Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 19:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
lameSMBxplorer v0.2.2 beta
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 05:00    Post subject:  

HI Patriot, there is a bug (I suppose) in latest 0.1.8 beta: if I double right click on a share it answers "unable to mount ....; please check you username/password", both parameters are regularly saved, infact if I double left-click, connect and mount, everything works.
Ah, I didn't try this in previous versions, so I don't know if it used to work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 08:02    Post subject:  

Hmmm .....

eden6000,

Thanks for the report ... but it's actually not a bug. Global username/password is not used for fast mount-n-explore. The reason is to have a standard mount behavior for protected shares, so protected shares needs to be mounted using the normal mount dialog first. Once mounted, fast mount-n-explore (right double-click) will work fine.

HairyWill asked me about this recently and I believe it's better to leave it this way (at least for now) for the more common situations where protected shares in a decentralized peer-to-peer that would need different credentials (as the global credential is only good for one centralized resources).

Only protected shares have this limitation. Fast mount-n-explore works fine with open shares ... In the future, I will figure out a better way to handle multiple credentials and remove this limitation ...


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 09:21    Post subject: released: lameSMBxplorer v0.2.0 beta  

Hmmm .....


lameSMBxplorer v0.2.0 beta introduces a new add-on utility: lameSMBqmount and the automount script, rc.smbqmsvc. While they were originally planned as a plug-in addon, it has been re-designed as a standalone utility to provide functionality in areas where lameSMBxplorer could not easily provide without gaining excess cellulite ... lameSMBqmount is meant to allow quickmounting without any scanning function. It also provides the interface for selecting a required shares for automounting on startup.

For this release, they are combined into a single package. In the future, they may be released as individual packages if there's a need ... Kindly go to the first page of this thread to give it a test run. I'd appreciate any input, bugs, feedbacks and suggestions that you may have ...


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 10:28    Post subject:  

Hi Patriot, thanks for your answer, I understand what is the rationale there...btw I tried your latest 0.2.0, very good idea the one of quickmounting a share...actually in my network there are more than a hundred servers, but what I need is, almost always, to access only some specific shares, not all the network...but I haven't been able to automount at startup...parameters are there, I rebbooted, waited some minutes (is there a way to shorten the 120 seconds?), but there was no share mounted on /mnt/network...am I doing something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 11:17    Post subject:  

I checked my bootsysinit.log, it says:
smbqmsvc: Error mounting //ip_address/share
smbqmsvc: Error mounting //ip_address/share
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 09 Feb 2010, 17:25    Post subject:  

Patriot wrote:
Hmmm .....

There were two issues reported previously which have been fixed and currently going through some internal test runs :

1. WinXP shares listing not found (Beem)
2. gencache reset error if copies are found (Will)

I have also requested Beem to help make a few test runs and now am awaiting the test results from Beem. The next update will be released once Beem have verified that the issue have been resolved ...

Update: Haven't heard anything from Beem after several days now, so I'm assuming it's working ok .....


Rgds
I am sorry, but I have been unavailable for some time.

I downloaded the 1.8 beta and installed.

I did following test:
1 - I booted the windows PC without the external HDD (containing share partitions)
This time the shares weren't 'seen' as was the case previously.
So for so good.

2 - I did put the external HDD in the PC and booted.
The shared partitions on the external HDD were seen and could be accessed.
Very nice so.

3 - I rebooted the windows PC without the external HDD ( and thus the shared partitions)
Those shared weren't seen again.
So this is correct behavior.

It seems to me the issue is fixed.
I find smbexplorer is working really nice.

I did download now also the 2.0 beta. But I haven't looked at the quick mount yet.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Tue 09 Feb 2010, 18:05    Post subject:  

hmmm .....

Béèm wrote:
..... I have been unavailable for some time. .....

That's alright, I understand that we all have our time constraints at times ... and thanks for confirming that its really resolved.

eden6000 wrote:
...but I haven't been able to automount at startup...parameters are there, I rebbooted, waited some minutes (is there a way to shorten the 120 seconds?), but there was no share mounted on /mnt/network...

Ok, some clarification is in order. The 120 seconds waiting time is not a fixed delay loop but a dynamic one. On startup, the automount script waits for a valid local network to be configured (for up-to 120secs). Once a valid local network becomes active, it proceeds to mount the shares. If it times out, it just reports that network is unavailable. My tests indicates that a static network setup settles in just a few seconds but a dhcp setup may take up-to 20 seconds or more ...

The additional time delay option provided is a fixed delay loop. The additional delay loop is useful in cases where one have a wifi network as it may take anywhere between 5 to 30 seconds to establish the connection. (btw, I have reduced this option to 30seconds ...)

I looked at the automount script again and found a minor bug. If your share names have spaces in them or have overlapping names, then you may be affected. I've made some minor changes to it so it now prints out additional info if run from the command line :

# /etc/init.d/rc.smbqmsvc start

I'd be interested to know if the updated scripts helps to resolve your situation ...


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Tue 09 Feb 2010, 18:16    Post subject: released: lameSMBqmount v0.1.1 beta  

Hmmm .....

