Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 22:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Is Instant Puppy possible?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 04:24    Post subject:  Is Instant Puppy possible?  

Barry has offered ACPI as a boot up option
in the new Woof and Quirky
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01355
This is what it is:

Quote:
rc.acpi

-------

Runs the daemon 'acpid'.

This is a daemon that provides certain ACPI management functions. Puppy will still work without it.


Well that does not tell me enough
off to wikipedia . . .
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Configuration_and_Power_Interface

The one that intrigues me is the keep in ram
Which is used in some netbooks, laptops
. . . and is it an option with ATX power supplies modern BIOS?

Puppy runs in ram
Ubuntu is working towards a 15 sec Boot up for its next release

Could this potentially allow us an instant Puppy option?

Advisement required

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 06:10    Post subject: Re: Is Instant Puppy possible?  

Lobster wrote:
Could this potentially allow us an instant Puppy option?

i don't exactly know what you're talking about, but if it is 'hibernation' (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernation_%28computing%29 ), my answer would be no, as the kernel is not configured like that (neither actual puppy nor actual quirky kernel).

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 09:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
i don't exactly know what you're talking about,


Now there are two of us Embarassed

Quote:
but if it is 'hibernation'


It is.
What I am asking (assuming a different kernel config)
can hibernation be used on modern PC's as well
as some laptops?

I seem to remember it was either not possible, feasible
or required high overheads and was abandoned
for this or other reasons.
I am sure it has been discussed before.

. . . however it might be possible with a different kernel?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1296

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 12:13    Post subject: hibernation problematic  

I think, without going into a great deal of detail, the difficulty is that the way suspend or hibernation is implemented depends on what the BIOS does, which, in turn, depends on proprietary information tied to the manufacturer and Windows.

The real solution is to replace the BIOS, if the manufacturer provides information which makes this possible. Amazingly, the coreboot project has done this for a number of motherboards. (Unfortunately, OLPC seems to be the only such laptop. ) Couldn't we offer a Puppy kernel as a "payload" for coreboot?

Note: the possibility of selling large numbers of motherboards for high-performance computing clusters caused manufacturers to disclose information for motherboards used in bids for these. The possibility of installing a Puppy kernel through coreboot has tempted me to buy one of the obsolete servers now glutting the market. Time to take my medication, again.

Added: I forgot to mention that Jemimah has suspend to RAM working on Puppeee beta. You can simply close the netbook, and suspend. So far, it seems reliable. This is, of course, only for the ASUS Eee-PCs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 12:30    Post subject:  

You can test suspend on any machine with acpi. You just need to download acpitool from here:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31753.

Then try 'acpitool -s' to suspend. Hibernation is 'acpitool -S' but it won't work if hibernation support is not in the kernel.

You'll probably have the best luck on newer machines with newer kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DMcCunney

Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 13:36    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
You can test suspend on any machine with acpi. You just need to download acpitool from here:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31753.

Then try 'acpitool -s' to suspend. Hibernation is 'acpitool -S' but it won't work if hibernation support is not in the kernel.

You'll probably have the best luck on newer machines with newer kernels.

Suspend to RAM works on my old Fujitsu Lifebook p2110 running Puppy 4.31.

Suspend to disk does not, which is not a surprise.
______
Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 14:19    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
You can test suspend on any machine with acpi. You just need to download acpitool from here:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31753.

Then try 'acpitool -s' to suspend. Hibernation is 'acpitool -S' but it won't work if hibernation support is not in the kernel.

You'll probably have the best luck on newer machines with newer kernels.
On my thinkpad R40 I use often acpitool -s to my satisfaction.
Acpitool had to be installed separately and does apparently not defpend on a puppy version.
The one I use now is dpup484b4

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0964s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0339s) ][ GZIP on ]