Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 15:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
DuDE-0.4.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 14 [206 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5698
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 03:14    Post subject:  

Jim
I would really like some feedback from you. - what output do you get if you execute 'ptray' in terminal?

Version 0.2 is not close. - A lot to do first, and my time is limited.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Apr 2010, 13:54    Post subject:  

Hi zigbert,

I've upgraded to lupu-004, DuDE works fine on it but has a different problem so far. This is even more serious because the Shutdown menus are broken. I have the shutdown menu set up to appear on mouse-wheel down. It appears properly, but the buttons do not respond. Same thing with the Leave selection on the Menu. However, Ctrl > Alt >Backspace executes the button action that was pressed. Exit to prompt is the ony button that executes and it apparently acts the same as Ctrl > Alt > Backspace by executing the action of the last button that was pressed.

Tray functions work properly.

EDIT: I have also installed the same dude-0.1.pet in Official 4.3.2 v3 and it is working flawlessly.

I really like the flexibility that you've built in to adjust the menus. It has always been a headache to get what you want to appear on the menus. I hope that this will be included in Puppy 5, however, playdayz has announced a feature freeze. Great work developing the pcc.

Jim

Last edited by Jim1911 on Tue 06 Apr 2010, 20:34; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 03:07    Post subject:  

Desktop working nicely everywhere I've tried it (official, experimental, pre-alpha, etc.....). Hope it continues to stay in development.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
joel


Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 185
Location: Buffalo, NY & Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 06:53    Post subject:
Subject description: Menus dont show all available options
 

Hey I have found some "bugs". I only call them that because i don't know what else to. But in the Pmenu when selecting clock skins, if you have a lot of them they are not all displayed and it is impossible to scroll through the list. Any movement from the mouse makes the menu disappear. So essentially I can only select those which are in the view of the screen. I posted a screen shot of it below. Notice after D32.png it is cut off and moving the mouse over it just closes the menu. I also tried using the down arrow, but it doesn't work.

This only happens when clicking the + symbols. I can of course add it the manual way but then I cannot add a particular clock skin to the global theme. How could I fix this because I very much like to change my clock skins, etc often and like a large variety. This makes the global theme option (which is a great idea and I would like to use) obsolete.

This also happens in Stardust 13.
menus.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  menus.png 
Filesize  574.59 KB 
Downloaded  841 Time(s) 

_________________
I am not a Mac, not a PC... I am a Puppy. Idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5698
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 01:31    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
Hope it continues to stay in development.
I do some improvements as I find bottlenecks. But, now when next generation of Puppy is trying openbox/fbpanel and maybe icewm, Stardust (DuDE) might float down the drain...... But that is how it should be. No kingdom will last for infinity.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5698
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 01:37    Post subject:
Subject description: Menus dont show all available options
 

joel wrote:
But in the Pmenu when selecting clock skins, if you have a lot of them they are not all displayed and it is impossible to scroll through the list. Any movement from the mouse makes the menu disappear.
I see (not Pmenu, but Ptheme).
The menu you refer to, is purely homemade (gtkdialog doesn't support external menus by default), and I had not your issue in mind when building it. At this moment, I don't see any easy way to fix it - to show a scrollbar if the menu is taller than the screen.


hmmmm
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 01:37    Post subject:  

Ha!

Infinity is a long way off... (see PM) Laughing

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5698
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 02:07    Post subject:  

Hi Mick

You are doing great stuff these days. Thanks alot for all your effort !!!!!

I tested the latest jwm-build in lupu, and it really improves the situation......from no transparency in menu-icons to small shades on some of them.


_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 02:38    Post subject:  

ha..haha!

You need to get rid of the libpixman fix... this shot is on lupu-002.. it is fixed I tells ya! Laughing

Cheers Very Happy
dude.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.57 KB
 Viewed   1705 Time(s)

dude.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5698
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 04:02    Post subject:  

Jwm forever Very Happy
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 04:07    Post subject:  

Now onto DuDE...

Xmessage is showing window decorations.. can you add the stuff in .jwmrc for that please? Or not. Entirely up yo you, but I prefer to add it.

Thanks

Cheers

Mick Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
joel


Joined: 26 Feb 2009
Posts: 185
Location: Buffalo, NY & Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 06:01    Post subject:  

Ok, well as a work around I just moved some of my clock skins out of the folder for the time being. It seems on my resolution of 1024x768 I can have 30 displayed properly max.

Is there any reason I cannot type the name of the clock skin into the bar? After selecting one a file name is there but it is not possible to type it. I though perhaps if I couldn't see a skin in the menu to select it then possibly i could just enter the file name if i knew it, but alas.

_________________
I am not a Mac, not a PC... I am a Puppy. Idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Apr 2010, 15:10    Post subject:  

Hi zigbert,

DuDE works fine on lupu-005 and lupu-006 none of the problems that were experienced with 003 & 004. So it was lupu, not DuDE.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Apr 2010, 12:13    Post subject:  

Hi zigbert,

Bad news, the problem noted earlier with 003 has returned with Lucid puppy 007 and is still in 008. The PCC Desktop Trays button does not function. Also, the Edit tray button in the top mention does not work. The tray files can be edited manually. This problem occurred with a new 3fs save file created to test DuDE. Executing ptray in a console gives this error:
Code:
# ptray
** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 355, near token 'string': syntax error
aborting...

lupu-008 has an additional problem. If the programs menu is set to be activated by a left mouse click, clicking on a desktop icon will bring up the programs menu instead of executing the desktop icon. Something to do with pointer focus.

Is Version 0.2 ready for tests, or do we need to try to sort out the problem with this version?

Thanks for providing us with this powerful tool for customizing our desktops.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5698
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 14:02    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Xmessage is showing window decorations.. can you add the stuff in .jwmrc for that please? Or not. Entirely up yo you, but I prefer to add it.
I don't know if that is a too good idea, since Barry and others uses xdialog in their scripts. It might interfere with their intentions.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 14 [206 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0785s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]