lameSMBxplorer v0.2.2 beta

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
Patriot
Posts: 733
Joined: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 19:04

#106 Post by Patriot »

Hmmm .....

Bummer ... I think nbtscan's timeout is too fast. I'd need your help to diagnose this (in a terminal):

First, check your routes to confirm they're correct:

Code: Select all

# route -n
Next, do some manual scan tests for your samba/windows shares:

Code: Select all

# nbtscan -t 10000 -q -r -s "|" 10.0.0.0/8
# nbtscan -t 5000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/16
# nbtscan -t 2000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
You may need to adjust/tinker with the timeout -t {value} to see how nbtscan cope with your subnet. The default is 1000ms. The nbtscan is a critical function. If it doesn't find anything here, no shares wil be shown either. Also, try adjusting your subnet (like above examples) to see which one works better (or at all).

I have a timing code drawn up based on subnet class but I'd like to know the min/max results for the manual scans above.


Rgds

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#107 Post by Geoffrey »

Patriot,
Here are the results:

Code: Select all

# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 eth0
0.0.0.0         10.1.1.1        0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
# nbtscan -t 10000 -q -r -s "|" 10.0.0.0/8
# 
# 
# nbtscan -t 5000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/16 
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC        |<server>|PUPPYPC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC        |<server>|REPOTEC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.70|SHELLY-PC      |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-88-f2
# 
# 
# nbtscan -t 2000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC        |<server>|REPOTEC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC        |<server>|PUPPYPC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.70|SHELLY-PC      |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-88-f2
nbtscan -t 5000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/16 this is hit and miss don't always find the wireless windows7 laptops, any less than 3000 don't find anything at all

the nbtscan -t 2000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24 gives the best result, I changed the -t 1000, 500, 250, 125

Code: Select all

nbtscan -t 1000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC        |<server>|REPOTEC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC        |<server>|PUPPYPC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.70|SHELLY-PC      |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-88-f2
# 
# 
# nbtscan -t 500 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC        |<server>|REPOTEC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC        |<server>|PUPPYPC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.70|SHELLY-PC      |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-88-f2
# 
# 
# nbtscan -t 250 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC        |<server>|REPOTEC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC        |<server>|PUPPYPC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.70|SHELLY-PC      |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-88-f2
# 
# 
# nbtscan -t 125 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC        |<server>|REPOTEC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC        |<server>|PUPPYPC        |00-00-00-00-00-00
set -t 125 the windows7 laptop drops out, the 10.1.1.0/24 seems to be more of the deciding factor regardless of time.

hope this is of some help to you

Geoffrey

Edit: nbtscan -t from 3000-5000 on 10.1.0.0/16 this is hit and miss don't always find windows7 laptop [10.1.1.70|SHELLY-PC |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-88-f2], it may be that the wireless needs more time

terminal output for lameSMBxplorer reads:

# lameSMBxplorer
Network(s):
10.0.0.0/8
ScanNBT 10.0.0.0/8:

Edit: some more test
# nbtscan -t 10000 -q -r -s "|" 10.0.0.0/8
# nbtscan -t 10000 -q -r -s "|" 10.0.0.0/16
# nbtscan -t 10000 -q -r -s "|" 10.0.0.0/24

it appears that it don't like 10.0.0.0

# nbtscan -t 5000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/16
10.1.1.4|THEBOX |<server>|<unknown>|00-19-db-a1-e0-aa
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC |<server>|REPOTEC |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC |<server>|PUPPYPC |00-00-00-00-00-00
# nbtscan -t 6000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/16
10.1.1.4|THEBOX |<server>|<unknown>|00-19-db-a1-e0-aa
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC |<server>|REPOTEC |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC |<server>|PUPPYPC |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.9|SKYES-PC |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-8c-73

10.1.0.0/16 works best above 5000

# nbtscan -t 1000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/24
# nbtscan -t 5000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/24
# nbtscan -t 10000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.0.0/24
# nbtscan -t 1000 -q -r -s "|" 10.1.1.0/24
10.1.1.4|THEBOX |<server>|<unknown>|00-19-db-a1-e0-aa
10.1.1.3|REPOTEC |<server>|REPOTEC |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC |<server>|PUPPYPC |00-00-00-00-00-00
10.1.1.9|SKYES-PC |<server>|<unknown>|0c-ee-e6-b0-8c-73

10.1.0.0/24 is not a go

10.1.1.0/24 is fine

Hope this don't confuse you , it's starting to with me :lol:

User avatar
Patriot
Posts: 733
Joined: Thu 15 Jan 2009, 19:04

#108 Post by Patriot »

Hmmm .....

Geoffrey,

Thanks for the test results. I can see where it borks now. Ok, the issue that we have here can be divided into two:

1. Your subnet netmask is too large for NBT broadcast. Since you're using a netmask of 255.0.0.0 (class A), the scan will fail no matter what timeout value you use. Class A "translates" to more than 16 million ip address to scan and nbtscan is already having a "plate full" with class B (255.255.0.0) subnets. Using very large timeout values doesn't make much sense for normal use.

