Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 22:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Fatdog64 alpha3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 11:52    Post_subject:  

Wow, thanks Jamesbond! I was going to do Fix#1, thought I'd just grab the udev rules from some other distro. But then after some searching it seems there's problems with multifunction devices (scanner, printer, fax) being identified as a scanner, then printing doesn't work because the new node is assigned to to wrong group. So Fix#2 is looking real good.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stevoomba


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Rye Park NSW

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 01:02    Post_subject:  

Working great, Kirk, thanks. Only problem is java isn't working in Firefox. Any ideas? I installed update 17.

Steve

(edit: It's alpha4 I'm using...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 01:48    Post_subject:  

Steve,

I presume you install your java by downloading the .bin file from Sun website directly. When you run the .bin file, it will extract the entire JRE (or JDK) to the current directory. You can then move this directory elsewhere as you wish (e.g, under /opt). I will continue this with assumption you have installed the JRE under /opt/java.

To get java working under firefox, according to here http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.6.0/manual_install_linux.html you have to create a symlink in firefox's plugins directory to correct java library.

To cut the story short, all you have to do is this:
Code:
ln -s /opt/java/lib/amd64/libnpjp2.so /usr/lib64/firefox/plugins

Replace "/opt/java" above with where you installed your JRE.

Checked it in firefox's plugins page (about:plugins) before and after you do that. If you still need further confirmation, you can come here http://java.com/en/download/installed.jsp to check. You don't even have to restart Firefox after that to get Java working.

(Tested with alpha4, with JRE update 18 - though I'm sure it will work with update 17 as well).

Hope that helps, cheers !

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Fri 19 Mar 2010, 09:05    Post_subject:  

Kirk, almost ready to send you my $20
A-4 for my setup now works for my chipset. Not any wizards for Xorg on cd or full install first boot. Running sbin/xorgwizard from terminal dont work, xorgwizard-old brings up the wizard but on restarting the Xserver the screen is dark green with barely visible text. Quick and dirty rebuild needed to fix it. (delete everything execpt boot and root and do a full install, this way all my settings, apps and docks are are saved) However I can take xorg.conf out of A-3 to give me my 1024:768 screen. Takeing xorgwizard out of A-3 dont work, afrer restarting Xserver get a prompt but cant type 'xwin jwm' another Q&D install needed. Aung
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 09:10    Post_subject:  

Hi kirk,

Just asking, are you going to release alpha5 soon, or are you going to hold for a while until 2.6.33-series kernel and the issue with aufs/unionfs has stabilised?

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 13:27    Post_subject:  

Yes, I've been meaning to post something. I've been working on a NFS file sharing application for Fatdog. I compiled 2.6.33.1 with AUFS enabled for NFS. It's working, but I'm trying to hammer some bugs out. If you kill the nfsd servers without umounting, then the system becomes unstable. If it can't get things to unmount reliably, I'll recompile the kernel without NFS support for AUFS and make the NFS file sharing application work with folders out side of the layered file system (/mnt/home). I might do that anyway to avoid AUFS from having to do so many tricks and having less storage limitations.

I haven't really had any problems with AUFS. The previous alphas have all been ext2 in the save file. Alpha 5 will be ext3. I did this once before, but it seems like I got some error messages popping up when the save file was on NTFS. Unionfs is just too scary. I don't think it gets much testing due to AUFS. Apparently you need a patch for Unionfs so that most web browsers will work. That can't be good.

I'll upload alpha 5 later this week.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 07:37    Post_subject:  

Cool ! Thanks kirk, and no rush. I've been running alpha1 (your very first alpha on 2.6.28 kernel) for a while now, off an NTFS partition and I hacked the initrd to use ext3 for the save file, and yes I got a few worrying messages each time I shutdown, but so far no loss of data on either the save file or on the NTFS partition itself.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 26 Mar 2010, 09:27    Post_subject:  

Don't download right now, I'm going to upload a new version in few days. Actually I did upload a new version with 2.6.32.10 but I decided to give 2.6.33.1 one more go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 361
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Fri 26 Mar 2010, 11:45    Post_subject:  

Hi Kirk,

Does 64bit have DVB modules? Very Happy

DC
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 27 Mar 2010, 09:30    Post_subject:  

Yes, DVB modules.

I've uploaded beta 1. See here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=405001#405001
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
taurustraveller

Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Location: Australia all over

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 21:03    Post_subject: 64 bit puppy  

G'day Kirk,

Thanks for Fatdog 64. I have been searching for a 64 bit pup for a while and accidently came across your.

Works like a charm on my Toshiba Satellite L500 laptop. Gimp boots in 2.5 seconds.

Taurustraveller
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11182
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Apr 2010, 23:28    Post_subject:  

Kirk, did you fix it yet so it can save to the (multisession) DVD at shutdown?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0674s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]