Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Dec 2014, 16:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to make .sfs file (compress programs and settings)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
TPittman

Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 11:37    Post_subject: How to make .sfs file  

From reading this thread it looks like using .sfs files is non-trivial. Are there instructions (what to type) somewhere? I'm a Mac person (unfortunately the real Mac is dead, all that's left is unix), where you just drag it onto some folder and 2-click it. I'm also a professional programmer, but everything I know about linux fits in the thin paperback _Just Enough Unix_ with lots of space left over. Once I succeed in recompiling the kernel and rebuilding the Puppy install, I'm sure I can figure everything else out.

Tom Pittman
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 19:57    Post_subject:  

Tom,
You are getting around a bit.
Try this page in the wiki for information on Virtual Drives and how they are mounted. Presumably you are interested in how to access usr_devx.sfs, just put it on the same partition as pupxxx if you are booting from CD or using the poor man's install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 20:02    Post_subject: Deleted  

Double post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 22:39    Post_subject: Hi  

Hi, Tom, you are very much welcome in Puppy. Mu has announced a graphical installer of sfs files in "Additional Software".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 06 Apr 2007, 03:52    Post_subject:  

Raffy; Perhaps the problem is UnionFS "whiting out or not" the files, so they appear.


bombayrockers; I hear that Mono (Linux's ".net") needs Gnome's libs & gtk.
Maybe the package you've assembled would allow Mono to run on Puppy?

This'd bring Puppy the capability of running & developing M$ programming languages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 06:47    Post_subject:  

Hi,

i am having hard time with squash files. I hope someone of you will help, here is where i am: i have created a SFS file and i would like it to be mounted at boot time by the CD.

1. i have put an application into /usr/local/SFS_FILENAME
2. i have make the SFS with the command
mksquashfs /usrlocal/SFS_FILENAME myaddon_214.sfs
3. i have deleted /usr/local/SFS_FILENAME
4. i have remastered the cd with Dougals tool
5. i have a brand new CD with all the file AND myaddon_214.sfs

ok, it boots fine, but the squash file is not mounted and the softwares in myaddon_214.sfs are not found in /usr/local

I cannont figure what i did wrong nor i don't know how to mount it by hand so to test may squash file. I read on another thread MU created a squash extension manager but it is not for v2.14 (or am i wrong ?) here is the thread
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=7457

Is there something special to specify somewhere to have a squash file mounted at boot
time ? i thought it was automagic...

Also, is there a size limit at a squash file ? mine is around 100Mo ; how much Mo can i add for a computer with 512 Mo ?

best regards,
Laurent.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 07:02    Post_subject:  

Create a folder (it also could be somewhere else):
/root/sfs/

Copy there your files.
In this example, I use some example files EXAMPLE to make it clearer.
You need such a folderstructure:

/root/sfs/usr/local/bin/EXAMPLE.sh
/root/sfs/usr/lib/EXAMPLE.so
/root/sfs/usr/share/applications/EXAMPLE.desktop
/root/sfs/usr/share/icons/EXAMPLE.png

Now create the squashfs:
cd /mnt/home
mksquashfs /root/sfs EXAMPLE_215.sfs

That's all!
Now reboot, and you should have these files:
/usr/local/bin/EXAMPLE.sh
/usr/lib/EXAMPLE.so
/usr/share/applications/EXAMPLE.desktop
/usr/share/icons/EXAMPLE.png

Note that sfs are only mounted automatically, if you run Puppy from CD or a frugal installation. But not from a full harddisk installation.
/mnt/home is a symbolic link to the folder, where Puppy stores all settings in the file pup_save.2fs.

You don't need a manager to mount them, such managers are only made for extended possibilties.

The filesize is unlimited.
It is not loaded to Ram, but mounted like a CD or harddisk if it runs from a fast media like a harddisk.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 07:46    Post_subject:  

Thanks Mark, I run from a live CD v2.14 and my goal is to have an addon_214.sfs file mounted automatically at boot.

it does not work, i do not have a /mnt/home direcotry ; is it a special directory and is there a special command to create it ?

and when i reboot do i save or not ? usually i do not save. My goal is to remaster so my friend can have the same cd.

