Get App. to show on ALL desktops? [ Solved ]

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

Get App. to show on ALL desktops? [ Solved ]

#1 Post by sunburnt »

I`ve made a mounter-unmounter utility and it should have the option " show on all desktops ".
Anyone know how to accomplish this?
Last edited by sunburnt on Mon 29 Mar 2010, 22:00, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
puppyluvr
Posts: 3470
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 23:14
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma
Contact:

#2 Post by puppyluvr »

:D Hello,
If it is in a window, right click the title bar and select "stick"... :D
(Sounds too simple, did I miss something???)
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
I am Lead Dog of the
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook
Join us!

Puppy since 2.15CE...

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#3 Post by sunburnt »

OK... Now I know what " stick " is for... Don`t I ?
Thanks puppyluvr, so simple everything should be that way.
The best part is... I don`t even have to bother to write any code for it !

User avatar
puppyluvr
Posts: 3470
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 23:14
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma
Contact:

#4 Post by puppyluvr »

:D Hello,
I assume you could make your gui display automatically on all desktops on startup like conky or xmessages, but IDK how.......yet.. :)
But I`d bet forum member "Patriot" would..He made the enhanced JWM I used for PAW...
Pwidgets is also desktop universal...Maybe a look at the conky / pwidgets code...Hmmm...
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
I am Lead Dog of the
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook
Join us!

Puppy since 2.15CE...

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#5 Post by sunburnt »

Hummmm, Good point... ( and yet another Q for the programming forum )
I figured that once the app. set to do it, it would always come up on all DTs.

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#6 Post by aragon »

AFAIK this is defined in the EWMH-standard http://standards.freedesktop.org/wm-spe ... #id2494278

maybe this part http://standards.freedesktop.org/wm-spe ... #id2507080 is the one you're looking for.

how to implement in your code? don't ask me :oops: maybe patriot or jemimah could be of help...

aragon

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#7 Post by seaside »

it should have the option " show on all desktops ".
Anyone know how to accomplish this?
add following to JWM -

Code: Select all

<Group>
<Class>mounter-unmounter </Class>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>
Cheers,
s

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#8 Post by sunburnt »

Looks good seaside, it took a little while to find that the /root/.jwmrc file had "<Group>" in it...
I looked at it first, but I didn`t look all the way down near the bottom of the file.

A PLUS + ... This means that any of the right-click menu items can be controlled at boot..!

### Is there also a way to run the right-click menu commands from a shell script?

( Minimize, Shade, etc...)

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#9 Post by sunburnt »

seaside; I don`t know the "Class" name to use for the "sticky" tag in the file: /root/.jwmrc
Where do I get the Class name from? I tried my apps. gtkDialog title of " DM ":

Code: Select all

<Group><Class>DM</Class><Option>sticky</Option></Group>
I don`t think the fact that I put it all on one line should be a problem...

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#10 Post by aragon »

From: http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml#groups
Group Settings

Program groups allow one to specify options which apply to a group of programs by their name and/or class. A program group is created with the Group tag. As many program groups can be created as desired. Within the Group tag the following tags are supported.

* Name
The title of a program to match to be in this group. This field is case sensitive. A wild card, "*" may be used.
* Class
The window class for a program to match to be in this group. This field is case sensitive. A wild card, "*" may be used.
* Option
A option for this group. The table below lists possible options.
maybe it's sufficient if you just do

Code: Select all

<Group><Name>DM</Name><Option>sticky</Option></Group>
AFAIK you could use xwininfo to retrieve the class-info.

maybe that helps.

aragon

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#11 Post by seaside »

aragon wrote:
maybe it's sufficient if you just do

Code: Select all

<Group><Name>DM</Name><Option>sticky</Option></Group>
Yes, Aragon suggestion should work and if you feel like spending time - supposedly Gtkdialog has a "Function: gtk-window-stick" (Method:stick) which can set the "sticky" aspect in the Gtkdialog code itself - but - and maybe it's just me - I can't figure out how to make it work! Grrrrr. :D

Maybe Potong knows?

Cheers,
s

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#12 Post by sunburnt »

Thanks aragon and seaside, I`ll give it a try and tell you what I find out.
I didn`t notice if there was a "Name" tag within the "Group" tags.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#13 Post by sunburnt »

Sorry guys but no go... I used "xwininfo -name DM" to get the GUIs Class and added this to: /root/.jwmrc

Code: Select all

<Group>
<Class>InputOutput</Class>
<Name>DM</Name>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>
Nothing happens...

seaside
Posts: 934
Joined: Thu 12 Apr 2007, 00:19

#14 Post by seaside »

sunburnt wrote:Sorry guys but no go... I used "xwininfo -name DM" to get the GUIs Class and added this to: /root/.jwmrc

Code: Select all

<Group>
<Class>InputOutput</Class>
<Name>DM</Name>
<Option>sticky</Option>
</Group>
Nothing happens...
Sunburnt,

I finally discovered how to set the class or name in the Gtkdialog code itself - it's done like this-

Code: Select all

export D='<window title="DM"><vbox>
  <button><label>Exit</label><action type="exit">exit</action></button></vbox></window>'
gtkdialog3 -p D --class=Gaim
The reason why the above works is that there already is a Group sticky option set up for class "Gaim" in the JWM template.

You could set up a separate option group for DM in the JWM template and then pass either (or both) --name --class . If the only option you want is "sticky", then you could just use --class=Gaim as above.

For some odd reason, the window title and class as identified by "xwininfo" does not match.

Hey, maybe we could mark this [FINALLY SOLVED] :D :D

Cheers,
s

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#15 Post by sunburnt »

I found the way... Just make up any name to put in the <Class> tags.
And use that same name in the gtkDialog command line. Example = DM
Like this in the /root/.jwmrc file:

Code: Select all

<Group>
<Class>DM</Class>
<Option>sticky</Option>
<Option>nolist</Option>
</Group>
And this in the gtkDialog file:

Code: Select all

gtkdialog3 -p DRIVEMAN --class=DM -G "$2"x"$3"+"$LEFT"+"$TOP" &

Post Reply