Extended Monitor Possible?

Problems and successes with specific brands/models of computer video hardware
Message
Author
User avatar
James186282
Posts: 270
Joined: Tue 08 Sep 2009, 19:14
Location: Minnesota

#31 Post by James186282 »

I hinted at explaining what little I know about xrandr. The program is made to rotate and resize you displays on the fly. So assuming you got your xorg.conf file working and you have two monitors side by side you can start to play with them.

I got started at a company called CPT that made an 8080 based computer with a page oriented screen. Portrait not Landscape. So think a piece of paper that your typing on in the narrrow position. I admit that I hate the widescreen monitor for exiting. If I want to write software or a letter to my cousin I want a screen that resembles a piece of paper in orientation.

First type xrandr -q

this will let you see what your video is doing and what its capable of doing. In my set up it shows that VGA-0 connected primary 1280x1024++0+0
and a long list of modes it can be run in. TV-0 and DVI-I-0 are disconnected. *Note I don't have these connectors on my NVIDIA card.
DVI-I-1 is connected as 1280x1024+1280+0 which means its the monitor to the right of the VGA monitor.

So what we've learned is that the left monitor is VGA-0 and the right monitor is DVI-I-1.

So I want one to be a page orriented display. In a terminal type
xrandr --output VGA-0 --rotate left
Is this just cool or what? Now you just need to find a way to mount the monitor on its side (Some come with a way to flip the stand In my case rubber feet and leaning it up against the wall.

The bad thing is that now I have a screen that is 1280 high on the left monitor and 1024 high on the right monitor. There is a dead spot under the right monitor and it would be nice to have a square desktop that I could get around to. So..... Why not reopen the xorg.conf file and make a virtual screen with hardware panning???

Edit with Geany
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

If you scroll down to the Section "Screen" block here is my new improved one with some comments to remind me what I'm doing.

# *****************************************************************************
# Dual Headed Nvidia GeForce 7600 GS Display *
# ------------------------------------------
# SCREEN an area into which graphics may be rendered, either through software *
# alone into system memory as with VNC, or within a graphics device, some of *
# which can render into more than one screen simultaneously, either viewable *
# simultaneously or interchangeably. Interchangeable screens are often set up *
# to be notionally left and right from one another, flipping from one to the *
# next as the mouse pointer reaches the edge of the monitor. *
# *****************************************************************************
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "Stereo" "0"
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +0+0, DFP: 1280x1024 +1280+0"
# ******************************************************************************
# DISPLAY a collection of screens, often involving multiple monitors, *
# generally configured to allow the mouse to move the pointer to any position *
# within them. Linux-based workstations are usually capable of having *
# multiple displays, among which the user can switch with a special *
# keyboard combination such as control-alt-function-key, simultaneously *
# flipping all the monitors from showing the screens of one display to the *
# screens in another. *
# *
# The term "display" should not be confused with the more specialized jargon *
# "Zaphod display". The latter is a rare configuration allowing multiple users *
# of a single computer to each have an independent set of display, mouse, and *
# keyboard, as though they were using separate computers, but at a lower *
# per-seat cost. *
# ******************************************************************************
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 2560 1280
EndSubSection
EndSection

As you can see in the SubSection Display I listed the graphics modes I want to be able to run and added the Virtual line. My NVIDIA card is capable of handling a virtual screen of 4096x4096 but I want to show this a little smaller to keep it from being confusing.
With my left screen rotated the resolution is 1024 across by 1280 high. When you but that up to the other screen at 1280x1024 you have a weird shape
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:
:<---1024--->:<-------1280------->:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo: ^
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo: 1024
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:^ dead zone
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:1280
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:

So when I create a Virtual screen I started with what I would have had horizontally if both monitors were landscape mode and doing 1280x1024
1280+1280=2560
I want to get rid of that dead zone so my vertical number is 1280

<-------------------2560------------------------>
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:zzzzzzzz:
:<---1024---->:<-------1280------->:<256>:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:zzzzzzz:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:zzzzzzz:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:zzzzzzz:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:ooooooooooooooooo:zzzzzzz:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:zzzzzzzzzzVIRTUALzzzzzzzzzz:
:xxxxxxxxxxxx:zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:
:----------------:---------------------------------:

So now when you mouse off screen? You HAVE to check it out. Scrolling the way it ought to be. Hardware pan!
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
[i]Donald Knuth [/i]

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#32 Post by edoc »

Got a new AOC i2769vm 27" monitor, with a display port connector, for Christmas.

