and available with a one-click install. Those are the ones in QP. That is not what apt/synaptic would give us even in the best of conditions. On the idea that LuciPup is to be friendly and easy, I think the one-click install with the big pretty colorful icons is desirable. i hope that makes sense.

User avatar
phil812
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri 16 Apr 2010, 06:07
Location: SPb, Russia
Contact:

#293 Post by phil812 »

Sit Heel Speak and playdayz thanks for your answers!
Sit Heel Speak wrote:If you try compiling that driver module under either Quirky-018 or Wary-019 using its own devx, you might succeed, and the resulting .ko (copied over into Lupu's /lib/modules/2.6.33.2) should run under Lupu
playing with wary-19 and it's devx_sfs give no result :( : ERROR: Installtion has failed. Please read the log-file

downloading wary-20
but where's the devx_sfs?

luther349
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed 01 Apr 2009, 04:02

nice

#294 Post by luther349 »

downloaded it to test it. its alot cleaner then puppy 4.3. i just hope you don't move away from pets as your main packages. when on a live cd using debs normaly downloads a bunch of other libarys. i know puppy 4.4 is the last of the series before 5.0 woof.

im using a old machine and the new puppy broswer is so fast even with flash plugin that you included :D

User avatar
phil812
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri 16 Apr 2010, 06:07
Location: SPb, Russia
Contact:

Re: lucid 000

#295 Post by phil812 »

playdayz wrote:What I mean by saying that Lucid puppy can use ubuntu binaries is that it is easier than ever to prepare programs for use in a Puppy
I appreciated it already.. make packages never was so easy! now i can use all power of linux.... like flush torrent client (farewell, deluge!) and eiskalt dc++ client (rest in peace, linuxdcpp!).... and so on
playdayz wrote:That is not what apt/synaptic would give us even in the best of conditions.
yes, indeed.. apt/synaptic really sucks! and i wonder why do we need another ms windows or ubuntu?

darwinev0lved
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue 29 Jul 2008, 12:19

Re: lucid 000

#296 Post by darwinev0lved »

playdayz wrote:
On a completely unrelated point - has anybody tried to get apt/synaptic working? - I know there was a lot of work done on it for dpup but it's all gone quiet over there.
No on apt/synaptic. We will not have that implemented when we release Lucid Puppy. it is an interesting point. On first thought it seems like a no brainer and maybe it is something for 5.1, but it does not work absolutely straightforwardly--that is, Lucid puppy has a different organization and consequently not all ubuntu programs are a straight fit. What I mean by saying that Lucid puppy can use ubuntu binaries is that it is easier than ever to prepare programs for use in a Puppy. You can see that from the list of programs in QuickPackage, I did several of those per day (01micko did some and a few were adopted from earlier Puppies). Personally, I have put the energy into making sure that a small number of very high quality programs are available for LuciPup and that they are configured and tested for LuciPup and available with a one-click install. Those are the ones in QP. That is not what apt/synaptic would give us even in the best of conditions. On the idea that LuciPup is to be friendly and easy, I think the one-click install with the big pretty colorful icons is desirable. i hope that makes sense.
Yes of course it makes sense. :)

95% of my time (probably 100% of the work I do) is spent on a handful of programs: openoffice, firefox, thunderbird, foxit, so getting those to work on a one click install is really appreciated.

The other 5% is spent mucking around - I'm a Windows refugee, not a developer / programmer and however ugly a solution apt/synaptic is, it makes life really easy for people like me. Having said that, I recognise that getting it to work for a frugal install is hard (I did follow all the discussions for the dpup attempt) and not on the radar for 5.0. I was just curious if anybody had had a go getting it to work.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#297 Post by 01micko »

Hi all

I just compiled Joe Wing's latest JWM revision 490. in lupu-009. Seems to work just fine for me. Apparently there were some problems with assigning keyboard shortcuts and with this version it is fixed.

Source from joewing.net

restart X after installation

Cheers

PETSPECS

jwm-490-Lucid-i486|jwm|490-Lucid-i486||BuildingBlock|184K||jwm-490-Lucid-i486.pet|x-window system|window manager|ubuntu|lucid||
Attachments
jwm-490-Lucid-i486.pet
(74.12 KiB) Downloaded 461 times
Last edited by 01micko on Fri 23 Apr 2010, 12:44, edited 1 time in total.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#298 Post by 01micko »

I have also compiled GtkDialog Patriot Edition .. source from here.

It is the same one BarryK uses in Quirky and the latest known version of GtkDialog.

The main executable is gtkdialog3 but I have made a symlink to it called gtkdialog, that will run gtkdialog scripts not made in Puppy. Also compiled on 009. Works fine. Many of zigbert's newer apps will work better with this one, notably Pburn and DuDE.

