Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 04:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Stardust 007
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 13:12    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
zigbert wrote:
technosaurus
MhWaveEdit is already included for 008. - Thank you so much.

As ttuuxxx, I wonder about the glib. MhWaveEdit works with the old version. I see that your glib compile is much smaller, and that is of course interesting........but, is it safe ???


Sigmund


Well glib is okay to change but you'll have to update a devx, and remove the older parts and add the newer ones.
ttuuxxx
This sounds a bit over my intentions. - I have not touched the devx. I'll leave it for now......


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10826
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 13:19    Post subject:  

Nice reduction of icons Smile

Oh here's a WMA plugin for BMP I had to patch it for gcc4 to work, lol
ttuuxxx
bmp-wma-0.1.1-i386.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  bmp-wma-0.1.1-i386.pet 
Filesize  62.56 KB 
Downloaded  664 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 13:26    Post subject:  

I have updated to the latest uget (pet from ttuuxxx). Then did like ttuuxxx told, - removed getez and pwsget. You guys know much more than I do, so I better listen carefully.

I will replace calcoo with galculator.



Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 15:27    Post subject:  

Where has the main tray volume control gone?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 15:42    Post subject:  

I have to download it 007 again. sfs file corrupt it told me.

I was totally immersed in getting SuperOS going in frugal install.

By pure luck I must have managed to get all teh menu.lst info to be correct by mirroring what others had suggested for other linuxes.

Think it was a guy asking about how to do mint install and I could take that info and make it work for frugal too. It crashed some three times before I by accident got it right.

sorry back to Stardust.

I test it within an hour and give feedback from my HP/Compaq and maybe the Acer D250 too.

Edit from within Stardust 007 on my HP/Compaq

Wired worked, have no wireless on the desktop.

In Acer I failed to get the wired connection going.
Wireless has the led on so most likely it works but does not show the neighbors strength but the names of their locked accesspoints.

svtplay.se works good but nrk.no TV does not work. Plugin is missing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZU1GrR5ET5k works very well fast and good sound but like always. Linux has lower output on same source.

shutdown of Acer takes longer time than usual.

But I really like the look of Stardust.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 17:21    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Where has the main tray volume control gone?


DaveS,

Maybe click on the blank space next to wireless. I needed to do that in 006, although it's there in 007.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 17:32    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Where has the main tray volume control gone?


DaveS,

Maybe click on the blank space next to wireless. I needed to do that in 006, although it's there in 007.


Yes, that brings it up. Thats just plain wierd Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 17:52    Post subject:  

I'm posting from a full install of Stardust 007, it's looking very good so far, only a couple of minor quirks, or perhaps one quirk and a bug. The wireless icon in the main tray shows wifi as down although Pwireless 2 connects, a click on the icon changes it to active. More serious, when I select ' Power off ' at shutdown I get the ' Puppy is shutting down ' message for 5 or so seconds, then repeats of ' modprobe: FATAL: /sys is not mounted ', followed by ' requesting power down ' and ' system halted ' with a blinking cursor. I can shut the laptop down with it's power button, and it boots normally when switched back on. Any thoughts/suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 19:06    Post subject:  

Does it complete if you <ctrl alt-backspace> to prompt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10826
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2010, 22:00    Post subject:  

I used stardust for about 7hr, lol every time I type stardust I type startdust, Like the 8 time already,lol
anyways all my desktop drive icons on the bottom disappeared, most the time on other puppy versions you click /root/.xinitrc and it refreshes them. Not with stardust, I had to restart X-server. But the second time loading live from the cd I had a desktop background.
All in all not a bad puppy version, a couple small quirks, but nothing serious.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1803
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 02:02    Post subject:  

Ziggy, new dir2pet for 4.3.1 and above

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=388269#388269

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 04:21    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
Does it complete if you <ctrl alt-backspace> to prompt?


jpeps, tried your suggestion, no change. Trying to enter a command - any thoughts? - at the flashing prompt just kicked the process into life without waiting for a ( I presume ) timeout, but still ended with ' system halted '. A couple of extra things I've noticed, /sys is mounted, at least it shows the green spot, and I got a glimpse, too quick to read, of an application running according to the main bar before it switched to the text shutdown screen.

EDIT: Sorry jpeps, misunderstood your post - only on my first cup of coffee here in the UK! - <ctrl/alt/backspace> and entering 'poweroff' at the prompt just gets the same result. As I'm running a full install as opposed to frugal I wonder if that's why I'm the only one who seems to have this bug?

FURTHER EDIT: Just tried a reboot. Successful, but still getting the ' /sys not mounted ' message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 05:21    Post subject:  

Well again I had troubles with downloading.

This may explain a few odd problems of a running nature that some experience.

I've downloaded so much I've become savvy as to whether downloads will complete correctly.

Now, stardust 007 did not download correctly on 3 attempts, yes it was all there and md5sum was correct but it would not copy or load correctly.

Usually the kernel load was the problem.

I finally had one running but it was obvious something was wrong, so I again deleted it.

I then watched a download complete smoothly and the resultant iso loaded successfully.

This has been running OK since BUT it is slow to start and slow to shutdown, particularily at the pupsave before signoff.

I can't say for sure what's wrong but it is slower at the routines for running, once going it is OK.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 06:52    Post subject:  

Q Zigbert.... how does the 'favourites' system work?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2010, 07:25    Post subject:  

Hi Sigmund

There is a bug in Pwidgets.. the Temp_cpu widget.. take a look at the config file and you will see it straight away... won't work on a eee pc.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0945s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0164s) ][ GZIP on ]