Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 12 Nov 2019, 10:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
SageLive - Mathematic software Pupplet
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 09:34    Post subject: SageLivePup08.iso
Subject description: should adress most issues
 

Hi,

I have uploaded SageLive-431.iso (699 MB)
to
http://boxen.math.washington.edu/home/emil/SageLiveCD/
md5sum is in file md5sum.txt

Features:
Sage 431 incl. Latex support
Full Sage Html Doc and Tutorial
All Programs of Puppy 431 (Abiword, Gnumerics, Seamonkey ....... )
Lyx Latex Document Processor and TeXmac environment
Additional Math tools: Gnuplot, Octave

I have tried to address most issues of the old version.

a) I hope It has a working boot graphic

b) It should ask after keyboard and localisation during boot

c) gamma correction is working in the Xorgwizard menu (using Xgamma gui from forum member Panzerkopf)

d) most important a fix for memory allocation from Barry K is added in the initrd.gz. (thx to forum member technosaurus)

e) a noram bootoption was added to force skip loading pup_431.sfs to Ram (even if enough Ram is found). This will give faster boot time, but will block your CD drive. (from forum member Pizzasgood)

f) I compiled TexMacs as an additional Latex editor. It is possible to call a Sage session from inside TexMacs, giving you nicely formated latex output!

e) Since TexMacs uses guile (Scheme) implementation, this programming language is available.

f) Following a request from H. Shilly, I added the jsmathfonts package to the sage install.

g) I implemented a scriptfile which tries to allocate swapspace in swapfiles automaticly on hard disks, but only if needed. (swapwizard.sh in /usr/bin)

h) bling issue: I switched to the infinity.jpg as standard background

For serious work you should have >= 1 GB RAM (+ some swapspace)
hope it works for you - I couldn't test it very much, it worked on my desktop (1GB Ram) and on my Laptop
emil

Known bugs:
swapwizard "-win" option is not working, there are some [ ] brackets missing in the script file. This means, pagefile.sys is not used as swapfile.

Thanks to Ken for feedback and bug report!
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.26 KB
 Viewed   838 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by emil on Thu 17 Jun 2010, 04:38; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1126

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 21:34    Post subject:  

got something you might want to test to see if it works with your puplet.

I made it originally for LightHousePup, but it seems to fit right in with what you are doing.
The SciLab suite
I already packaged it as an SFS.
http://lhpup.org/team/Q5sys/scilab-5.2.2.sfs
http://lhpup.org/team/Q5sys/scilab-5.2.2.sfs-md5.txt

Might duplicate the functionatlity you already have, but it also might offer a bit more. I made it a SFS because its 118MB, and figured I could load and unload that whenever I needed.
If it works for you, feel free to bundle it with your setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 14 May 2010, 10:45    Post subject: Scilab  

hi Q5sys,

thanks for the scilab sfs! I also posted a short link to the sfs at the Mathbase thread.
kind regards
emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
superchook

Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 113
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jun 2010, 05:18    Post subject: SageLivePup Mathematic software powered by Puppy Linux
Subject description: Two bugs isolated?
 

I downloaded SageLivePup08.iso (699 MB) from

http://boxen.math.washington.edu/home/emil/

The md5sum of the downloaded iso image agreed with the in file md5.txt but Cds burnt from this iso image would not boot. The CDs contained the files boot.cat, boot.msg, initrd.gz, isolinux.cfg, pup_431.sfs, help.msg, isolinux.bin, logo.16, vmlinuz.

I copied all the files except boot.cat into a directory on my Ubuntu box and generated a new iso image with the command

genisoimage -r -o SageLivePup08.iso -b isolinux.bin -c boot.cat -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 Puppy/Sage/

(The files were in the directory Puppy/Sage)

A CD of the new iso image began to boot OK but stopped with an error message to the effect that the file pup-431.sfs did not exist. After re naming the file in Puppy/Sage correctly and re generating the image I had a bootable iso image. (An alternative fix would have been to change the initrd.gz to look for pup_431.sfs)
I haven't tried any of the apps yet.

cheers,
Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 03:48    Post subject: broken iso?  