My suggestion for your netmask, based on your 10.1.1.x assignments :

a) If all your systems/devices are within 10.1.1.x then I suggest using 255.255.255.0 (Class C) netmask.

b) If you have additional segments, example: 10.1.2.x then you can consider a 255.255.0.0 (Class B) netmask. If it's me, I'd create an additional ip (ex: 10.1.2.1) for the network interface.

2. lameSMBxplorer now specifies a reasonable timeout value for larger subnet (class B = 8000ms). This has been added to v0.2.3 alpha.

Please give the attached pet below a test run and let me know how it goes


Rgds
Attachments
lameSMBxplorer-0.2.3a.pet
alpha release with timeout value for 2nd layer scan
(20.13 KiB) Downloaded 860 times

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#109 Post by Geoffrey »

Patriot,
I've tried the new one but still the same, so I changed the mask as you suggested to 255.255.255.0, this works with the original lameSMBxplorer v0.2.1 beta, I always thought that you couldn't use 10.1.1.x range with 255.255.255.0 as it usually don't like to be setup that way, it did bork at those settings to begin with but does work, it is quite fast at finding the network shares now, within a few seconds far faster than pnethood ever was, it use to take a considerable amount of time, somewhere around the 30 to 40 second mark, this is a vast improvment.

now the only thing I have to do is get the samba sever working properly, as you may have noticed in my previous post, 10.1.1.10|PUPPYPC |<server>|PUPPYPC |00-00-00-00-00-00 , this can be found using xp but I still have to work out the shares and security issues I'm having, would be nice to have a samba package that included a configuration GUI that worked, not to worry it will give me something to work on.

thanks for your help it as been appreciated immensely

Geoffrey

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#110 Post by Geoffrey »

It appears that I'm now having problems with my network , after changing all the devices netmask to 255.255.255.0 I now have trouble connecting to my wireless to Ethernet bridge which is connected to my xbox, when it does connect is runs at a snails pace, it's as I thought that the 10.1.1.x ip and the 255.255.255.0 are a mismatch, while setting it up in puppy I got the warning message

I went to this website to check http://www.subnet-calculator.com

though it is possible to set it this way, it does seem to cause a problems, I've been using the 10.1.1.x ips for the last 5 years with no dramas, I also have a laptop with Ubuntu 10.0.4 which runs quite happily using this ip with full network sharing with windows and linux, It's a shame that puppy seems to have an issue with it, well if worst comes to worst I'll just have to change the network to accommodate it.

just thought I'd let you know that it can be a problem.

Geoffrey

EDIT: I need to keep my 10.1.1.x ip's and they need to be in the 255.0.0.0 range to work, else my servers won't be accessible externally so it seems.
Attachments
error_message.gif
(21.53 KiB) Downloaded 2533 times

jakfish
Posts: 762
Joined: Fri 18 Jul 2008, 19:09

#111 Post by jakfish »

A very fine program. On an Asus eee 900, using Puppy 4.31/jemimah's eee-specific kernel, lameSMBxplorer finds shares on both XP Pro SP3 and Zaurus SL-C1000 (qtopia OS) fast and without fail.

The directory on XP has no user/password and can swap files back and forth.

I have problems with the Zaurus and its /root/Samba shared folder, which also allows rw to guest (no user/password). The Zaurus directory comes up fine, but swapping files either way gives "permission denied" error.

I do not have this problem b/w XP and Zaurus--file swapping is fine. The Z directories come up in XP network. At first, I thought the puppy problem was because /root/Samba contains symlinked directories, but even when I switch samba path to actual directory (/mnt/card), I get "permission denied" when trying to swap files.

So I can see the Z in puppy; I just can't do anything with it.

Any handle to jiggle?

Jake

sheldonisaac
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon 22 Jun 2009, 01:36
Location: Philadelphia, PA

ver 2.3a

#112 Post by sheldonisaac »

(much SNIPpage)
Patriot wrote:Hmmm .....
v0.2.3 alpha.

Please give the attached pet below a test run and let me know how it goes
Patriot, I was going crazy(er) looking for help on this program.

I recently put Puppy Linux 5.1.1 frugal on my Acer Aspire One, and couldn't access files on my Windows 98SE computer.

Somewhere ( _now_ it's obvious that it was here!!) I obtained lameSMBexplorer 2.3a, and have finally got it to see a shared directory on the Win98 computer.

But lameSMBqmount wouldn't work; until I used capital letters for the "server" and the share.

Can you please make finding this easier? eg, via the top? of the thread, as seems the custom here?

Should it not be in the software available through Puppy Package Manager?

I thank you very much for this excellent program.

Sheldon Isaac

Post Reply