Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 00:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Arcade 7
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [73 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 20:45    Post subject:  

sc0ttman

I've sorted the keyboard problem with Frodo C64 emulation.

I had got too focused on the Vice C64 emulation keyboard. This uses the # key (UK keyboard) for the C64 = key. I thought the same would work with Frodo but it just did nothing. With a US keymap loaded it actually gave a ^, but I don't think this key is available on a real US keyboard. We Brits seem to have an extra key.

Anyway, tonight I found that Page Down gives the C64 = key whether a UK or US keymap is used.

There is no need to include this info in a help file. I finally found the help files for Frodo in Puppy Arcade 7, especially:
/usr/local/Frodo-4.1b-US/docs/keyboard.html

The keyboard seems to be as quoted for BeOS (not Unix, strangely, where Page Up gives something different).

Users of Frodo would do well to read the settings.html file in the same directory, especially the limit speed setting. With the default the speed was racing away with constant noise from something internal to my laptop. As soon as I ticked limit speed I got a normal speed flashing cursor and the internal noise stopped!

If there needs to be anything extra in Puppy Arcade 8, maybe it should be a reference to the location of the Frodo Help files. I only found them by tracing back from /usr/bin/frodo via its properties to /usr/local/bin/frodo which I discovered was a shell script so opened it as a text file. This showed me the esistence of /usr/local/Frodo-4.1b-US and the rest was easy. I don't think a noob would find these help files!

The help on the launcher menu points at General Puppy Help and not the Arcade help. Maybe this should be improved.

Now I can have some fun and relive the C-64 days!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 02:22    Post subject:  

Nikukyu wrote:
mamepgui version-1.5.0 is out! Very Happy

mamepgui-1.5.0.pet

Gngeo Frontend...

I think I love you... hahaha..

But great stuff once again... I REALLY appreciate the work you've done with Puppy Arcade..
You are helping to improve it more than me!! : Embarassed .. D

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Wed 10 Mar 2010, 02:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 02:34    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
sc0ttman

I've sorted the keyboard problem with Frodo C64 emulation... I found that Page Down gives the C64 = key, whether a UK or US keymap is used.

Good man! I pressed every key to see what they did, but having never used a commodre (they're a bit before my time) I couldn't really tell what I was doing!!! Rolling Eyes
ICPUG wrote:
If there needs to be anything extra in Puppy Arcade 8, maybe it should be a reference to the location of the Frodo Help files.

Agreed.. Frodo was left in as an 'after-thought' - so people don't need to hunt for C64 BIOS... I'll make sure ALL emulator help files are easily found..

ICPUG wrote:
The help on the launcher menu points at General Puppy Help and not the Arcade help. Maybe this should be improved.

Indeed.. I was worried that removing the default help pages would annoy a few people - especially as, unlike many other puplets, Puppy Arcade tends to attract a lot of first time Puppy users....

But I'll create a new HTML page with links to all the original puppy help, plus the emulator help files and so on... I've recently tested Puppy 4.4 actually, and would like to steal a few ideas on this subject...

ICPUG wrote:
Now I can have some fun and relive the C-64 days!

Enjoy! Very Happy

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nikukyu


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Location: Zipangu

PostPosted: Sat 13 Mar 2010, 19:06    Post subject:  

I found gngeo of a new version here.

http://puppy.cnbits.com

However, because it will not have been possible to open it to the public the way things are going, it regenerated a little.
gngeo-0.7_plus-FE.pet
Description  Python is necessary, frontend plus
pet

 Download 
Filename  gngeo-0.7_plus-FE.pet 
Filesize  685.2 KB 
Downloaded  356 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kandkyo
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 02:09    Post subject:  

Nikukyu wrote:
I found gngeo of a new version here.

http://puppy.cnbits.com

However, because it will not have been possible to open it to the public the way things are going, it regenerated a little.


