Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 04:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Fatdog64 alpha2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 11:11    Post subject:  Fatdog64 alpha2
Subject description: All 64bit bloated puppy
 

This is a complete rebuild with the T2 trunk as of a few weeks ago. My wife got a new laptop, real nice, CoreI5, 4GB of DDR3, Blu-Ray drive $499, but with crappy intel graphics. Anyway, the Xorg 7.3 that was in alpha1 is too old and doesn't support this new Intel graphics chip, so I just rebuilt everything with T2. Probably should have called it something different since it's a new base. Some highlights:

Xorg 7.5
GCC 4.4.3
Cups 1.4.x
Gimp
FireFox 3.6
Kino
HandBrake
openbox / Lxpanel
linux-2.6.33
Blackberry modem support for Verizon.

Xorg now auto configures itself and the default keyboard is "US" and the default timezone is gmt -5. You can change these in the setup menu. I went this direction because I had problems on intel graphics with the console being blank after the KMS modules would load, before Xorg started. The old xorgwizard is still there if you want a detailed xorg.conf, just hit ctrl - alt - backspace to exit the Xorg server and at the prompt type xorgwizard-old, and the xwin to restart Xorg.

Firefox now runs as user spot, anything you download goes into the Downloads folder on the desktop. At the first shutdown, after making your save file, you'll be asked if you want to move the Downloads folder to the same place as your save file. Most will want to answer yes to that. Lots of other small changes, grabbed Barry's latest scripts out of woof; added options to the right-click menu for the optical disk icon on the desktop so you can eject or explore a disk; fixed some bugs; added new bugs Smile.

No lzma compression now, didn't want to use it for the main sfs file anyway, it would have been nice for the devx file though. You can look here for the details on that http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=45322&start=90

So this is using squashfs 4.0, any old squashfs 3.1 sfs files won't work with it. I have tried a full install yet or did a whole lot of testing.

Big thanks to Caneri for the hosting!

http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/kirk/fatdog64-500/alpha2/
screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.21 KB
 Viewed   450 Time(s)

screen.jpg


Last edited by kirk on Thu 04 Mar 2010, 22:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2221
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 21:19    Post subject:  

Interesting, I'll give it a try. Thanks for including Gimp. BTW you can disable the blank screen by putting "nomodeset" on the kernel cmdline ... I got the same "blank screen" problem with earlier Karmic kernels as well.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 22:05    Post subject:  

Thanks, does the "nomodeset" disable kernel mode setting? If so then the new intel drivers won't work.

The Grub installer is not working so don't try it. I'll fix it for alpha3. Ibiblio gave me hosting space so I'll be uploading all the other binary packages I built with T2. There's a lot of them. This iso doesn't have samba, should I add it? Nfs is much smaller, I see Patriot is working on a client GUI, I've been thinking of doing that. Procrastination pays off! Really need some simple server setup and some way of discovering servers on a network.

If you find a bug and especially a solution please post it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2221
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 04:19    Post subject:  

Yeah I need to eat my words back. I tested nomodeset with your kernel and I can't start X at all. For whatever reason, it works for Karmic kernels (may be they make it an optional feature in xorg during compilation? I have no idea).

Reports after about 30mins of usage:
1. The "automagic" xorg.conf doesn't do mouse scroll wheel.
FIX - replace mouse protocol from "auto" to "IMPS/2"

2. My laptop has Intel Wifi 5100AGN. This wifi is not recognised and there is no firmware for it.
FIX - get the latest firmware from Barry's firmware tarball. Also need to update /etc/networkmodules.

3. X sometimes can't start after being terminated with Ctrl-Alt-Bksp. One has to be persistent and try a couple of times. Sorry no idea how to fix.

4. Printing - cups-pdf printer is not set by default. Sorry I don't know how to fix it. I can see cups-pdf is already in /usr/lib/cups/backend but somehow it doesn't when I tried to add printer.

5. Gimp - Try to open a file using the File - Open menu. Without devx, it will crash immediately. With devx, it will last longer ... but if you play around the file open dialog (ie choose another directory etc) - it will crash again. Similar to the crash we had in FD32-beta2 (with comes with GTK 2.16).
Sorry also no idea how to fix. Just last night I compiled GTK 2.18.7 (your is 2.18.6) and Glib 2.22.4 (same as yours), same gimp 2.6.8 for FD64 alpha1, it seems to be stable, so I don't understand why it's not stable on here.

6. abiword - startup screen is odd. Also, there is some leftover "recent documents" in it Smile (but those docs are not accessible though, so no worries).

On the other hand, though, you manage to get the freememappletd work ! (I can't do it in alpha1 - it always escape the tray !)

EDIT: Samba, you can just add the client tools (e.g. mount.cifs, smbclient, nmblookup), and drop the server tools. That shoudn't take too much space, I guess?

