Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 02:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Arcade 7
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [73 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
Feel


Joined: 07 Feb 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 12:12    Post subject:  

I have the same problem: my USB thumb-drives don't work, but I can see them form the hardware list (it may be under "System", but I am not sure).

By the way: last time I used Puppy Arcade was soon after its first release, a few days ago I looked for some updates and I've seen that now there is the 7th version! That's cool, I tried it and I like it very much!
Congratulations sc0ttman!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Apr 2010, 02:08    Post subject: USB Thumb Drives  

[edit] Forgot to say, welcome back, Feel, hope you like the latest version! Version 8 will be even better!

About USB Drives:

MuppyQuickMount is the default mounting tool in Puppy Arcade because it's very fast and convenient.. However..

Sometimes, MuppyQuickMount cannot mount devices which normally work in Puppy. In these cases, I've found that using Pmount, the regular mounting tool that is installed as default in most Puppies, works fine..

To use a Pmount instead, go to "Menu->FileSystem->Pmount"..

You can also replace the command in "~/.jwm-apps", then restart JWM, so that Pmount is used when you click 'Drives', in the apps menu..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rfxcasey

Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 10 Apr 2010, 10:30    Post subject: Re: USB Thumb Drives  

sc0ttman wrote:
[edit] Forgot to say, welcome back, Feel, hope you like the latest version! Version 8 will be even better!

About USB Drives:

MuppyQuickMount is the default mounting tool in Puppy Arcade because it's very fast and convenient.. However..

Sometimes, MuppyQuickMount cannot mount devices which normally work in Puppy. In these cases, I've found that using Pmount, the regular mounting tool that is installed as default in most Puppies, works fine..

To use a Pmount instead, go to "Menu->FileSystem->Pmount"..

You can also replace the command in "~/.jwm-apps", then restart JWM, so that Pmount is used when you click 'Drives', in the apps menu..


I did EXACTLY like you said but I still can only see my USB drives in the hardware list. However after doing a complete reinstall I finally got the USB working. It's a miracle.

And this fix package, I can't get to work at all. It always just halts at the part that says PETget package manager Updating menu, please wait... forever even after a clean install. I wind up doing a restart of X to get back to a working OS so I don't know if the update completed partly, at all, or completely.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 Apr 2010, 17:58    Post subject: Re: USB Thumb Drives  

rfxcasey wrote:
And this fix package, I can't get to work at all. It always just halts at the part that says PETget package manager Updating menu, please wait... forever even after a clean install. I wind up doing a restart of X to get back to a working OS so I don't know if the update completed partly, at all, or completely.

Right click on the bugfix pet file, convert to tgz, and extract the files to /

This is basically the same as installing it.. Extracting each one individually, then restarting jwm or X after each, will be the safest way..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rfxcasey

Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 10 Apr 2010, 19:42    Post subject:  

OK thanks will give that a try but I have run into another "bug" of sorts.

I accidentally deleted the path for the xmame executable file in the xmame directories dialog and couldn't remember what path to enter. I figured I would boot from live cd and check the directory do I could enter it on the hard drive install.

Well I got an error message when trying to boot from live CD so I tried to boot from the HD and got the same error as follows while booting: Setting up the layered filesystem.... failed. Then there is a whole bunch more data. I searched around and found a related article http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36944 so this is apparently a puppy issue and not solely limited to Arcade. The fix it in the article but you may want to include this on future version of arcade just so it doesn't snag anyone else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Apr 2010, 15:50    Post subject:  

rfxcasey wrote:
... I got an error message when trying to boot from live CD so I tried to boot from the HD and got the same error as follows while booting: Setting up the layered filesystem.... failed...

I searched around and found a related article .. so this is apparently a puppy issue and not solely limited to Arcade.

The fix it in the article but you may want to include this on future version of arcade just so it doesn't snag anyone else.

Thanks for the info and the link.. I'll make sure the next Puppy Arcade is protected against this problem..

For anyone else with a full HD install, here is the exact solution to the error "Setting up the layered filesystem.... failed"

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheSlider

Joined: 28 Apr 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 28 Apr 2010, 13:04    Post subject:  

I've been trying out puppy on an old laptop (sony pcg-fx601) with a modded winxp and PLoP loader booting puppy on it's dedicated usb dongle. I'm proud of you guys. I'm quite new to linux but I'm not afraid of testing out stuff. But, as I found this interesting arcade pupplet here, I felt a bit left down and was wondering if it was possible to have a step by step installation process, not that it's too complicated but there seems to be quite à lot of fixes and updates around here for the pup and the emulators making it quite tricky to understand how everything works. I guess I'm too used to the easy install processes but I'd really love to see an updated step by step guide for this (which I would gladly write once I get more used to this stuff).

