Puppy Stardust 011

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#46 Post by 01micko »

you can try this script if you have a webcam... if your machine is slower than a 1 gig processor and/or has less than 512 MB ram adjust the usleep upwards... you also may have to press the stop button twice.. er I should mention that this is experimental, and that it is technosaurus' idea, I just adapted it from that slideshow I posted a couple of Stardusts ago... .. :wink:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
function KILL(){
   kill `ps | grep PIC | awk '{print $1}'` 2> /dev/null
   kill `ps | grep -w PLAY | awk '{print $1}'` 2>/dev/null
   kill `ps | grep -w BG | awk '{print $1}'` 2>/dev/null
}
export -f KILL

#XSCREEN=`xrandr -q | grep current | awk '{print $8}'` 
XSCREEN=`grep -w 'Modes ' /etc/X11/xorg.conf|cut -d 'x' -f1|cut -d '"' -f2`
#YSCREEN=`xrandr -q | grep current | awk '{print $10}'`
YSCREEN=`grep -w 'Modes ' /etc/X11/xorg.conf|cut -d 'x' -f2|cut -d '"' -f1`
#XPOS=`dc $XSCREEN 340 sub p`
#YPOS=`dc $YSCREEN 300 sub p`
XPOS=$((XSCREEN - 175))
YPOS=$((YSCREEN - 160))
export XPOS
export YPOS
#GUIYPOS=`dc $YPOS 70 sub p`
GUIYPOS=$((YPOS - 68))
export GUIYPOS

function PLAY(){
	#show background
	export BG='
	<window width-request="150" height-request="116">
	<text><label>""</label></text>
	</window>'
	gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p BG -G +$XPOS+$YPOS &
   while true ; do
   ffmpeg -y -r 1 -t 1 -f video4linux2 -s 140x106 -i /dev/video0 /tmp/camshot%d.jpg
   kill `ps | grep PIC | awk '{print \$1}'` 2> /dev/null
   export PIC='<window><pixmap><input file>/tmp/camshot1.jpg</input></pixmap></window>'
   gtkdialog3 --class=jwm-applet -p PIC --geometry +$XPOS+$YPOS  &
   usleep 50
   done
}
export -f PLAY



export camshow="
<vbox>
 <hbox>
  <button>
   <input file stock=\"gtk-media-play\"></input>
   <action>PLAY &</action>
  </button>
  <button>
   <input file stock=\"gtk-media-stop\"></input>
   <action>KILL &</action>
  </button>
 </hbox>
</vbox>"
gtkdialog3 -p camshow --geometry +$XPOS+$GUIYPOS &
unset camshow
It "should" work ootb as long as your webcam is working with 431. And yes, i know it flickers alot!

Have fun :)
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

4-stroke
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri 07 Aug 2009, 14:15
Location: Sweden

#47 Post by 4-stroke »

There's a typo in Puppy control center -> sound -> Midi
It says "Install sofware synth - Timidity++". The "t" is missing.

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#48 Post by technosaurus »

the problem with the invisible icons is likely because the Stardust-green Stardust-blue directories are "mkdir"ed after the script tries to copy to them... might as well just have the empty directories included since it is cheaper than the code to create them.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#49 Post by zigbert »

DaveS wrote:
zigbert wrote:
DaveS wrote:Shutdown button non function in utility tray caused by typo in /root/.stardust/trays/Utility_tray.rc. '<' is missing from start of closetag for traybotton "leave puppy"
GREAT!!! It makes me really happy when you dive into it, and provides the fix.


Thanks a lot :D
Sigmund
When I run fixmenus, the typo comes back, so I guess it is from a template somewhere. Where should I look?
/etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

Re: Puppy Stardust 011

#50 Post by zigbert »

ninrode wrote:Hi! Zigbert!

I want to congratulate the work of improving the new version. I'm testing and so far nothing bug.
It was even better!
Hug mate!
Thank you

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#51 Post by zigbert »

Regarding the miscolored/invisible icons.

The problem occurred because the installer script didn't resize the blue/green color-template coorect. Now fixed, and should be ok for 012.


Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#52 Post by zigbert »

sinc wrote:One consistent issue I come across is .wmv files not being associated with gxine automatically.
FIXED


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#53 Post by zigbert »

4-stroke wrote:There's a typo in Puppy control center -> sound -> Midi
It says "Install sofware synth - Timidity++". The "t" is missing.
FIXED


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#54 Post by DaveS »

zigbert wrote:
DaveS wrote:
zigbert wrote:GREAT!!! It makes me really happy when you dive into it, and provides the fix.