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2221
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 11:35    Post subject:  

On another laptop with Broadcom, after booting, no wireless interface is seen. although wl.ko module is loaded. I had to do these:
- unload b43 (yes, both b43 and wl were initially loaded)
- unload wl
- unload ohci_usb (in order to be able to unload ssb)
- unload ssb
- reload wl

Only then my wireless interface is visible. After that I can reload ohci_usb (which automatically reload ssb) w/o problems. FIX? No idea. While we can blacklist b43, blacklisting ssb will make certain people unable to boot from USB (ohci_usb will definitely not load if ssb is not present)...

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 19:21    Post subject:  

There's a script in init.d that does that but only for a certain pci-id, if wl is a complete replacement for b43, probably should have that script run if b43 is loaded.

I think I've fixed the other problems you posted.

Fixed the pdf printer.

Grabbed the firmware from Barry's latest. Fixed another related bug.

Recompiled gtk, I think T2 hosed it up somehow. Gimp doesn't crash when opening a file. Recompiled Gimp without python and scripting support.

Changed the mouse settings. Are you using a laptop with a external mouse? It seems like it due to the problem you had.


I think grub is fixed, but I haven't tested it yet.

I haven't had the ctrl-alt-backspace problem. Is that with intel graphics?

I'll make the change with wl and do some more testing then upload alpha3.

I did upload all the packages t2 built and sources to ibiblio. I'm on my blackberry right now I'll post a link when I upload alpha3.

Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 05:21    Post subject:  

Quote:
org now auto configures itself and the default keyboard is "US" and the default timezone is gmt -5.


I wonder if this is the way to go for all Puppys
Made a huge difference to the initial boot up impression
(I am using an ATI Radeon HD 4350 straight in - Nice)

Quote:

Firefox now runs as user spot, anything you download goes into the Downloads folder on the desktop. At the first shutdown, after making your save file, you'll be asked if you want to move the Downloads


After getting a network connection I ran the Firewall wizard and then FireFox
Firefox not working
So rebooted puppy pfix=ram as before - without Firewall - Firefox working . . .

So far so good Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 05:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
6. abiword - startup screen is odd. Also, there is some leftover "recent documents" in it Smile (but those docs are not accessible though, so no worries).


Something to do with the resizing/default size - works OK from command line and when you resize Abiword

xine played the visual part of my .mov file OK but the sound was jumpy - sound, hiss, silence sound - repeat

gcc not working from rxvt?
Kino seemed OK - loaded played and applied a few filters - very nice Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2221
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 19:54    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
There's a script in init.d that does that but only for a certain pci-id, if wl is a complete replacement for b43, probably should have that script run if b43 is loaded.
I checked from their respective websites, unfortunately no. wl only supports new chips (4311 onwards), while b43 seems to support older chips (4306?)

kirk wrote:

I think I've fixed the other problems you posted.

Fixed the pdf printer.

Grabbed the firmware from Barry's latest. Fixed another related bug.

Recompiled gtk, I think T2 hosed it up somehow. Gimp doesn't crash when opening a file. Recompiled Gimp without python and scripting support.
Thanks, looking forward to test the updated version.
kirk wrote:
Changed the mouse settings. Are you using a laptop with a external mouse? It seems like it due to the problem you had.
Yes, I had an external USB mouse.

kirk wrote:

I think grub is fixed, but I haven't tested it yet.
I usually don't test this as I already have grub4dos installed, all I need to do is open the iso file and copy out the contents ... but I'll probably test it inside a vm environment.

kirk wrote:
I haven't had the ctrl-alt-backspace problem. Is that with intel graphics?
Yes, with Intel graphics. I haven't tried with my other laptop that runs ATI, I'll get back to you later.

kirk wrote:

I'll make the change with wl and do some more testing then upload alpha3.

I did upload all the packages t2 built and sources to ibiblio. I'm on my blackberry right now I'll post a link when I upload alpha3.

Thanks for your help!

Thanks for sharing these work ! Looking forward to alpha3 then.

Lobster, no, when I launch Abiword (from menu), the window is small. When I maximise it, the canvas portion of abiword isn't drawn properly - some portions of the rulers as missing etc. I have to scroll the blank document up and down to get it to show.

Cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 09:57    Post subject:  

Lobster,

When you say Firefox is not working after running the firewall wizard, do you mean Firefox can't connect to the network? Wonder if it disables all users except root from network access? Well, this is silly, I should just try it. I did upgrade libXine and Xine-UI and added the Xine-UI Mozilla plugin, maybe your sound problems with that .mov file is fixed. Keep in mind files like .mov, .mp4, .mkv, are all just containers that hold different audio and video streams in various codecs, so it could be a problem with just one codec out of many possibilities. Libxine is compiled with support for more codecs now.


jamesbond,

Thanks for the info, the BC-wl script will now check if the pcid is greater than 4310, if so wl will be used.

Alpha3 should be uploaded now, I'll make a new post.

Thanks guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0839s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]