Best regards,
Laurent.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 07:57    Post_subject:  

/mnt/home is created, when you save the first time.
So when pup_save.2fs is created.
So yes, you must save once to be able to use a sfs.
This will change in Puppy 2.16, which will allow to mount a sfs directly from CD.

The advantage of sfs is, that you can share it with users of different versions of Puppy.

But if you just want to give your friends a whole customized CD, you do not need sfs.

In this case you would install programs in the running system, and then create a new CD with such a remaster program like that from Dougal.

But I cannot help you with that, as I don't use it.

I rebuild Isos like Muppy with some console-commands from an external folder, where I copy everything I need.

This method is for advanced users only, usually such a remaster wizard is easier to use.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vern72023

Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 158
Location: Jacksonville Fl

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 09:07    Post_subject:  

216 which is in the experimental stage at the moment has a great feature for handling sfs files on load - I use sfs files a lot to hold my customizations and programs like wine which are tailored to my individual needs and I have found that the bootmanager included in 216exp2 is sinmple to use and appears very stable

It sounds like it will br ideal for what you are looking for

George

_________________
george
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 12:48    Post_subject:  

Laurent; What MU says is the correct way to do it (of course).
What vern72023 said is correct also, Barry has rewritten my "post boot SFS GUI".
It'll allow setting up SFS files for booting, I haven't seen his handy work yet though.

Laurent... I think that the reason your SFS file doesn't load is Puppy ONLY loads
SFS files named pup_more.sfs or pup_devx.sfs, so rename your SFS to "pup_more.sfs".

You could rename it & try it just for the heck of it, but if it loads but doesn't
work you should probably do the SFS file again with MU's instructions.

...Terry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 13:42    Post_subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Laurent; What MU says is the correct way to do it (of course).


There is ABSOLUTELY no doubt about it, i am the newbie, he is the guru ;
That's why i was asking for help and i am very gad Mark helped me because now...

IT WORKS ! Cool ...it's incredible ! it is very powerful !! I can load thousands of megas and it does not weight, amazing, really.

...and i can now understand what Barry said at the beginning of the thread:
Quote:
For Puppy2, the sfs files will mount on "/"


mine files have come right into / even if i managed to put them in /root/sfs/usr/local/EXAMPLE like Mark teached.

but anyway, i will do it again until i can put them down into /usr/local Very Happy

I think another error i made was i did not respect 8+3 filename naming convention for msdos files and perhaps my SFS was not seen...

sunburnt wrote:
Laurent... I think that the reason your SFS file doesn't load is Puppy ONLY loads SFS files named pup_more.sfs or pup_devx.sfs, so rename your SFS to "pup_more.sfs".

You could rename it & try it just for the heck of it, but if it loads but doesn't
work you should probably do the SFS file again with MU's instructions.

...Terry


well mine is named dofs_214.sfs and was loaded fine automagically at boot time, but ok i take notice of it Smile

THANKS YOU ALL ! You are great programmers, really !
...so now i can create squash files i will begin to do a few and you will see SFS popping up... heu, when i will have managed not to put everything into / Confused sorry

Best regards,
Laurent.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 13:55    Post_subject:  

Apparently Pupp-2xx loads anything ".sfs", I learn new stuff all the time !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 18:04    Post_subject:  

Puppy2 uses this naming convention:

DescriptiveWord_Versionnumber.sfs

Like:
KDE_215.sfs

So if you download a KDE_214.sfs, and want to use it in Puppy 2.12, you must rename it to:
KDE_212.sfs

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2007, 18:09    Post_subject:  

I don't know why your files went to "/".
I said:
Quote:
cd /mnt/home
mksquashfs /root/sfs EXAMPLE_215.sfs


I think this should work, but maybe I oversaw something?

I usually do it on an external partition:
Lets say I have:
/mnt/sda6/sfs/usr/local/bin/example.sh

Then I type:

cd /mnt/sda6
mksquashfs sfs EXAMPLE_215.sfs

This creates the sfs in /mnt/sda6 , not in /mnt/home, so I finally must move it manually there.

But I dont think this will be the problem you have, I just have no other idea at moment.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1056s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0263s) ][ GZIP on ]