Just hooked it up (was waiting to complete assembly of a new desktop but decided not to wait).

What I'd like to do is to split the 27" display vertically so I may view two different windows at the same time.

Can this be done from within Puppy or will I need to download a program?

EDIT: I see "screen" in Packages but it failed to install due to two missing dependencies,
libelf-0.8.13-x86-64-2.txz and utempter-1.1.5-x86_64-1.txz

When I tried to download libelf-0.8.13-x86-64-2.txz in Packages it displayed a bunch of programs, including some that were Puppy distro specific (e.g. Racy) - I'm uncertain how to proceed.

Will "screen" work with any window or only in terminal mode?

Thanks - David
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#33 Post by disciple »

James186282 wrote:I admit that I hate the widescreen monitor for editing. If I want to write software or a letter to my cousin I want a screen that resembles a piece of paper in orientation.
I'm with you on that one, and two side by side monitors in portrait is better, but a huge modern widescreen can do the same job.
What really irritates me is guis like the Microsoft "ribbon" that really on an enormous amount of horizontal space. Do this in a recent version of Microsoft word and half the gui is missing because there isn't enough space. Use a monitor that isn't huge enough and you have the same problem even with just one document using the whole screen. And the stupid ribbon takes up so much vertical space at the same time that that causes issues too.
James186282 wrote:So now when you mouse off screen? You HAVE to check it out. Scrolling the way it ought to be. Hardware pan!
Yes!
edoc wrote:What I'd like to do is to split the 27" display vertically so I may view two different windows at the same time.
Well, you can obviously do this with any normal window manager, so presumably you are wanting something that will make it behave like two separate monitors, so a window will "maximise" to half the screen.
I spent a lot of time a few years ago looking for a way to do this, and I determined that it is technically possible (using xephyr or xnest to emulate a dual screen setup IIRC), but not worth it in terms of effort, and increasing the complexity of your system. But if you do do it I'd like to hear a report about it.
There are much simpler solutions to achieve roughly the same end.
1. There may be a tiling window manager that will suit you.
2. A window manager with features like the microsoft "aero snap".
3. A separate program to provide "aero snap" e.g. opensnap (I see there is now also an "opensnap-quicktile", which I am not familiar with). I have a non-standard opensnap configuration which is IMO more useful, if you are interested.
4. A good set of window manager key bindings. My set is based on the Windows key and the number pad numbers, for resizing and positioning windows, as well as maximising and unmaximising. It is good enough that I don't actually bother running opensnap (which is Python based). I currently use Openbox, so my key bindings are based on those posted at http://melp.nl/2011/01/10-must-have-key ... n-openbox/. I posted a couple of times in the comments there with my additional ones - search for "Alister".
edoc wrote:EDIT: I see "screen" in Packages but it failed to install due to two missing dependencies
Screen is for working in the terminal, it does not help you manage windows.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#34 Post by edoc »

Way cool!
Yes, what I'd like to do is to be able to edit on the left side of the screen and see the result on the right; e.g. when editing HTML or to view news on one side as I email or Twitter on the other.
(I get that when editing HTML I'd have to manually refresh the result side.)
If you have a way to make this happen I am interested for sure!
I'm not concerned about "standard methods" if they are theoretical but rather a tried and true method that a fellow Linux user has tested.
Right now this PC is running Just Lighthouse 64 but once my new desktop has been completed I will upgrade to a newer distro & may also test out refracta.
Thanks! David
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#35 Post by disciple »

L64 includes openbox, so why don't you try out my keybindings (+ the last set in the main post at that link, under 1. Move windows to screen corners and edges) for a start?

With them, basically, Win+5 maximises or restores the active window, Win+0 minimises, and Win+any other numpad number resizes and positions e.g. Win+1 sizes the window to take up the bottom left quarter of the screen, Win+4 the left half of the screen, Win+2 the bottom half of the screen etc.[/code]
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#36 Post by edoc »

disciple wrote:L64 includes openbox, so why don't you try out my keybindings (+ the last set in the main post at that link, under 1. Move windows to screen corners and edges) for a start?