This bugfix release corrects one minor issue for the automounting script.

changelog for lameSMBqmount v0.1.1 beta:
- added (automounting): extra mount info will be printed if it's run from the command line.
- bugfix (automounting): mount list parsing for share names containing spaces or overlapping share names.
- changed (automounting): mount list is now retrieved directly from /proc/mounts
- changed (automounting): additional delay time option reduced to 30 seconds

Note: this update should only be applied to lameSMBxplorer v0.2.0b


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Wed 10 Feb 2010, 03:55    Post subject:  

No way, Patriot....automounting still doesn't work, but if I launch from the command line
# /etc/init.d/rc.smbqmsvc start
it regularly mounts the shares....
this is my bootsysinit.log, if useful (I don't see anything private, so I think I can post it):
Code:

VERSION UPDATE
LOAD KERNEL MODULES
LOAD SWAP
MISC. SYSTEM SETUP
WAIT MODULES LOADED
USER SELECTED MODULES
SETUP SERVICES
RECOGNISE MEDIA DEVICES
Waiting for interfaces to initialize...Loading "it" keyboard map...
Loading /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/it.map
configuring network interface eth0
cheching if interface eth0 is alive...MISC. DESKTOP STUFF
PERSONAL BOOT SCRIPT

/dev/sda:
 setting acoustic management to 192
 acoustic      = 192 (128=quiet ... 254=fast)
yes
cups: started scheduler.
smbqmsvc: Error (255) mounting //192.168.0.91/Scambio
smbqmsvc: Error (255) mounting //192.168.0.91/Settori
Currently the smartmontools package has no init script for
the Unknown OS/distribution. If you can provide one or this
one works after removing some ifdefs, please contact
smartmontools-support@lists.sourceforge.net.
Success!
5 from 192.168.0.100
Debug, eth0: sending DHCP_REQUEST with xid 0x5b212aee
Debug, eth0: waiting on select for 17 seconds
Debug, eth0: got a packet with xid 0x5b212aee
Info, eth0: checking 192.168.0.55 is available on attached networks
Debug, eth0: sending ARP probe #1
Debug, eth0: sending ARP probe #2
Debug, eth0: sending ARP probe #3
Debug, eth0: sending ARP claim #1
12
Debug, eth0: sending ARP claim #2
Info, eth0: leased 192.168.0.55 for 518400 seconds
Debug, eth0: renew in 259200 seconds
Debug, eth0: rebind in 453600 seconds
Info, eth0: adding IP address 192.168.0.55/24
Info, eth0: adding default route via 192.168.0.1 metric 0
Info, eth0: adding route to 169.254.0.0/16 metric 0
Debug, eth0: writing /etc/resolv.conf
Debug, eth0: writing /var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth0.info
Debug, eth0: exec "/etc/dhcpcd.sh" "/var/lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-eth0.info" "new"
Debug, eth0: forking to background
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Wed 10 Feb 2010, 05:16    Post subject:  

Hmmm .....

Ah, yes ... the log is definitely helpful ... I can see exactly where it borks ... Thanks ...

Ok, to temporarily resolve this, you can just enable the "Add 30s delay" option ... The lo device route oversight is causing a premature mounting ... A bug fix should be ready within 24 hours ...


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Wed 10 Feb 2010, 06:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
The lo device route oversight is causing a premature mounting

I supposed too it was something like this....btw I have no hurry, I can wait patiently for your fix Smile
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Wed 10 Feb 2010, 22:04    Post subject: released: lameSMBxplorer v0.2.1 beta  

Hmmm .....

This combined package is a bugfix release that corrects one minor issue for the automounting script where the lo device route (which should be excluded) causes premature automounting attempt.

The package have successfully gone through several rounds of automount tests in a static, dhcp, wifi and mixed network setup. If anyone still experiencing automounting issues, kindly post your bootsysinit.log (zip 'em up please) ...


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eden6000

Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Thu 11 Feb 2010, 03:20    Post subject:  

Good work Patriot, now automounting works like a charm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ejb

Joined: 23 Sep 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar 2010, 13:00    Post subject: problem accessing NASLITE server
Subject description: access denied when accessing files
 

I am attempting to access a naslite server. Naslite does not require or use userids or passwords.
I am able to connect to the server with lameSMBxplorer v0.2.1 beta. I can see the directories
and files on the server. However, when I click on any of the files, I get a permission denied
message. Any idea how to get past this problem??? I can access the files on the server using
a web browser.
Thanks.

PS: I attempted to attach to the NASLITE server using linNeighborhood and it worked.
I noticed that linNeighborhood connected with filemode 644 and dirmode 755.
I don't know if that is relevant, but the result was successful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Patriot


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 734

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 13:57    Post subject: Re: problem accessing NASLITE server
Subject description: access denied when accessing files
 

Hmmm .....

Thanks for the feedback, ejb ... Please give me a bit of time to get a naslite testbed setup to do some connection tests ... I'm a bit short on spare time right now but hopefully I'll be able to resolve this by sometime next week ... (I do appreciate the note on the file access mode, thanks ...)


Rgds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0916s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]