As I'm writing, I'm finishing downloading the v7 and planing to make it load on a new tiny 1gb usb dongle which makes the whole thing even cuter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 05:33    Post subject:  

Nice to see another new Puppy fan on the Arcade 7 thread! Very Happy

TheSlider wrote:
I'm proud of you guys. I'm quite new to linux but I'm not afraid of testing out stuff. But, as I found this interesting arcade puplet here

Glad you like it.. New Puppy users are well advised to read the beginners help and the how to sections as a start to learning Puppy Linux, in general.. There is also the Puppy Linux Handbook, which is awesome!

TheSlider wrote:
I felt a bit left down and was wondering if it was possible to have a step by step installation process

To what would you like to install Puppy? Puppy can be installed to nearly anything, so there are many methods... Rolling Eyes

TheSlider wrote:
there seems to be quite a lot of fixes and updates around here for the pup and the emulators making it quite tricky to understand how everything works.

Puppy Arcade 7 only requires the 1 bugfix file to work fully, without errors.. The other emulator downloads are entirely optional - and will mostly only replace the emulators already found in Puppy Arcade.

TheSlider wrote:
I guess I'm too used to the easy install processes but I'd really love to see an updated step by step guide for this (which I would gladly write once I get more used to this stuff).

There are a number of user guides available, but finding them is the hard part! I'm looking around for you now, as some of the guides are great. For example, Here is a guide for adding more than one Puppy to a USB device..

I plan to write out a full help file (or user guide) for Puppy Arcade 8, which should be released within a month or two...

Look in "/usr/share/docs/ for a load of good help files about most of the stuff installed in Puppy linux..

TheSlider wrote:
As I'm writing, I'm finishing downloading the v7 and planing to make it load on a new tiny 1gb usb dongle which makes the whole thing even cuter.

As you have XP on your laptop, the easiest way to create a bootable USB with Puppy Arcade is to use the USB Installer for Windows, which is really, really simple.

To install to USB, using Puppy itself, here is a quick quide, from my website:

Quote:
10. Install to Hard Drive or USB (optional):

- Installation is not required - you can simply boot Puppy Arcade straight from CD
- However, Puppy Arcade can also be installed using a number of easy methods:

- Install to any USB drive, using Windows: Download the ISO file and this USB installer, then follow this great guide at PendriveLinux.com
- Install to anything, using Puppy Arcade: Load the live CD, select 'Menu->Utility->Universal Installer' and follow the simple instructions


Hope this helps! Smile

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheSlider

Joined: 28 Apr 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 10:10    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply !

It has been past a week now since i installed puppy arcade on my usb dongle and it works perfectly... well, most of the time and mostly because i'm still a newcomer to the linux world. I found the usb installer you're talking about and even used PLoP to be able to boot on usb (awesome).

I still had trouble with mounting/unmounting drives through Puppy Arcade. I found the menu to mount drives and i know where to look (mnt/sdc1 for example) but it's just not friendly enough. XD

Then i played freedoom for a while, left then came back but pupdoom didn't save the config. Any idea on how to reload previous settings ? I edited prboom.cfg with the right directory "root/hard-drive/roms/doom2.wad" but it doesn't show up.
Also, prboom.cfg doesn't have any 'save' directory entry for game saves, i had to mess around and unhide the folder to find the savegame and copy it to the main rom folder.

Creating folders directly on the puppy usb stick was a plus as i also play them on other systems (like on my 'freebox' from time to time).
I can't access the Puppy dongle from other systems. on xp it says the dongle isn't formatted while i can access the other one with Puppy Arcade maybe because i used the universal installer with the first one (booting from the iso ) and the usb installer with the second (through winxp)...

pfew ^_^

Right now i'm trying to load n64 roms. This old laptop can hardly run any 3D apps (homeworld runs fine though) but i expect a lot from puppy arcade. : )

Edit :
Ok, i managed to run the emulator on opengl with a basic ati driver (for a rage mobility m1), i had to change some settings to make it run without popping an error regarding some memory management. In fact, i had t oswitch from 1024*768*24 to 1024*768*16 ( yup downgrade to 16 bits colors ) so that glx would run corectly.

