Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter

Filemanagers, partitioning tools, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#151 Post by greengeek »

Is there a way to graft Startmount into a live CD? I got a message saying something like "startmount can not be used in a live environment, you must install Puppy to use it"
(Sorry, that is not verbatim, it was a couple of days ago)

I would like to remaster a live CD so that it will autodetect and automount all available HDDs and usb drives, and startmount looks promising if it can be built in.

User avatar
glene77is
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue 17 Aug 2010, 22:09
Location: Memphis, TN, USA
Contact:

Re: mounting linux file systems on lupu-528.005

#152 Post by glene77is »

shinobar wrote:
shinobar wrote:Tested on a flash install of lupu-528.005.
Same test on Slacko-5.3.3-pae. It mounts at the first try.
/tmp/bootstsinit.log wrote:First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
Success.
Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
mount: /dev/sdd1 already mounted or /mnt/sdd1 busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/sdd1 is already mounted on /mnt/sdd1
Fail.
Shinobar,
Great program.
Thank you for the effort.
Enjoy reading your coding.
Good sense of organization


Works under Slacko 5.3.3 on USB Pen_Drive.
Had to manually 'find' the script, and 'permission' it, then 'exec' it. OK!

Have re-written bootstsinit.log as a sand-box script
to be a wrapper for my own dev code:

Code: Select all


# sand-box.sh
# idea from shinobar 

echo "***  `date`  ***  my_bootstsinit.log " >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

mkdir -p /mnt/sdd1 

echo "First try: mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1" >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1 && echo "Success."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log || echo "Fail."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

echo "Second try: mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1"  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

mount -t ext3 /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1 && echo "Success."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log || echo "Fail."  >> /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log

geany  /var/log/my_bootstsinit.log
8)
Puppy Linux is more fun than a barrel of M$ monkeys :P
www.geocities.WS/glene77is
glene77is --- {^,^} --- electricity is shocking, Memphis, TN, USA.

User avatar
Amaponian
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed 01 May 2013, 03:53
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

#153 Post by Amaponian »

I've got this message (same problem of johofman):

You are running a USB install. Ensure your session is saved for Startmount

I DO have a save file. Save Interval: 180. My puppy is 5.2.8

*************************
I'm starting from a USB flash drive.

Any help?

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#154 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
darkcity wrote:I've noticed it gives a few errors if run from terminal luci 529 puppy-
I didn't see any answer about this issue? :roll:
I get the same running Puppy precise 5.7.1... :?

Code: Select all

sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
ok
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
cat: /root/.startmount/progitem_list: No such file or directory
sh: line 5: echo: write error: Broken pipe
How to get rid of these "Broken pipe" error lines which continue and continue to be written to xerrs.log as long as the program is running?
Thank you!

Cordialement.

Pelo

Startmount sda 3 : pet installed, does the job

#155 Post by Pelo »

Startmount sda 3 : pet installed, does the job
i symlinked a lot of Qt libraries available in my linux partition sda3 to usr/lib . Previously i handly mounted sda3 when arrived to my desktop. Startmount does it during install.
Que demande le peuple ? That is fine :)
I store the pet in my suitcase. i did'nt take time to read the eleven pages, but i am doing it.
Attachments
startmount.jpg
Starmount disponible dans panneau ToOpPy Puppy Linux from France
(14.37 KiB) Downloaded 256 times
Last edited by Pelo on Fri 18 Sep 2015, 15:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
LazY Puppy
Posts: 1934
Joined: Fri 21 Nov 2014, 18:14
Location: Germany

#156 Post by LazY Puppy »

Here is my Script to mount any drive I want to mount:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash -a
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Mount a submitted drive
# 2013-08-06 RSH for LazY Puppy
#------------------------------------------------------------------------------

drive2mnt="$1"
if [ "$drive2mnt" = "" ]; then
	echo "Need a drive to work!"
	echo "No drive (sda1, sdc3 etc.) to mount submitted!"
	exit 0
fi

# Sort out swap and mounted partitions
blkid  | egrep '(hd|sd)' | egrep -v "/dev/loop*" | egrep -v "swap" | cut -f 1 -d ':' | sed 's/\/dev\///'>/tmp/list_of_drives
sort -u /tmp/list_of_drives > /tmp/sorted_list_of_drives
mv /tmp/sorted_list_of_drives /tmp/list_of_drives
for drive in  `cat /tmp/list_of_drives`;
do
	if [ "/mnt/$drive" = "/mnt/$drive2mnt" ]; then
		mkdir -p /mnt/$drive2mnt
		if [ "`blkid /dev/$drive2mnt | grep -o "TYPE=.*" | cut -f2 -d '"'`" = "ntfs" ]; then
			mount -t ntfs /dev/$drive2mnt /mnt/$drive2mnt
			else
			mount /dev/$drive2mnt /mnt/$drive2mnt
		fi
	fi
done 

exit 0
Call:

Code: Select all

mount_a_drive sda1
to mount drive sda1.

Use this line to mount cd drives also:

Code: Select all

blkid  | egrep '(hd|sd|sr)' | egrep -v "/dev/loop*" | egrep -v "swap" | cut -f 1 -d ':' | sed 's/\/dev\///'>/tmp/list_of_drives
RSH

"you only wanted to work your Puppies in German", "you are a separatist in that you want Germany to secede from Europe" (musher0) :lol:

No, but I gave my old drum kit away for free to a music store collecting instruments for refugees! :wink:

Post Reply