Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 12:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
XP-installer for Puppy 1.0.7 / 1.0.8r1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Blutack

Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan 2006, 15:34    Post subject: Sorted!  

MU, it's done! On install bl**dy windows had gone and reformatted the fat32 drive to NTFS - without changing something in the partition table. This seemed to mean only complex drive detection stuff that I tried (MUT, QTParted) recognised it as NTFS. Specifically grub was recognising it as unknown file system. Never trust a paid programmer to do a free programmers work..anyway solution is to run cfdisk, change the disk type to NTFS from FAT32 and then "write the partition table" (backup first). It was kinda late at night and I will never forget the amazing feeling of "PuppyLinux1.0.7, uncompressing the kernel.."
Thanks a load for your help. Shuda known it wasn't any Linux problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jan 2006, 15:48    Post subject:  

Fine, thanks for your report Very Happy
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mr Doolie2
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2006, 06:09    Post subject: Re: Grub Loader driver issues?  

Blutack wrote:
Hello! I am a newbie who just installed using your great thing. However I am booting to the grub prompt


Same problem here but I think I know what MIGHT be the problem.
I use to use a poor man's install with Wingrub, installing everything by hand. If I did this on a clean new install of my Win200 all ran well AS LONG AS I LEFT THE FILES ALONE! As soon as I ran an optimizer on the drive Wingrub popped up all kinda of errors like "Can't find menu.lst" and "sector out of range" and "Bios can not read sector out of range"....something like that.

It seems that if your system puts the files and the boot folder too high on the HDD wingrub can't find them. I would assume that you are installing Puppy on a "used" copy of XP and there are too many files for the boot and such to be put low enough on the drive.
Back to top
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2006, 14:08    Post subject:  

When you run "defrag", you must re-install this version of grub. No big deal with the installer.
To avoid that, install a "real" grub (to the master bootrecord), but that's a bit more complicated (see the many threads in the forum).
The current solution was intended to make installation as easy as possible (2-4 mouseclicks), but it has the mentioned nasty small disadvantage.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2006, 15:19    Post subject:  

MU

I bet you knew I was going to appear here, after our discussion on XP Installer for 1.0.6.

An alternative to installing full grub, to avoid the defrag problem, is to install the grldr file from grub4dos or Wingrub. More details can be found in my posts on this thread:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=3534&start=16
It is not complicated and nor does it play with the MBR like a full grub install.

ICPUG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mr Doolie2
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2006, 07:17    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
An alternative to installing full grub, to avoid the defrag problem, is to install the grldr file from grub4dos or Wingrub.


That's the one I was using; the Wingrub grdldr . No good (for me anyway). Whether it's a clean install or a re-install it will not work for me if the drive has more than 2 gigs or so of files. Sectors out of range, menu.lst not found and so on.
Back to top
Mr Doolie

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2006, 08:34    Post subject: Ignore that previous message!  

This is a formal announcement to tell the world that I am a clone.

I scraped the dried boogers from my glasses and actually *READ* the error messages(s) I was getting. Didn't write it down but it was right after wingrub displayed the line that loads Puppy and said something like:
Error 19: Selected cylinder is out of range of BIOS.

"You stupid computer", says I, "the puppy BIOS hasn't even loaded yet!"
[Sticks a long screwdriver into ear and tightens brain]
BIOS! The little square thing with the battery on it inside the confuser! DUH!
[Checks BIOS setting for HDD]
HDD was set for "Auto" and shows 8 heads.
[Sets HDD type to "LBA". Head count jumps to 255].

OK, Puppy boots just fine now.

So I guess the problem was that the optimized files *were* too high on the drive but only because my BIOS thought I had an itty-bitty 2-Gig HDD.
------------------------------
Why has the system been working fine for well over a year? Winblows must ignore the BIOS settings and check things out for itself.

Maybe THAT'S why fdisk won't partition my drive over 2 gigs!
------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusions:
1) I am a clone.
2) Don't trust the Auto settings in your BIOS.
3) If Wingrub stops working check your BIOS settings.

EDIT:
I just did a major optimization of my HDD and Puppy still boots fine. Looks like it was that BIOS setting that was the problem. Guess I'll dig though all the setings and see what else might be fixable. Stupid confusers. Stupid Winblows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2006, 17:44    Post subject: XP-Installer for 1.0.7  

Thanks for creating this program. I used with my older PUppy 1.0.6 by just plugging in 1.0.6 in the window and it worked well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2006, 18:32    Post subject:  

Worked very nicely for me Very Happy on my XP laptop (FAT32) so THANK YOU. I had previously been booting Puppy from a CD.

It kept my wireless connection settings, presumably because it still uses the same pup001 file, so that was good.