Thanks a lot :D
Sigmund
When I run fixmenus, the typo comes back, so I guess it is from a template somewhere. Where should I look?
/etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc
For the utility tray template?
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
`f00
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu 06 Nov 2008, 19:13
Location: the Western Reserve

#55 Post by `f00 »

Zig' remarked in the initial article on the pitb behavior of driveicons. Since p400, imo they've become less of a feature and perhaps more of an annoyance -
1) they need a roxpin .. not so good with other wms or methods of setting a bg and
2) there seems no easy way of setting a geometry of placement other than the default left-right at the bottom .. if I recall rightly, easy user-defined placement preference was an option in the early days
3) lastly, they can be troublesome :( (recently in my experience with s10) with mounted-boot on removeable media such as usb sticks if other removeable sticks are mounted dismounted - having a boot-mounted stick unintentionally dismounted by a confused protocol is not a very good experience, imo (unless one enjoys challenges :lol: ). win32 gets around this by assigning fixed labels (or driveletters) if one so desires - not sure if that's an option with BK's driveicon system in regard to removeable media such as flash storage.

later on, a "cheap workaround" was mentioned - may I suggest Gray's variation of wbar/vbar? (as done in boxpup, if I recall) - it works, but it's different.. (a user-gui for customizing it is another story, but placement is pretty simple once you find the rc), a nice side effect is it works ohne roxpin in several other wms ;)

:) a leaner pwidgets is good (taste and expand for those who like'em), but a read-only textviewer would be welcome (elsewhere I've mentioned xfe, xfw and xfv but weight may be a concern with such addons as another fm or specialized apps)

fix away, Z' :D

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

Searchmonkey

#56 Post by bigpup »

Zigbert,

Have you considered putting Searchmonkey in Stardust?

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01269

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#57 Post by technosaurus »

I made a quick hack to try and integrate the connect wizard into Pwireless2... just added an extra notebook tab, tweaked the gui to fit and added the before and after code, so it may need some more work (I already posted to the Pwireless2 thread)
Attachments
Pwireless connect wizard.png
(33.53 KiB) Downloaded 1666 times
Pwireless2.gz
goes in /usr/local/bin
(4.9 KiB) Downloaded 326 times
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
trio
Posts: 2076
Joined: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 15:50
Location: अनà¥￾मोदना

#58 Post by trio »

`f00 wrote: later on, a "cheap workaround" was mentioned - may I suggest Gray's variation of wbar/vbar? (as done in boxpup, if I recall) - it works, but it's different.. (a user-gui for customizing it is another story, but placement is pretty simple once you find the rc)
Wbarcc, see my signature :lol:

User avatar
`f00
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu 06 Nov 2008, 19:13
Location: the Western Reserve

#59 Post by `f00 »

Yep, I need sleep I do (between remastering q and s and getting it all as I like and viable there's been a few items neglected like testing 'cc) - so you have a drivebar already? 8)

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#60 Post by technosaurus »

Stardust is 99% incorporated with the first pre-alpha of 4.4CE
I'll make an announcement tomorrow, but I am too tired now... so enjoy
http://puppy-development.googlecode.com ... -431-2.iso
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#61 Post by James C »

Stardust 011 is still running fine......and I'm downloading the pre-alpha as I post this. 8)

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#62 Post by DaveS »

technosaurus wrote:Stardust is 99% incorporated with the first pre-alpha of 4.4CE
I'll make an announcement tomorrow, but I am too tired now... so enjoy
http://puppy-development.googlecode.com ... -431-2.iso
LOL........ Never would have guessed :) (UK irony)
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
ttuuxxx
Posts: 11171
Joined: Sat 05 May 2007, 10:00
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia
Contact:

#63 Post by ttuuxxx »

technosaurus wrote:Stardust is 99% incorporated with the first pre-alpha of 4.4CE
I'll make an announcement tomorrow, but I am too tired now... so enjoy
http://puppy-development.googlecode.com ... -431-2.iso
stardust isn't the base is it? There's too many changes/files deleted, plus CE version are usually official versions, and should be able to be built with woof, where as Stardust from What I take of it isn't built with woof.
Some of the updated features would be good.
ttuuxxx
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games :)

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#64 Post by tasmod »

I'm trying to sit on the fence here.
==

Ziggy has removed a lot of stuff from 4.3.1 to make Stardust

Now as far as I can tell this is to make room for his apps and changes of core apps as in 4.3.1. See his list on first page.
These are his personal preferences.

I don't think it can claim to be a 4.3.1 with cosmetic changes, too many changes have been made for that. Too much removed.

Perhaps its more accurate description is a new Puplet.

==

I'm with tuuxxx on this one regarding 4.4CE.

It should be based on 431 official also but if you want to incorporate Ziggys improvements to the menu etc structure, then be prepared for the iso to grow in size.

==

On a personal note -

I can never get my head around this obsession with 100mb. I would still be happy at 120mb or so and I don't think Puppy would suffer. Some nice features get dropped for sake of a few meg.
However, I can see we don't want a bloated Puppy.
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#65 Post by Sage »

I can never get my head around this obsession with 100mb.
It all started when DSL determined to stick to 50Mb .iso so that the OS would fit on credit card CDs which were in vogue a few years back. Then the target became the 7cm miniCDs where the 100Mb limit would still permit some limited space for data, eg .sfs in this case. So there is/was a certain logic. Additionally, much of the world, including large sectors of the US and Oz outback are still on DUN. Even an 100Mb distro needs to be chopped up for those folks. In my opinion, insufficient effort is expended with many Puppy derivatives to keep the inventory low. SliTaz and TinyCore take the view that a few basic utilities and a browser with access to a good package manager are all that's needed to enable users to build a substantial system to suit their individual needs. Nevertheless, there is scope for 'compact' distros where the developers have carefully chosen a well-matched selection of apps. These are likely to appeal to neophytes.
Then, every engineer, even software ones, are taught the K.I.S.S. principle. As you know, the most elegant solutions to the most complex concepts are generally summarised in the simplest of fomulae; I am thinking particularly of E=mc^2 and 42 !

Post Reply