e-Sword bible software installation

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
Jim1911

e-Sword bible software installation

#1 Post by Jim1911 »

Rick Meyers, developer wrote:e-Sword is a fast and effective way to study the Bible. e-Sword is feature rich and user friendly with more capabilities than you would expect in a free software package. The fact that e-Sword is free is just one of the blessings and does not speak of the quality of the software. I make my living writing software and I believe I have put forth my best effort in this endeavor. The real work, however, was put in by the godly men and women who devoted countless years creating the texts that have been made available for our benefit.
In His service,
Rick Meyers
Note: The following steps may be unnecessary if you are using the latest Wine for Puppy and the latest e-Sword since there have been significant improvements in both and they now work well together. Seepost on page 8 for updated procedures.

The following steps should result in a successful e-Sword installation using puppy 431 and the latest wine .pet . It has also been successfully tested on Puppy 432, dpup-484, and the latest Puppy Lucid, Lighthouse, Wary and Quirky. Amazingly, e-Sword on my hardware is quicker and more responsive under Wine than it is under it's native windows.

1. Download from green_dome's latest wine-1.4-rc5 which works great.

2. Download e-Sword installation files, setup972.exe plus any other desired modules. Unfortunately this link now just downloads the latest e-Sword and is no longer active to download modules, see EDIT below.

3. Before installation, two missing files, needed by e-Sword,MFC42.DLL and msls31.dll must be located and copied to /root/.wine "C:\\windows\\system32", otherwise the installation file will not work properly.