I let it download the 60M+ Puppy file, but as it was nearly finished, I then wondered if this was necessary, as I already had Puppy 1.0.7 files on my CD. I thought they might be different, so I just carried on letting it do the work.

If they are the same, it might be helpful to tell the user they can get them from the CD, and have a button for that purpose? I guess anyone doing this install would already have played with the CD version, and thus have the downloaded files available.

[Edit: Now I wonder if there was something saying copy the file(s) but I didn't read it??? Confused ]

Of course if there's a subtle difference in the files then my suggestion is stupid.

Also the Help button for the grub install didn't do anything. I thought I'd read the Help first, but in the end I just went for it. Of course your program is good enough that you don't need the help!!

I think I'll try the equivalent process with my Win 98SE desktop next.

I will now try to find out how to reduce the default 30 seconds before booting....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2006, 18:44    Post subject:  

Thanks for the feedback Smile
Yes, I could add a fileselection-Button for an existing ISO.
The Help - must check that.

The default can be set in c:\boot\menu.lst
Code:
default 0
timeout 10
title Puppy Linux 1.0.7


Or in c:\boot.ini
Code:
[boot loader]
timeout=30


You must "attrib" boot.ini to edit it, see: http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=5857

To use it with Win 98, you need another Grub, and must edit autoexec.bat:
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=5746&highlight=win98

I have no free computer for Win98 here to test, but it should not be difficult to adapt the installer.
It is a short Basic-program "main.wxb".
The Basic-Interpreter is inluded with the installer (wxbasic.exe).
I decided to keep the Basic-code seperate from the interpreter, so people easily can modifiy it.
Puppyinstaller.exe simply runs resource\main.wxb with resource\wxbasic.exe.

Mark http://wxbasic.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 04 Feb 2006, 19:56    Post subject:  

>I have no free computer for Win98 here to test,
How about QEmu, MS Virtual [Whatever] and VMWare?
All free* downloads and any of them will give you a "free computer" to play with.



*Either totally free (Qemu) or at least free for 30 days.
Back to top
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 05 Feb 2006, 05:24    Post subject:  

Mark,

Thanks for the help (again).

If I get you right, it would be necessary to create a new main.wxb (based on your existing one) to use the appropriate commands for a Win98 install, e.g. looking for win98, not XP/NT at the beginning, and editing the autoexec.bat as necessary, running the appropriate grub, and various other changes.

I think I'm a long way from that ability, but I'll read up anyway on the wxbasic.de link you provided.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 03:39    Post subject:  

Grub won't load Puppy.

It says:
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /puppylinux1.0.7/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup001-none
initrd /puppylinux1.0.7/image.gz

File not found.

Unfortunately, I do not know which file grub did not find.

I see these files on C:\
pup001
usr_cram.fs

The folder puppylinux1.0.7 and boot exist.

image.gz and vmlinuz are in puppylinux1.0.7.

I editied the [Bootloader] section of my boot.ini file so that the timeout is equal to 10 seconds.

I saw a line that says:
c:\boot\stage1="Puppy-Linux"
I believe that my C: drive that is an NTFS partition is on my second partition. The first partition has Compaq's Fat 32 recovery tools.

I have a second harddrive with FAT16 and FAT32 partitions.

Is there anything else I can check for you?

I did install the patch after I extracted PuppyLinux but before I ran GrubInstall. Did I click the buttons in the right order?

I'll double check the error message tomorrow. I gotta go now.
Back to top
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 03:50    Post subject:  

The patch will not work in your case, as it uses hda1 as c:\
You could try to extract the puppy-iso again to recreate the original image.gz (first button).

And then try other entrys in Grubs menu.lst.
But I am not shure, if and how it will work.
I googled for that issue,and just found messages reporting, that grubinstall can't handle that.

I had a similar problem, I have a second Computer with WinXP.
XP is located on 2 partitions, for example \WINDOWS is on the second one, but boot.ini on the first.
I was not able to get Grubinstall working on this system.
For this reason I installed Linux-Mandriva in addition, that installs a "real" grub to the bootsector.
Like this I can boot all systems.

During the Mandriva-installation I created a 100 MB -partition, that got the Mountpoint /boot
To this partition I also copied vmlinuz and image.gz from Puppy lateron.
And usr_cram.fs and pup001 went to a fat32 - partition.
So in case I delete Mandriva somewhen, I keep /boot and still can boot Puppy or other new systems.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 16:01    Post subject:  

Thanks for the information and suggestion. I will take a look at the menu.lst to see if I can modify something.

If our plan doesn't work, I'll go find a blank CD to make a bootable Puppy CD.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [57 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0884s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]