So now i can run n64 roms ... ... uh ... but it's slooow T_T between 1 and 5 fps depending on the resolution and other settings. I should be happy though, no n64 emu on winxp gives me a single picture. XD
This laptop is just too old for that but i'm happy in the overall. : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 15 May 2010, 08:47    Post subject:  

TheSlider wrote:
Thanks for the reply !

It has been past a week now since i installed puppy arcade on my usb dongle and it works perfectly... well, most of the time and mostly because i'm still a newcomer to the linux world. I found the usb installer you're talking about and even used PLoP to be able to boot on usb (awesome).

Very Happy

TheSlider wrote:
I still had trouble with mounting/unmounting drives through Puppy Arcade. I found the menu to mount drives

Just left-click on the desktop to open the 'Apps' menu ( small list of important apps), and choose 'Drives'..

TheSlider wrote:
..and i know where to look (mnt/sdc1 for example) but it's just not friendly enough. XD

You'll get used to it.. It's just one of the unaviodable difference of linux. When you have a save file setup, you can use 'StartMount', to automatically mount your chosen drives, then you can symlink them to give them a short path name (use ROX - just drag and drop, choose either 'link' option)..

I access my puppy files at "/puppy", but really they are at "/mnt/sda2/downloads/puppy"

and my roms are at "/mnt/sda2/Games/Emulation/downloads/roms/" but I symlink that folder to "/roms".. Using startmount, this is available to me at bootup

TheSlider wrote:
Then i played freedoom for a while, left then came back but pupdoom didn't save the config. Any idea on how to reload previous settings ? I edited prboom.cfg with the right directory "root/hard-drive/roms/doom2.wad" but it doesn't show up.

That is because the frontend was created seperately, just for Puppy, by another member on this forum called 'Ale'.. It's a GREAT GUI for prboom, but remembering prboom settings wasnt included in the features.. It will be in Puppy Arcade 8..

TheSlider wrote:
Also, prboom.cfg doesn't have any 'save' directory entry for game saves, i had to mess around and unhide the folder to find the savegame and copy it to the main rom folder.

You can right click when using ROX, and click on 'Options', then make it always show hidden files.. If you like..

TheSlider wrote:
Creating folders directly on the puppy usb stick was a plus as i also play them on other systems (like on my 'freebox' from time to time).

It also reduces the size needed by your your save files!! Smile

TheSlider wrote:
I can't access the Puppy dongle from other systems. on xp it says the dongle isn't formatted while i can access the other one with Puppy Arcade maybe because i used the universal installer with the first one (booting from the iso ) and the usb installer with the second (through winxp)...

Check which filesystems you're using.. Maybe you have a linux partition on one USB and a FAT partition on the other.. XP can't do anything with linux partitions, but Puppy can use both Smile

TheSlider wrote:
Right now i'm trying to load n64 roms. This old laptop can hardly run any 3D apps (homeworld runs fine though) but i expect a lot from puppy arcade. : )

The key is finding the right pet file drivers for your card.. Then its all easy!

TheSlider wrote:
Ok, i managed to run the emulator on opengl with a basic ati driver (for a rage mobility m1)

If you wanna give the link to exactly which pet file, that would help others..

TheSlider wrote:
So now i can run n64 roms ... ... uh ... but it's slooow .. between 1 and 5 fps .. I should be happy though, no n64 emu on winxp gives me a single picture. XD
This laptop is just too old for that but i'm happy in the overall. : )

Glad you like it.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 May 2010, 14:02    Post subject:  

For anyone who is interested.. A preview of puppy arcade 8



Shows many new and important custom apps, such as QuickStart, Rom-Loader, Frontend-Chooser, RejoystickCC and more! Very Happy

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 21 May 2010, 12:26    Post subject:  

Hey sc0tman thought I'd share a simple xmame frontend I put together (from vlc frontend dialog Laughing ) I needed it for dpup. Just decompress and make executable
xmame-shell.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xmame-shell.gz 
Filesize  1.51 KB 
Downloaded  271 Time(s) 

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 May 2010, 09:10    Post subject:  

Hey dejan... I tested your frontend out on Puppy Arcade 7, it works a treat.. Once I have MAME setup, I prefer to load roms with a tiny little GUI, where possible.. And your is great! Very Happy
_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [73 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1164s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]