I'll add some screenshot once I've tested it. Very Happy
Back to top
Nikukyu


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Location: Zipangu

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 20:01    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
But great stuff once again... I REALLY appreciate the work you've done with Puppy Arcade..
You are helping to improve it more than me!! : Embarassed .. D

You're welcome,sc0ttman Embarassed
But, though it only has to be able to help a little more.

kandkyo wrote:
I'll add some screenshot once I've tested it. Very Happy

Thank you very much by all means, kandkyo Very Happy

In addition, I found gelide-0.1.3 deb file.
It will up-load it with the tgz file later.
Whether it operates cannot be judged. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nikukyu


Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Location: Zipangu

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 00:52    Post subject:  

This is for the verification to the last.
It is possible only to start.
Someone, the PET file must be made based on this file.
gelide-0.1.3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   195.68 KB
 Viewed   488 Time(s)

gelide-0.1.3.jpg

gelide-0.1.3.tar.gz
Description  Sorry, it's not a PET file
gz

 Download 
Filename  gelide-0.1.3.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.67 MB 
Downloaded  304 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mal

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 12:31    Post subject:  

Hi folks,

Myself and some colleagues have just put together a DIY arcade cabinet ( wooden framework, TV, PC with PuppyLinux and SDLMame PET addition installed auto-loading-at-boot, VGA to Scart box, and a custom control panel via a USB connected board ).

I did a lot of searching for a good USB install and finally found PuppyLinux ( I had tried a DOS install, but couldn't find a DOS MAME page that was still live!!! )

I'm using PuppyLinux booted of a USB pen drive.

Many thanks to the PuppyArcade devs / organisers btw!!!

There are a few questions I'd like to ask ( I'm fairly new to Linux etc ).

- At the moment, I have SDLMame auto-starting on boot-up. However, it seems to start in an X bordered window ( without keyboard control but with joystick control ). If a game is selected with the joystick, then it becomes full-screen. If the window is clicked on with a mouse, it becomes full-screen.
The question here is - how can I force SDLMame to start at start-up, and remain full-screen in the Puppy Linux distro?

- How do people sync the TV up with eg scrolling games, in order to reduce the screen tearing? Is this an X thing, or does SDLMame over-ride X ( and allow frame synching etc )? ( or any of the other apps shipped with Puppy Linux )

Now, the most important question Smile

- When I quit SDLMame ( I have it set up to auto-save states ), I can view a previously stored high-score. If I then turn off the power ( ie no shutdown - the cabinet is going to eventually be self contained ), and reload the OS -> SDLMame, the scores don't seem to be saved - almost as if the state was cached, and this cache wasn't saved to the USB drive.

Is there any way to have it so that, if an app such as SDLMame saves information within a running Puppy Linux instance, it is saved for the next reload - even if it is a hard restart?

Thanks in advance for any help here - we're amazed that we got so far with the arcade cabinet and are enjoying it in its current setup, but being able to fix these small issues would be the icing on the cake!!!

Mal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mal

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 25 Mar 2010, 12:31    Post subject:  

Hi folks,

Myself and some colleagues have just put together a DIY arcade cabinet ( wooden framework, TV, PC with PuppyLinux and SDLMame PET addition installed auto-loading-at-boot, VGA to Scart box, and a custom control panel via a USB connected board ).

I did a lot of searching for a good USB install and finally found PuppyLinux ( I had tried a DOS install, but couldn't find a DOS MAME page that was still live!!! )

I'm using PuppyLinux booted of a USB pen drive.

Many thanks to the PuppyArcade devs / organisers btw!!!

There are a few questions I'd like to ask ( I'm fairly new to Linux etc ).

- At the moment, I have SDLMame auto-starting on boot-up. However, it seems to start in an X bordered window ( without keyboard control but with joystick control ). If a game is selected with the joystick, then it becomes full-screen. If the window is clicked on with a mouse, it becomes full-screen.
The question here is - how can I force SDLMame to start at start-up, and remain full-screen in the Puppy Linux distro?

- How do people sync the TV up with eg scrolling games, in order to reduce the screen tearing? Is this an X thing, or does SDLMame over-ride X ( and allow frame synching etc )? ( or any of the other apps shipped with Puppy Linux )

Now, the most important question Smile

- When I quit SDLMame ( I have it set up to auto-save states ), I can view a previously stored high-score. If I then turn off the power ( ie no shutdown - the cabinet is going to eventually be self contained ), and reload the OS -> SDLMame, the scores don't seem to be saved - almost as if the state was cached, and this cache wasn't saved to the USB drive.