Superchook, sorry for the inconvenience.
I have very limited internet access at the moment (and at the time I uploaded the iso), so I did limited tests myself. Since the iso is on the official sage download server now for some months I wonder if this is really an error in the iso - I had no negative feedback up to this point.

Maybe the problem is related with this info bit from barry kauler
http://www.puppylinux.com/install.htm (the red part on bottom)
It is something about missing juliet extensions.

I will look if somebody from sagemath can check the iso.

kind regards
Emil

PS:I hope other stuff is working as expected ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jun 2010, 04:24    Post subject: iso repaired  

Hi Ken,

thank you for your valuable feedback. Really the iso was broken on the sage server Embarassed .
Renaming pup_431.sfs to pup-431.sfs should fix it.
I put a new one the server, I am sorry about your wasted CD's and time.
http://boxen.math.washington.edu/home/emil/SageLiveCD/

I will also get the sage-admins change the iso on their download server.
kind regards,
emil

PS.: interest in this must be very low ... none reported it since mid march Wink .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jun 2010, 09:20    Post subject: Re: iso repaired  

emil wrote:
...
PS.: interest in this must be very low ... none reported it since mid march Wink .
Not that low, I tried this myself, and noticed the sfs file problem. Unfortunately, I also got a bad download, so fixing the filename didn't solve the problem. I'm now downloading your latest with Pwsget.

In the interim, I've been happy using the on-line version of yacas. All it requires is a browser with javascript and java. This is fine for mundane tasks like cranking out Taylor series or continued fractions. It comes up quickly, and will run fine on a netbook.

I'm looking forward to seeing what I can do with more powerful tools. If someone else was paying, I'd probably use Mathematica. Still, the idea of being able to examine the algorithms has considerable appeal. I am a life-long student, just not, at present, an official one.

Here's a challenge: getting from non-linear wave equations to this.

Added: Success with new iso. One suggestion: next time you update this change the sfs file name in initrd.gz and inside the iso. When I didn't type pfix=ram in time, it picked up another pup-431.sfs, which could really confuse newbies who already have another puppy installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jun 2010, 07:01    Post subject: suggestion  

Hi prehistoric,
thanks for the suggestion about different name for pup-431.sfs . I noticed it myself and was pretty confused first (no problem - I regard myself still a newbie), I will change it if there ever is a new release.

yacas is faster for easy computations than sage but very limited. I made a yacas pet which should install fine in SageLive . For more basic math with an easy interface you should also check out the geogebra.sfs (I think it uses yacas as CAS behind the scenes). I have uploaded some stuff to
http://boxen.math.washington/home/emil/MathSoftware
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jun 2010, 09:17    Post subject: yacas, geogebra  

Hi emil,

I'm using yacas on-line, from the my yacas tab on the sourceforge site. This has improved display of formulas, even if the rest of the interface is clunky. All it takes is a browser with javascript and java support. If I were running Sage most of the time, I probably wouldn't bother installing yacas. Yacas is just right for scratch-pad calculations that I want to try quickly on whatever system I'm using.

Here's the sort of trivial thing I mean. (This is a favorite CAS test of mine.)

S(x) := x + Sin(x);
T(x) := x - Tan(x);
ST(x) := (2*S(x)+T(x))/3;

Now, try N(ST(3)), ST(22/7) or ST(ST(3)). A Taylor expansion around a particular value can explain what is happening.

BTW: there's a bug in the yacas pet, the script that launches yacas needs to change to the yacas directory first. Also, if I were packaging it, I'd put it in the /usr or /usr/local section of the file system. When I went looking in /usr/bin and /usr/local/bin, I (naturally) didn't find it. /bin is normally used for common system programs that don't require root privileges, and not all Unix/Linux systems have a /share directory. Most put this in /usr/share. When it gets hard to find things in /usr/bin, people start putting their own customizations in /usr/local/bin.

