(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 27 Sep 2020, 00:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
BCM4312 and Puppy431 on Lenovo s10-2 [SOLVED]
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [60 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 15:02    Post subject:  

Any new hint in 2010?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11331

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 16:18    Post subject:  

Erm..I think this discussion drifted onto another thread or the email notification never got sent

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 18:35    Post subject:  

jojonouvo wrote:
# lsmod
Module Size Used by
b43 127240 0
...
wl 1275072 0

Both the b43 and wl modules are loaded, and this will obviously create a conflict. It might (?) be possible to unload the wl module, but then it's likely that the b43 needs to be unloaded/reloaded.

You could possibly set PREFLIST in BootManager to use the b43 in preference to wl, but the PREFLIST function only works properly after applying a certain hotfix ... and I'm not sure if jrb's version of Puppy includes this hotfix
... it's getting too confusing.

The best thing to do would be to go back to Puppy 4.3.1 and try to load the b43 module in an environment where the wl module is not installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 19:03    Post subject:  

Thanx tempestuous, I'm using the original Puppy 4.3.1, not jrb's version.
I'm able to unload wl and then load b43 but what should I do next?
The wizard still doesn't see eth1..

By the way, tell me if you think I should buy a card that's known to work, it's cheap and maybe we wouldn't need to bother that much on broacom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5472
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 21:35    Post subject:  

jojonouvo wrote:
I'm able to unload wl and then load b43 but what should I do next?

Well let's double-check this: the b43 module can only load successfully once the wl module has been unloaded.
So if they're both loaded, then you must unload both, then reload the b43 module.

Then check if a new (wifi) interface has been created with
Code:
ifconfig -a


If no new interface, then run this diagnostic command
Code:
dmesg

and look for clues about how the b43 module loaded.


jojonouvo wrote:
if you think I should buy a card that's known to work, it's cheap and maybe we wouldn't need to bother that much on broacom.

Yes, this would be the ideal solution. Broadcom wifi devices have an unhappy history with Linux, and Broadcom has still not fully released its source code (the proprietary driver includes a closed-source binary file).
The situation becomes worse when vendors like Dell and HP mess with the hardware specs.
And in your situation, we're dealing with an "oddball" model.

I'm not up to date with current wifi adaptors, but generally the Ralink-based miniPCI and Cardbus devices are well regarded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11331

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jan 2010, 21:49    Post subject:  

If its the original puppy and you have added wl which is what I'm seeing then ssb will still be in there conflicting with wl.ko and the b43 is not happy with your card as otherwise why have the wl module in the first place. so
rmmod b43
and
rmmod ssl
modproble wl

as per the way with the original setup.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jojonouvo

Joined: 10 Mar 2008
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 08:05    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
If its the original puppy and you have added wl which is what I'm seeing then ssb will still be in there conflicting with wl.ko and the b43 is not happy with your card as otherwise why have the wl module in the first place. so
rmmod b43
and
rmmod ssl
modproble wl

as per the way with the original setup.

mike


Yes I managed to disable ssb when I tried the commands.


Quote:
Well let's double-check this: the b43 module can only load successfully once the wl module has been unloaded.
So if they're both loaded, then you must unload both, then reload the b43 module.

Then check if a new (wifi) interface has been created with
Code:
ifconfig -a


If no new interface, then run this diagnostic command
Code:
dmesg

and look for clues about how the b43 module loaded.


ifconfig -a gave:

Quote:

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


and dmesg:

Quote:

pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: cs: IO port probe 0x820-0x8ff: clean.
pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: cs: IO port probe 0x3e0-0x4ff: clean.
pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: cs: IO port probe 0x100-0x3af: excluding 0x200-0x207 0x220-0x22f 0x330-0x337 0x388-0x38f
pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: cs: IO port probe 0xa00-0xaff: clean.
pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket0: cs: memory probe 0xa0000000-0xa0ffffff: clean.
pcmcia 0.0: pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0
eth0: remaining active for wake-on-lan
lib80211: common routines for IEEE802.11 drivers
lib80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
evdev.c(EVIOCGBIT): Suspicious buffer size 511, limiting output to 64 bytes. See http://userweb.kernel.org/~dtor/eviocgbit-bug.html
cfg80211: Using static regulatory domain info
cfg80211: Regulatory domain: US
(start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
(2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2700 mBm)
(5170000 KHz - 5190000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2300 mBm)
(5190000 KHz - 5210000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2300 mBm)
(5210000 KHz - 5230000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2300 mBm)
(5230000 KHz - 5330000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 2300 mBm)
(5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (600 mBi, 3000 mBm)
cfg80211: Calling CRDA for country: US
Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PMLR, Firmware-ID: FW13 ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11331

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jan 2010, 08:55    Post subject:  

Well that shows the b43 loaded but you say it does not work so why not try the wl since you have it there but b43 and ssb need removing first.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lowcam

Joined: 20 Jun 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jan 2010, 01:05    Post subject:  

JRB, thanks for the iso!!! I have an s10e that I have had problems with connecting to my WPA2 router. The iso worked great! Thank you!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jan 2010, 15:10    Post subject: Thanks  

Thanks for making the iso file available, jrb. Wireless now works perfectly on my Lenovo S12, with WPA2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
daftdog


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 120
Location: Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 04:27    Post subject: Thanx, jrb  

Thanks for the bcm4312 iso, jrb. Bought an old laptop (Acer Extensa) on ebay for parts only to find it had the BCM94312MCG wireless chip. Tried several flavours of Puppy and a few workarounds before loading your iso. Now working flawlessly.
Even lets me turn off wireless with the button on the front of the laptop (something I've never had work before using Puppy)!

_________________
"We are monkeys with money and guns." Tom Waits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11331

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jan 2010, 05:58    Post subject:  

You must have done something right jrb...you will not be popular Laughing

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eponyn


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 14:58    Post subject: Wireless almost solved but not quite there  

I've been following this thread and a few others to get the wireless working on my Aspire One D150 and jbr's ISO is the closest to a solution that I've found. I went through the network wizard and it detected my wireless card as eth0. I was able to scan and see the networks around me. I selected my home network, entered the WEP key and DHCP has got the IP address successfully.
For some reason though, all software that requires internet says that it can not find a connection (browser, irc, puppy package manager).
Blinky says that is connected and that is receiving and sending.

ifconfig shows eth0 with inet addr:169.254.63.182
when connected with wired eth1 inet addr:192.168.1.3

I can ping my router with wired but not with wireless connection it returns nothing.

Any ideas? please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eponyn


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 22:25    Post subject:  

Nevermind. Found the problem. My Netgear router seemed to be having problems with identifying the card. I updated it's firmware and now it works like a charm. Thanks for making this ISO!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaDrivel

Joined: 02 Oct 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 03 Oct 2010, 08:54    Post subject:  

Hi there,

as you might guess, i had issues with my Dell Wireless 1395 Card.
After reading through this thread, i got it fixed with blocking the ssb-Module in the Boot-Parameters and using the pup_event_backend_modprobe_fix_to_p43x-1.pet script.
I just didn't really get, why the script is necessary and what exactly it is doing. And if there might be another way to block the ssb-module (maybe even uninstall it)
The reason why I ask this questions is, that since i used to be Windowsuser, I know that every time i changed something in Windows it became slower.

I hope you can take your time so that I learn more about this =)

Thanks,
DaDrivel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [60 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0665s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0164s) ][ GZIP on ]