Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 10:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
XP-installer for Puppy 1.0.7 / 1.0.8r1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar 2006, 21:19    Post subject: Bad press about Puppy Linux and WinGrub  

You should include some warnings about editing boot.ini and defrag problems to the next version. I found this news article about problems someone had when editing boot.ini when the XP installer didn't work.
Also, I haven't looked around for the answer, but does this installer also work with other NT-based versions (Windows NT 4+, 2000, 2003 server)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 13 Mar 2006, 21:43    Post subject:  

I should add an option to remove the Puppy-entry automatically from c:\boot.ini.

Other NTs: I think someone tried it with Win 2k or ME.
Try at own risk, Do backup.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
papakanush


Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 42
Location: St. Louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Wed 15 Mar 2006, 10:44    Post subject: Tried XP installer for 1.07  

Just to let you know that I tried out the XP installer for version 1.07, tried out a few things (mostly only those a newbie like me would understand) and it all worked great. First I had copied my pup001 file to a safe location in widows first, downloaded a new, fresh pup001 onto the c-drive. After I found that it worked, I copied the pup001 file that had all my configurations, files, etc. back to the c-drive, re-booted into puppy (by the way, the grub boot loader worked fine too) and everything came up just like I like. Now I have a dual boot system with XP and Puppy on the same NTFS partition without having to use a startup disk.

Puppy really is the best !! Very Happy

P.S. I have this on my work laptop IBM R40. All my work stuff has to be on XP, and I can do all my personal work on Puppy. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maltje

Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 12:13    Post subject:  

I used puppy linux installer on my laptop but after a while I got the next error
PCI:Using configuration type 1 and all is hanging!!!!
Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 12:21    Post subject:  

maltje, more details please.

1.) What Puppy-version did you install?
2.) When do you get the error?

3.) Can you choose between Windows and Puppy, when the computer starts?
4.) Do you get the error, when you choose Puppy, or also when you choose Windows?

5.) Did you install the Patch?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maltje

Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 12:25    Post subject:  

after rebooting I can choose between XP or puppy
I don't know wich version I just started puupy linux installer.

found existing C:\Program Files\Puppy-Linux Installer for Windows XP\resource\image-patched-1.0.7.gz
using C:\Program Files\Puppy-Linux Installer for Windows XP\resource\image-patched-1.0.7.gz

done, patch was copied




I also tried to start from cd but then I have an error telling me that a file is missing
usr_cram.fs
Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 12:44    Post subject:  

the installer uses a grub-bootmenu especially made for Windows.
But it does not work with every situation.

Instead of "1.0.7", you also can try "1.0.8r1" , but I fear that will give the same error.

I just saw your other thread:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=8484

You can install Puppy2 to the harddisk, it will install it's own version of grub.
Reports in the Forum say, that the version in Puppy2 is more reliable.

Puppy2 has a program "gparted", that can format your second partition for Linux.
But you won't even need to do that, it also should support a second type of installation, that just copies the files from the CD to the harddisk (which is the better solution for different reasons).

Puppy2 also might work in your USB-CDrom, as the USB-things are completely new.

I would suggest, to try Puppy 2 in your situation Smile
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maltje

Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 12:52    Post subject:  

The second problem(booting from cd) is with puppy 2 (seamonkey)!!!! Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 12:55    Post subject:  

yes.
Also see here:
http://dotpups.de/puppy-releases/2.00/ISO/
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 13:03    Post subject:  

Then it gets difficult.
You could try these instructions:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/InstallingPuppyOnNTFS

or better this newer one:
http://ph-islands.net/pupinstall/winxp.php

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maltje

Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 13:34    Post subject:  

I burnt another cd just to try
put in the laptop and sqtarted it.
A whole lot a wors on my screen,so thats ok
after a while hanging again on
ACPI:PCI root bridge [PCIo](0000:00)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 13:46    Post subject:  

I think Puppy1 uses ACPI by default, Puppy 2 does not.
So if you try puppy1, try the help (F1?) at boot, I think you can pass the command "acpi=off".
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
maltje

Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 13:57    Post subject:  

puppy 1,is the oldest?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maltje

Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun 2006, 14:28    Post subject:  

with F1 nothing happends.
To many problems to go on with I guess.
Thnx for the help,if you think at something else you can always let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Zook

Joined: 26 Apr 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 18 Aug 2006, 00:08    Post subject:  

Soo umm... i have this installed right now... running fine... is there anyway to make it so it boots the -LATEST- version of Puppy instead of just Puppy 1.0.7

(No cd's to just burn it)

And i need the answer in less then 24 Hours :X

-Zook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0715s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]