The boxen.math.washington site isn't letting me in right now. I'll try geogebra after their regular school hours. It looks very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri 18 Jun 2010, 12:25    Post subject:  

Hi,
sage is also online: www.sagenb.org
If you like nice output you should try running Texmacs with Sage or yacas Sessions.

thanks for all the valuable advice
emil

hm, another thing not working as planned is the boot graphic I added. It is wrong type (png), should be lSS16 or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 17:15    Post subject:  

using this one http://boxen.math.washington.edu/home/emil/SageLiveCD/SageLive-431v1.iso
Code:

# sage
----------------------------------------------------------------------
| Sage Version 4.3, Release Date: 2009-12-24                         |
| Type notebook() for the GUI, and license() for information.        |
----------------------------------------------------------------------

**********************************************************************
WARNING!  This Sage install was built on a machine that supports
instructions that are not available on this computer.  Sage will
likely fail with ILLEGAL INSTRUCTION errors! The following processor
flags were on the build machine but are not on this computer:

pni ssse3

Email http://groups.google.com/group/sage-support for help.
To remove this warning and make Sage start, just delete
     //local/lib/sage-flags.txt
**********************************************************************
#

{moved sage-fags.txt to /mnt/home/sage-flags.txt}

 # sage                                                                                                        ----------------------------------------------------------------------
| Sage Version 4.3, Release Date: 2009-12-24                         |
| Type notebook() for the GUI, and license() for information.        |
----------------------------------------------------------------------
//local/bin/sage-sage: line 206: 19749 Illegal instruction     sage-ipython "$@" -i
#
 

Code:
 
./sage -testall

goes quite a way then each test is followed by
Code:
A mysterious error (perhaps a memory error?) occurred, which may have crashed doctest.


ctrl C stopped it
then
Code:
 
#sage

then still fails as above.
looks to me like it needs to be compiled on eeepc701 to run.
i dont know what pni ssse3 are never encountered this problem before.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 01:51    Post subject: ssse3 error  

Hello aarf and all,

well it seems there is a problem with this special processor instruction set. It is a known problem, I found this googling:

http://www.mail-archive.com/sage-support@googlegroups.com/msg12655.html

Some parts of Sage are still rather machine dependend (e.g. ATLAS, which is a linear algebra library which uses benchmarking and automated optimization during compilation)

Right at the moment I have no real possibility to do a rebuild of sage without ssse3 ( I miss apropriate internet link, hardware and time - I also don't know how to disable ssse3 and use ssse2).
I posted about this problem on the sage group and hope some sort of solution can be provided.

emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 18:06    Post subject:  

downloaded http://modular.fas.harvard.edu/sage/linux/32bit/sage-4.4.4-linux-32bit-ubuntu_10.04_lts-i686-Linux.tar.lzma from this page
http://modular.fas.harvard.edu/sage/linux/32bit/index.html
into lupu500

issued the command
Code:
tar --lzma -xvf sage-*.lzma
(exactly that and possibly only in lupu will that command work) in the download folder on a ****non-fat32, non-vfat partition **** important
with at least 1580MB of freespace after the initial download .
then go into the extracted folder and

Code:
# ./sage
----------------------------------------------------------------------
| Sage Version 4.4.4, Release Date: 2010-06-23                       |
| Type notebook() for the GUI, and license() for information.        |
----------------------------------------------------------------------
The Sage install tree may have moved.
Regenerating Python.pyo and .pyc files that hardcode the install PATH
(please wait at most a few minutes)...
Do not interrupt this.
sage: 2+2
4
sage:


simple. easy. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

Edit: i have python installed in my lupu from my openshot install. not sure if it is required to be there before sage will work..

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 631
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jul 2010, 07:44    Post subject: Sage on Lupu  

Aarf, thank you for that information.
Actually a good example for the power of "Woof" puppy linux.

As far as I know it is not necessary to have python preinstalled.
The sage package is self-containing (one of the reasons why it is so big).

In the meantime I found out that I missed to build sage with the
fat binary option. For those who want to build themself (on non ubuntu puppies):

Install devxx.sfs, install gfortran, install latex (and make a symlink called Latex to it cause Sage looks for "Latex").Then use the commands

Code:
export SAGE_FAT_BINARY="yes"
make
./sage -bdist x.y.z-fat


This will create the Tarball of a binary package. The Flag SAGE_FAT_BINARY will ensure that it runs on a wide set of hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [29 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0755s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0206s) ][ GZIP on ]