Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 17:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to use Spot restricted user?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 456
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 08:54    Post_subject:  

Step:

I think that was enough to confirm my suspicions. At first, i thought it was a permissions thing with my distro but after reviewing it further it is definitely caused by having your browser run in Spot.

It's a shame because Chromium seems to work quite well for me but the annoyance of having to send files to spot in order to upload is enough to drive me crazy. Chromium and Chrome will not run in root.

Back to Seamonkey and Opera....

Thanks for your input,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 348
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 11:25    Post_subject:  

slavvo67 wrote:
Back to Seamonkey and Opera....
I don't think running them as spot will make any difference than chromium.

You should try searching how to run chromium as root. But that would defeat it's purpose.
The problem you're having is actually desirable and secure way to browse the net.
Not having access yourself will also make it hard to access for others. But that's what I think please correct me if I am wrong.

On second note I seem to remember once I installed a pet and it messed up permissions of some system files I couldn't start Firefox from my desktop shortcut. When I typed firefox in terminal it started but further inspection showed it ran as root. when I inspected my desktop icon it points to 'firefox -spot'. I typed that in terminal and it didn't run. After the author of that pet corrected permissions it could run both way. So that might be a way to run from terminal. I am quite new to Linux so I may be wrong.
Oh.. I use Fatdog64-630.

hope that helps...

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 456
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Thu 15 May 2014, 00:20    Post_subject:  

I guess what I meant is that I can run Seamonky or Opera (not as Spot) and be ok. Chrome / Chromium will not run as root but the other two will.

Thanks for your help.

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5390
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 May 2014, 09:12    Post_subject:  

About root, spot and fido
file:///usr/share/doc/root.htm

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 348
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sun 18 May 2014, 02:50    Post_subject:  

bigpup wrote:
About root, spot and fido
file:///usr/share/doc/root.htm
couldn't find it in Fatdog64-631.
is there an online version?

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 294

PostPosted: Sun 18 May 2014, 20:08    Post_subject:  

slavvo67 wrote:
I guess what I meant is that I can run Seamonky or Opera (not as Spot) and be ok. Chrome / Chromium will not run as root but the other two will.

Thanks for your help.

Slavvo67


It is very easy to get Chrome/Chromium to run as root. See

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=86487

It also works directly in the .desktop file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 May 2014, 22:36    Post_subject:  

neerajkolte, attached is the file /usr/share/doc/root from Precise puppy. I had to change the file name from .htm to .jpeg so the forum would accept it. Just change the .jpeg back to .htm and any browser should be able to open it.
root.jpeg
Description 
jpeg

 Download 
Filename  root.jpeg 
Filesize  7.88 KB 
Downloaded  30 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 348
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 00:30    Post_subject:  

Thanks

@Flash for the file,

@dancytron for the link.

-Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0595s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]