Is there any way to have it so that, if an app such as SDLMame saves information within a running Puppy Linux instance, it is saved for the next reload - even if it is a hard restart?

Thanks in advance for any help here - we're amazed that we got so far with the arcade cabinet and are enjoying it in its current setup, but being able to fix these small issues would be the icing on the cake!!!

Mal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 26 Mar 2010, 11:17    Post subject:  

mal wrote:
Hi folks,

Myself and some colleagues have just put together a DIY arcade cabinet ( wooden framework, TV, PC with PuppyLinux and SDLMame PET addition installed auto-loading-at-boot, VGA to Scart box, and a custom control panel via a USB connected board ).

firstly, that sounds great, I'd love to see a simple 'how to'.. Wink

mal wrote:
The question here is - how can I force SDLMame to start at start-up, and remain full-screen in the Puppy Linux distro?

I'm don't have MAMPGUI installed at the moment, and I'm not even on Puppy, but you can type 'mamepgui -help' to see all the help options for it.. There should be something there to help.. Also MAME in general is better when using 'Xvideo (Left Alt+Home)' ((I think))....

mal wrote:
How do people sync the TV up with eg scrolling games, in order to reduce the screen tearing?

'Vsync' is the option that is designed to match the refreshing of the display hardware and the emulator itself. This may or may not help..

mal wrote:
Is there any way to have it so that, if an app such as SDLMame saves information within a running Puppy Linux instance, it is saved for the next reload - even if it is a hard restart?

Using the command 'save2flash' will do this.. This can be setup to run automatically every 30 mins (which is the puppy default)..

Go to "menu->system->puppy event manager->save session" and set the interval to 30

[you can run 'snapmergepuppy' n the terminal, too - this will also update your save file]

Puppy Arcade will already ask you if you want to save to a file when you shutdown (properly) but if you just unplug the machine, then it wont, so you will probably need to use the mathod shown above.

mal wrote:
Thanks in advance for any help here - we're amazed that we got so far with the arcade cabinet and are enjoying it in its current setup, but being able to fix these small issues would be the icing on the cake!!!

Mal

You're welcome.. Hope this stuff helps..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Wed 07 Apr 2010, 01:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rfxcasey

Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 21:02    Post subject:  

Does anyone know where I can get firefox 3.6 or higher for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 01:50    Post subject:  

Firefox for puppy: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=30434..

Or try firedog (see link below this text) - it was built for puplets that have no office suite, like Puppy Arcade..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rfxcasey

Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 22:58    Post subject:  

Ok thanks, couple more questions. This DOSBox frontend leave much to be desired. It only give me 3 choices of fullscreen res and won't go down low enough to actually get my DOS games to be fullscreen, they always have a rather large black boarder.

My other question is how to I customize the wbar to make my own lauchers or for instance if I click on the DOS launcher in the navigation bar how do I set the properties to start another frontend beside the one it's currently using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 01:57    Post subject:  

rfxcasey wrote:
Ok thanks, couple more questions. This DOSBox frontend leave much to be desired. It only give me 3 choices of fullscreen res and won't go down low enough to actually get my DOS games to be fullscreen, they always have a rather large black boarder.

My other question is how to I customize the wbar to make my own lauchers or for instance if I click on the DOS launcher in the navigation bar how do I set the properties to start another frontend beside the one it's currently using?

For DOSBox, open DOSBoxGUI and just choose 'Output=overlay' and your fullscreen display will stretch to fit the screen...
On any resolution.. Very Happy

About wbar:

Use the wbarcc, found in "Menu->Desktop->Wbar - configuration centre"... This tool allows you to easily manage wbar..

Or, you could also just open "/root/.wbar" in a text editor, and manually edit the line that sayd "c:dosboxgui", which should be on line 34...

You can change the command 'dosboxgui' to whatever you like...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rfxcasey

Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 06:51    Post subject:    

Thanks! Very Happy That helps a lot. Nice to see you have added some optional downloads as well. Keep up the excellent work.

Another issue I am having is that the OS doesn't seem to be detecting any of my USB drives. Any ideas why? They worked under Ubuntu so I don't think it's a hardware issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [73 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1067s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]