Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 18:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
pupsave.2fs not loading
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
hendrikus

Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 59
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 02:27    Post subject:  pupsave.2fs not loading  

Some user questions

Startdust 007 was the only puppy worked out of the box on Compaq cq020 and hpmini... great... but it doesn't load the saved pupsave.2fs after reboot. Means that documents are lost. When I open the USB drive it shows the file in the correct size.

I created the USB using unetbootin and already changed initrd=/initrd.gz pmedia=usb pfix=ram

I downloaded go00432.sfs and placed it in the root directory, but also this program doesn't load. Do I need to upload another go file?

Thanks in advanced
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 08:21    Post subject:  

pfix=ram Your telling it to load strait into ram without loading any .sfs that includes the pup save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hendrikus

Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 59
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 10:41    Post subject: Solved  

Thanks a lot,

runtt21 wrote:
pfix=ram Your telling it to load strait into ram without loading any .sfs that includes the pup save file.


I just followed the installation instruction:
Quote:
BE AWARE!!!!
If you have Puppy installed, you MUST run this with the prefix 'puppy pfix=ram'. Else, the Stardust desktop will not install.


Is that only needed when you start Stardust007 the first time?

I changed it and the pupsave.2fs is loaded now, the openoffice doesn't work, maybe because it's for 432.

Regards Hendrikus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 10:59    Post subject:  

Try moving the gooo432.sfs to mnt/home then the next time you boot it should ask you if you want it to load at boot up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hendrikus

Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 59
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 11:11    Post subject:  

Hi

runtt21 wrote:
Try moving the gooo432.sfs to mnt/home then the next time you boot it should ask you if you want it to load at boot up.


Thats what I did, when I reboot the system I got the question to install, thats what I did, rebooted again, but can't find OpenOffice, not in the menu, not on the desktop, and even not show in the Pmenu program to add it to the menu.

I try to download the 3-puppy pet OpenOffice now..... maybe that works.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 11:39    Post subject:  

before you do that look in /usr/share /applications and see if the .desktop files are there for the parts of OO , If they are see if they will launch by clicking on them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
hendrikus

Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 59
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 12:08    Post subject:  

No, there no OpenOffice or something similar in /usr/share /applications, when I start the system it doesnt load it either, the file gooo432.sfs is still in mnt/home......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
runtt21


Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1649
Location: BigD Texas

PostPosted: Sat 06 Feb 2010, 12:52    Post subject:  

The only other thing to do is to mount the .sfs by clicking on it , Then copy all the file over to your system where they go . For example if there is stuff in /bin in the .sfs put it in /bin in your system. Be sure to check for hidden files. After you finish that open the .desktop files to see what the commands are to launch stuff and run each one from the terminal to see if you need any extra dependencies .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0551s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]