Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 14:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
e-Sword bible software installation
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 14:13    Post_subject: Linking
Sub_title: linking?
 

Hi Jim:

Thanks again for all the help.

3 questions and 1 request.

q1 This is probably a dumb question but if I move Wine to mnt/home and link it back should the link be relative or absolute?

q2 Will Wine still load into ram at startup assuming there is sufficient resources?

q3 I have one install that I cannot seem to get to show up in the menu or get the desktop file to execute. I have checked and double checked and it is a direct copy and paste of the one you created and it works in all my other installs. any idea why?

Request 1 Please change the color of your highlighting, it displays in Columbia Blue on my screen and I cannot read it.


TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 05:27    Post_subject:  

Quote:
q2 Will Wine still load into ram at startup assuming there is sufficient resources?

Who says wine loads into ram at startup? How are you running Puppy and how is wine installed?
Some people think that when you run Puppy from CD or a frugal install, your save file is loaded into ram at startup, but I'm pretty sure it isn't, regardless of how much ram you have.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 09:44    Post_subject: Re: Linking
Sub_title: linking?
 

Frank Cox wrote:
Hi Jim:

Thanks again for all the help.

3 questions and 1 request.

q1 This is probably a dumb question but if I move Wine to mnt/home and link it back should the link be relative or absolute?

q2 Will Wine still load into ram at startup assuming there is sufficient resources?

q3 I have one install that I cannot seem to get to show up in the menu or get the desktop file to execute. I have checked and double checked and it is a direct copy and paste of the one you created and it works in all my other installs. any idea why?

Request 1 Please change the color of your highlighting, it displays in Columbia Blue on my screen and I cannot read it.


TIA
1. Relative as stated above.
2. I believe that you need to remaster your installation and the new sfs created will load entirely into ram.
3. Open the desktop file as text and make sure that the exec and icon lines both reflect the correct paths in your installation. Also check to see if esword.sh is in usr/bin.

Hope this helps,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 14:23    Post_subject: Wine  

disciple wrote:
Quote:
q2 Will Wine still load into ram at startup assuming there is sufficient resources?

Who says wine loads into ram at startup? How are you running Puppy and how is wine installed?
Some people think that when you run Puppy from CD or a frugal install, your save file is loaded into ram at startup, but I'm pretty sure it isn't, regardless of how much ram you have.

I was under the impression everything loaded into ram, that that was why puppy was so fast.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 16:29    Post_subject: Re: Linking
Sub_title: linking?
 

Forgive my ignorance but if I move Wine to mnt/home will the remaster program copy it as well?

Also what would be a case one would use an absolute link?

Thanks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 06:09    Post_subject:  

If the link and its target are likely to both be moved (or copied) together then you would use a relative link, because e.g. if it was absolute and you moved the directory structure they are both contained in, the link would be broken.

If the link is likely to be moved (or copied) but the target is likely to stay in the same place, then you would use an absolute link. e.g. if you moved a relative link into another folder then it would be broken.

Try some and see Smile

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 07:10    Post_subject: Thanks  

disciple wrote:
If the link and its target are likely to both be moved (or copied) together then you would use a relative link, because e.g. if it was absolute and you moved the directory structure they are both contained in, the link would be broken.

If the link is likely to be moved (or copied) but the target is likely to stay in the same place, then you would use an absolute link. e.g. if you moved a relative link into another folder then it would be broken.

Try some and see Smile


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 07:23    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I was under the impression everything loaded into ram, that that was why puppy was so fast.

PG explained it here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=345021#345021

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 08:30    Post_subject:
Sub_title: linking?
 

Jim1911 wrote:
bones01 wrote:
Well done Frank. good to see this is working for others too.

Jim, I'm sorry to ask what is probably a simple question, but I don't know what or how to 'link' one file to another. Embarassed I'm trying another frugal install, and am keen to try your suggestion, but not sure what to do.

Could you lead me through it please?

Thanks.

Bones

Sorry, that it's taken me so long to answer, been on vacation, but I see that you solved it. Here's my technique.

The primary approach that I use after a successful installation is to move .wine to mnt/home and then copy a link to /root/. This keeps the wine programs out of the save file (less danger of corruption) and provides the flexibility to use it with different pups. I still place the other needed files in /usr/bin and /usr/share/applications and /usr/share/pixmaps, of course they could be moved to an e-Sword directory in mnt/home and linked back to the proper locations.

To accomplish this I use Rox. Open mnt/home with Rox, then open another instance of Rox in root, left click on the eye to show hidden files in both directories, select .wine, drag it to mnt/home, select move. The next step is to link .wine back to the root directory. To accomplish this, drag .wine back to root and select Link (relative).

I believe this will be easier than the approach you used.

Cheers,
Jim


Thanks Jim. Seemed to work well. Hopefully that's it now.

Thanks for your ongoing help.

Bones

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 22:50    Post_subject:
Sub_title: There's always something else
 

Hi all,

the install and linking seems to work really well, but there's one small problem.

When I open e-Sword on my frugal install, it works, but doesn't appear in the task bar. And if I minimize it, it disappears. it's still open, but gone.

Any ideas?

Bones.

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 01:00    Post_subject:
Sub_title: There's always something else
 

bones01 wrote:
Hi all,

the install and linking seems to work really well, but there's one small problem.

When I open e-Sword on my frugal install, it works, but doesn't appear in the task bar. And if I minimize it, it disappears. it's still open, but gone.

Any ideas?

Bones.


There is a quirk in Puppy that will cause an open program to disappear and if
you roll the scroll button on your mouse it reappears. Not sure if that is what you are describing but its worth a shot to try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 04:32    Post_subject:  

bones01 wrote:
doesn't appear in the task bar

Are you sure you're talking about the same thing Frank?

Bones, my best guess is that it is a quirk of whatever Wine version you happen to have... but you may also want to try a different Window manager or a different version of e-Sword.
I have seen similar quirks with recent development versions of JWM (it seems Joe is implementing support of hints for distinguishing different types of windows). What version do you have?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 19:36    Post_subject:  

no, i said i was not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 01:24    Post_subject:  

Ah, true Embarassed
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Sun 01 Aug 2010, 06:23    Post_subject:  

disciple wrote:


Bones, my best guess is that it is a quirk of whatever Wine version you happen to have... but you may also want to try a different Window manager or a different version of e-Sword.
I have seen similar quirks with recent development versions of JWM (it seems Joe is implementing support of hints for distinguishing different types of windows). What version do you have?


I'm using whatever version of JWM is standard in Lupu, but don't know anymore than that.

The same thing also happened on the Quirky install. Enormously frustrating.

Bones

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0896s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]