Also included is a DOC pet needed for the devx,sfs. It has all the examples which are an important tool for developers, they are missing from all lupu's devx so far.

Cheers

PETSPECS

gtkdialog3-0.7.20-pe1-Lucid|gtkdialog3|0.7.20-pe1-Lucid||BuildingBlock|188K||gtkdialog3-0.7.20-pe1-Lucid.pet|x-window system|GtkDialog|ubuntu|lucid||

gtkdialog3_DOC-0.7.20-pe1-Lucid|gtkdialog3_DOC|0.7.20-pe1-Lucid||BuildingBlock|328K||gtkdialog3_DOC-0.7.20-pe1-Lucid.pet|gtkdialog|GtkDialog3 documentation||||
Attachments
gtkdialog3-0.7.20-pe1-Lucid.pet
(62.89 KiB) Downloaded 444 times
gtkdialog3_DOC-0.7.20-pe1-Lucid.pet
for DEVX
(19.61 KiB) Downloaded 425 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

aarf

#299 Post by aarf »

lupu009:
quickpackage v1.2: click pwidgets icon and the gui then blanks out and nothing seems to happen, same in lupu008.

cosmetics:
file system> file managers> rox ; one sub menu too many.
same in graphics>graphics processing> only two to chose from so reduce it to previous menu.
and business> calculate> ditto
document> document publishing>abiword too far for just one option.

quickpet icon is over connect icon on initial boot.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#300 Post by 01micko »

hello aarf

Pwidgets is hosted on Caneri's puppylinux.ca server and the last few days he has had problems on and off. Worked ok for me. Perhaps I'll put in an error message if the server, whatever server it may be, has a problem.

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

aarf

#301 Post by aarf »

01micko wrote:hello aarf

Pwidgets is hosted on Caneri's puppylinux.ca server and the last few days he has had problems on and off. Worked ok for me. Perhaps I'll put in an error message if the server, whatever server it may be, has a problem.

Cheers
i can get into puppylinux.ca with passwords. but quickpackage is still not doing it.

Sylvander
Posts: 4416
Joined: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 11:06
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

#302 Post by Sylvander »

1. Burned lupu-009 to a CD-RW, and booted that.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2. Unsuitable auto-config of screen resolution of 1600x1200.
Tried dropping to command prompt and entering command = new-wizard
Used the resulting xorgwizard to config 1024x768x24, but it didn't result in a change.

3. Opened a terminal and ran the command xrandrshell2 and that did the job.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4. Icons on desktop for partitions were OK at 1st boot, but at reboot and making of the pupsave file...
Once back to the desktop they were not arranged in orderly locations.
After drop to command prompt and coming back to the desktop they had all DISAPPEARED.

5. Copied alaska.jpg into /usr/share/backgrounds and could use Nathan Wallpaper Setter to view it, but couldn't apply it.

6. I notice typing here in Firefox-3.6.3-Lucid that I cannot type quotes [above the 2 on the keyboard].
I believe I've chosen the correct keyboard layout [UK English].

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#303 Post by 8-bit »

I just installed Lucid Puppy 009. And when I select Lucid Puppy Update, I get the initial page come up with the message of your update window will show up shortly or something like that.
Then if I click the button that asks if I would like to update now, I get a message box at the top of the screen that says to wait while the latest update is downloaded.
But... VERY SHORTLY, I get a message of a timeout trying to connect to the server.
Can the timeout value be expanded so it works with slower connections?
Is there actually any updates available for Lucid Puppy 009?
If no current updates are found, is there an option for a message box saying "No new updates available"?

User avatar
gjuhasz
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 14:28

Locale not supported

#304 Post by gjuhasz »

Similarly to others, I cannot set locale. (I tried to set hu_HU and Hungarian keyboard)
In VMware, the "automatic" resolution is too low (800x600)
xrandrshell2 resolves the screen size but returns with "Warning: locale not supported by Xlib, locale set to C" message.

It is interesting that Abiword still shows Hungarian language menus.
However, the keyboard is carved in stone: qwerty
Attachments
hu_HU-qwerty.jpg
(33.79 KiB) Downloaded 1078 times

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#305 Post by playdayz »

Similarly to others, I cannot set locale. (I tried to set hu_HU and Hungarian keyboard)
Yes, it is not working. As everyone has discovered. It looks as if we will need to boot directly into X and then set keyboard and locale.

We have made some good progress and are hopeful that it will all come together on 010 in a couple of days.


[
Last edited by playdayz on Sat 24 Apr 2010, 04:10, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply