Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 16 Oct 2017, 18:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Internet connection through ethernet LAN
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
dearvivekkumar

Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 07:46    Post subject:  Internet connection through ethernet LAN  

I am using dpup linux.
I am trying to connected to internet via LAN in my collge, i have set up up connection.
And in mozilla I have set my proxy setting.
when i am trying to open any website its ask for username
and password, after giving the correct username and password it agin asking.....

The same problem i was getting with Ret hat linux in the same PC, but in that i got resolve when i had set by hostname in network configuration as the name provided by the administrator which we are using in the window.

what corresponding changes i have do here in the puppy linux.

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2946
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 09:50    Post subject:  

I am using puppy 4.3.1

If you use the network wizard to setup your connection then the following may help

I had a quick look at /usr/local/net_setup/usr/sbin/net-setup.sh. I looks like the dhcp calls are not using the -h option to include the host name in the dhcp request.
modifying all the dhcp calls to include
-h $(cat /etc/hostname)

If you use pwireless or pwireless2 then these probably have similar calls though without checking I couldn't say whether they include the hostname in the dhcp call already.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dearvivekkumar

Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 07:22    Post subject:  

But i am using static ip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dearvivekkumar

Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 07:24    Post subject:  

In the network wizard i have selected my etho
and in the static IP
i have given all the information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0260s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]