With them, basically, Win+5 maximises or restores the active window, Win+0 minimises, and Win+any other numpad number resizes and positions e.g. Win+1 sizes the window to take up the bottom left quarter of the screen, Win+4 the left half of the screen, Win+2 the bottom half of the screen etc.[/code]
OK, just printed that text and am walking through it carefully.

I have ./config/openbox/rc.xml open in geany.

Is it the contents of the box in "9. MS-Windows style keyboard shortcuts" I should copy to rc.xml under "Keybindings"?

Then also the four under #1?

Or are there more I should copy, please?

Thanks - David
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#37 Post by disciple »

No, these ones:

Code: Select all

<keybind key="W-KP_8"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><y>0</y></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_6"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><x>-0</x></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_2"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><y>-0</y></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_4"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><x>0</x></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_7"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><x>0</x><y>0</y></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_9"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><x>-0</x><y>0</y></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_1"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><x>0</x><y>-0</y></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_3"><action name="MoveResizeTo"><x>-0</x><y>-0</y></action></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_5"><action name="ToggleMaximizeFull"/></keybind>
<keybind key="W-KP_0"><action name="Iconify"/></keybind>
Sorry - that might not be enough. I don't a PC in front of me to check, but I think this might be the full code I'm using now, and I posted the comments to that thread before I'd worked it out:

Code: Select all

    <!-- Tiling & Maximise/Restore with the numberpad -->
    <keybind key="W-KP_8">
      <action name="UnmaximizeVert"/>
      <action name="MaximizeHorz"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>center</x>
        <y>0</y>
        <height>1/2</height>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_6">
      <action name="UnmaximizeHoriz"/>
      <action name="MaximizeVert"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>-0</x>
        <y>center</y>
        <width>1/2</width>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_2">
      <action name="UnmaximizeVert"/>
      <action name="MaximizeHorz"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>center</x>
        <y>-0</y>
        <height>1/2</height>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_4">
      <action name="UnmaximizeHoriz"/>
      <action name="MaximizeVert"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>0</x>
        <y>center</y>
        <width>1/2</width>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_7">
      <action name="UnMaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>0</x>
        <y>0</y>
        <width>1/2</width>
        <height>1/2</height>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_9">
      <action name="UnMaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>-0</x>
        <y>0</y>
        <width>1/2</width>
        <height>1/2</height>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_1">
      <action name="UnMaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>0</x>
        <y>-0</y>
        <width>1/2</width>
        <height>1/2</height>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_3">
      <action name="UnMaximizeFull"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <x>-0</x>
        <y>-0</y>
        <width>1/2</width>
        <height>1/2</height>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_5">
      <action name="ToggleMaximizeFull"/>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-KP_0"><action name="Iconify"/></keybind>
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#38 Post by edoc »

So, just the second box of code, no need for the first - yes?
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#39 Post by disciple »

That's right.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#40 Post by edoc »

Do I need to reboot in order for this to take effect?
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#41 Post by disciple »

No, you should just be able to run `openbox --reconfigure`, and you might even have a start menu entry which does that.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#42 Post by edoc »

disciple wrote:No, you should just be able to run `openbox --reconfigure`, and you might even have a start menu entry which does that.
Console-LHP does not respond to that commend

Menu - Openbox - Run opens a window in which I tried that command to no effect

I tried the same but ticked the box to run in terminal emulator - still no effect

I'm not sure what it happening ... or not happening ... sigh.

Might Restart LXPanel get it done?
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#43 Post by disciple »

