Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Jul 2018, 19:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy won't boot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
JOSHUATEAGUE

Joined: 27 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 27 Dec 2009, 13:03    Post subject:  Puppy won't boot
Subject description: I just installed a Zotac PCI graphics card onto a HP501n computer
 

I think I properly put the card in pretty sure. When I booted the computer I got a menu screen asking me to use the space bar to select Linux(on /dev/sda2) so I highlighted it and hit enter and I got a startup message and then thats it the screen went blank. I am totally lost it gave me 2 more options I tried each and same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 779

PostPosted: Sun 27 Dec 2009, 13:14    Post subject: diagnosis of video  

Take you puppy linux CD and boot if you are using 4.3.1 press F2 and then select from that menu puppy pfix=ram. When you get to the video setup select Vesa as the one size fits all until you can track down the requirements for your new video card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12918
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Dec 2009, 14:38    Post subject:  

I agree with ndujoe. The fact that you can see anything on the display means you must have installed the card correctly. It's just a matter of getting the right drivers and setup now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11131

PostPosted: Mon 28 Dec 2009, 04:56    Post subject:  

look for the vga= line and change it to vga=normal in the menu.lst file (in the boot folder)...sounds like your card does not like the framebuffer

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0262s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]