Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 15 Sep 2014, 00:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
How to install AdvanceMENU in Puppy Arcade 6?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
arcadeko

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 12 Feb 2010, 17:14    Post subject:  How to install AdvanceMENU in Puppy Arcade 6?
Subject description: Can I launch right into Mame arcade? hide other emulators?
 

I am trying to create a usb drive system to run my arcade cabinet.

I have created the install on a 4 gig usb jump drive and it boots fine and works great. However I would like it to just jump right into the Arcade/Mame game list and not even show the emulator menu.

Should I try to tweak puppy arcade or just install an entire new mame front-end and have that launch at startup?

[ScOttman's answer to this question is here.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arcadeko

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2010, 17:14    Post subject: Re: Help this Newb: Puppy Arcade Config
Subject description: Can I launch right into Mame arcade? hide other emulators?
 

sc0ttman wrote:
I'm STILL looking for a suitable rom browser / multi-emu-frontend thing that will load up and let users add/load their bios and roms straight away.... Sad Sorry

I've found that most alternative frontends require stuff not included in Puppy Arcade such as Python/PyGTK...


I am trying to install AdvanceMENU - I have compiled it and run config but now I can't find the bin - is this a futile pursuit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arcadeko

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2010, 17:43    Post subject:  

ok actually I only ran the configure script - looks like that just checks for dependecies.

Everything looks ok except for a warning: Makefile.in seems to ignore the --datarootdir setting.

Next step in the AdvanceMenu BUILD doc says:

To compile run 'make'.

Forgive my noobish ways, but I then run ./make in the advancemenu directory and I get bash: ./make no such file or directory.

I am not that familiar with make - I guess it wants parameters? like source and destination?? I will post progress.

[edit] ok im reading man make and attempting to compile...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arcadeko

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2010, 17:56    Post subject:  

ok well looks like

./make -f Makefile install

got some results - im kinda plodding around here in the dark obviously - anyway it looks like its creating some files

/usr/bin/ginstall -c -d -m 755 /usr/local/bin
etc...

so this seems to be progress... waiting for make to finish then I will ...


uh oh

got some warnings "enumeration value 'saver+shutdown' not handled in switch"

same with saver_exit - maybe thats a score saver or prefs saver?

anyway the rest of it seems to be moving along quite well, its creating a bunch of obj files...

ok its done looks like there is only one error - appears that there is some error in the vsdl.c SDL_VideoInfo has no member named current_w etc. etc.

ill try install next
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arcadeko

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2010, 18:02    Post subject:  

Folders were created like /usr/lical/share/advance
but they are empty...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arcadeko

Joined: 12 Feb 2010
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb 2010, 14:04    Post subject:  

Ok I am getting back into this can of worms today.

Didn't get anywhere with AdvanceMENU - seems that one error is critical and a major issue - I am going to try and contact the authors and see if they can provide any assistance.

I am also considering just creating a front-end in Adobe AIR - I almost think that would be easier.

Just add in paths to roms,art,binary,xml game list and boom - new fe

sounds simple - should only take what an hour maybe? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0475s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]