I presume when you say there is no effect you mean you tried using the keybindings and they don't work.
you running openbox to start with?
I don't know about L64, but in most distros openbox comes with more than one configuration file, so you might want to check if the rc.xml file you edited is the one you're actually using. e.g. my system uses
Wsomething like lxde_rc.xml, and it might be in a subfolder or something.hat actually happens if you use "run in terminal"? Does the terminal stay open so you can see any warning messages? If not try opening the terminal manually first.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#44 Post by edoc »

disciple wrote:I presume when you say there is no effect you mean you tried using the keybindings and they don't work.
you running openbox to start with?
I don't know about L64, but in most distros openbox comes with more than one configuration file, so you might want to check if the rc.xml file you edited is the one you're actually using. e.g. my system uses
Wsomething like lxde_rc.xml, and it might be in a subfolder or something.hat actually happens if you use "run in terminal"? Does the terminal stay open so you can see any warning messages? If not try opening the terminal manually first.
Here's what I am looking at - when I press Enter, nothing happens.
Attachments
lxterminalopenboxreconfig1.jpg
(85.13 KiB) Downloaded 292 times
Last edited by edoc on Mon 16 Jan 2017, 02:12, edited 1 time in total.
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#45 Post by disciple »

There shouldn't be anything different to see. We're just setting up keybindings which make it easy to manage windows e.g. put them side by side using half the screen each. In my case this eliminated the need to split the screen and truly emulate side by side monitors.

Try out the keybindings. Hold down the Windows key and press 6 on your number pad.

If you really need to emulate side by side monitors, e.g. so the maximise button maximises to half the screen, and you can have a separate taskbar on each side, showing only the applications on that side, you'll need to investigate using xephyr or something*.

* I wouldn't be surprised if a serious X hacker could achieve this without the complexity of that approach - I think there was actually an experimental window manager which did it, or something very similar, but the project had been abandoned, and when I tried it I gave up on it.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#46 Post by edoc »

It's not responding & it's late so I'll shut down & try again in the morning before I head into work for a few hours.

There's a simple program that does what I want in our son's Microsoft version of windows, so I'd be shocked if the same was not available for the superior Linux version of windows.

We'll see ...

Thanks - David
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#47 Post by disciple »

I'd be very interested in learning more about that program.
Or are you just talking about "aero snap" - i.e. drag a window to one side of the monitor and it will resize it to fill that half of the screen?
In the list of possible solutions in my first post that is what I was talking about with options 2 and 3 - some window managers have this feature built in, or you can run opensnap to provide it.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#48 Post by edoc »

disciple wrote:I'd be very interested in learning more about that program.
Or are you just talking about "aero snap" - i.e. drag a window to one side of the monitor and it will resize it to fill that half of the screen?
In the list of possible solutions in my first post that is what I was talking about with options 2 and 3 - some window managers have this feature built in, or you can run opensnap to provide it.
It's called "Screen+"

It comes on the disc included with the AOC monitor but is for MS versions of windows.

I may be able to zip and send it to you if you'd like to see if it could be posted to Linux.
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#49 Post by disciple »

Don't worry about zipping it - I've actually just found it online, but I only have immediate access to Windows 10, on which it won't run, so I watched a demo on youtube instead.
Essentially it enables tiling window management on Windows, with a gui to easily change the layout on the fly.

If using opensnap and/or shortcut keys like mine isn't good enough for you then you'll need to find a tiling window manager that you like. There are loads of tiling window managers for linux, and unfortunately I can't recommend any in particular as once I had those shortcut keys I was happy and stopped looking into them.

FWIW I know the minimum features I would like in a tiling window manager, and I know that they aren't always all supported:
- not tiling by default.
- an easy gui to change the layout on the fly! When I was first looking this seemed quite rare. I know Bluetile (which is really Xmonad underneath) provides this, but surely there must be others... (there are a couple of tiling extensions for Gnome Shell which I guess would do it, but I wouldn't want to run Gnome Shell).
- "normal" window decorations and display of program icons in the title bar.
- easy to install and setup
- supporting/not interfering with normal shortcut keys.
When I was first looking, I was looking for an integrated panel, with support for standard tray icons, start menu built from .desktop files, etc. A lot of window managers don't include a panel, so I should really just have looked for something that would play nicely with lxpanel.

BTW X-tile is another separate program that provides tiling, but its approach looks a bit unwieldy to me.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#50 Post by disciple »

disciple wrote:- an easy gui to change the layout on the fly! When I was first looking this seemed quite rare. I know Bluetile (which is really Xmonad underneath) provides this, but surely there must be others...
Apparently dwm allows you to change layout via a tray icon, so I should probably try it sometime, and maybe spectrewm.
I was planning to try bspwm, but I can't really remember why.
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

Post Reply