Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 23:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:01    Post_subject:  

ahhhh, you are running puppy 3 too, that may be the problem.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:04    Post_subject:  

No 431 the latest version!

Flash drive install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:09    Post_subject:  

hmmm, different shell? just the "sh-3.00#" prompt threw me, never saw that one on any puppy after 4.0.

Ok seems the usb install may be the cause, it is experimental, well seems experiment returned negative results, ok we will find a solution, hopefully for the next version.

Thanks

One more thing, do you get the splash screen warning that you are running a usb install?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jan 2010, 19:13    Post_subject:  

Yes.

I ran it in LxTerminal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 10:19    Post_subject:  

Version 0.1.5 released, better support for usb drive install.
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 04:31    Post_subject:  

abushcrafter,

Could you please test this latest version?

USB installs should work now.

Thank you,

01micko

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 07:43    Post_subject:  

Sorry. Yes I have tested 0.1.5. The drives now appears in the list but the drives that are selected are not mounted at boot Sad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 07:46    Post_subject:  

Ok, thanks for persisting,

I will look into this further... stay tuned over the coming days.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 08:33    Post_subject:  

abushcrafter

I think I found the bug.

If you get time could you please test this experimental release which should fix the usb bug.

Anyone else with a usb install is welcome to test this release.

Cheers

EDIT: Bugfix ver removed, get the latest version...See main post.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 12:31    Post_subject:  

Mounting now works Very Happy! I did set 2 drives to be mounted for the test. The run custom app on startup does not work though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:00    Post_subject:  

Here is a better .desktop file:

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Startmount (mount & run @ boot)
Comment=Mount drives & run apps at boot.
Icon=/usr/local/Startmount/startmount.xpm
Exec=/usr/local/Startmount/Startmount
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-Desktop;
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:04    Post_subject:  

Why better ?

The desktop file is generated from input when petting.

Don't you like the entry, it's descriptive. It's not a desktop app but a filesystem app.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:26    Post_subject:  

tasmod wrote:
The desktop file is generated from input when petting
You can replace the one in your "files to go into a pet" and it will use that one instead when you make the pet again.

tasmod wrote:
Don't you like the entry, it's descriptive.

Its ok. Yes it does have a better description for cases like someone who is not a English speaking native, but it does take up a lot of screen state.

tasmod wrote:

It's not a desktop app but a filesystem app.

I thought X-Desktop was for configuration and filesystem for file managers, search apps, rename apps ,ect. Not for file system configuration?


So maybe "better" was the wrong word, "alternative" is probably a better description.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:28    Post_subject:  

OK, I've cleared my test machine and loaded 0.1.5-1

Set a drive and entered pmusic in the program entry field.

Checked Startup and they are there as entries.

Rebooted, drive mounted , then 2 seconds pause and pmusic opened.

So, I'm unable to replicate the problem.

What program were you entering to start at boot ?

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2010, 13:30    Post_subject:  

artha
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0259s) ][ GZIP on ]