BoxPuppeee

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#46 Post by 01micko »

Hi jemimah

Code: Select all

MODEL=`cat /sys/class/power_supply/BAT0/model_name`
it returns

Code: Select all

701SD
in boxpuppeee, I just checked. Perhaps you could find it useful for the Fn-F2 bug and perhaps splash an error message.
That is the code I used for the condition of a 701SD in eee-control I worked on with tempestuous.

HTH :)

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#47 Post by jemimah »

Thanks that could be useful.

If you get a chance could you try adding 'acpi_osi=Linux' to your kernel line in syslinux.cfg (or grub if you use that). Apparently this is needed on 2.6.32 but maybe it would help with this problem.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#48 Post by 01micko »

Ok,

added that to the line but no cigar, still crashes, worth a try though

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

dougeeebear
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed 08 Apr 2009, 15:36
Location: Mid-South, USA

#49 Post by dougeeebear »

* please disregard this post *

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#50 Post by 2lss »

First off let me say THANK YOU! This is my favorite distro for the eee 900. Only one small problem,

My university uses wpa2 enterprise encryption for our wireless network. Using puppeee 4.2 I made a wpa_supplicant script and was able to connect without a problem for the past couple months.

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash

rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/* 

wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iath0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf  -B -dd

sleep 5

rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info
rm -f /var/run/*.pid

dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d ath0
When I tried running the same script(other than changing ath0 to wlan0) in boxpuppeee I couldn't connect. When I compared the log from puppeee 4.2 with boxpuppeee I found an error:

Code: Select all

ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Using existing control interface directory.
Added interface wlan0
Daemonize
After searching around I found bugs that suggest wpa_supplicant is conflicting with the mac80211
http://lists.shmoo.com/pipermail/hostap ... 17954.html
I tried changing ap_scan=2 to 1 but it did not make a difference. I also found another report that it may be a kernel issue http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ed-613144/

Has anyone else experienced this? If I can get this working I'm going to upgrade from 4.2 so any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#51 Post by jemimah »

Boxpuppeee has the Pwireless2 network manager, which starts wpa_supplicant when the computer is booted. Running your script is probably trying to start another copy which I imagine is a bad idea.

The Pwireless2 gui doesn't have options for wpa enterprise yet, but you can manually edit it's wpa_supplicant.conf. You can find the file at /usr/local/Pwireless2/wpa_supplicant.conf.

You want ap_scan=1 for ath5k.

Edit the file, then reboot, and it should automatically connect.

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#52 Post by 2lss »

jemimah: Thank you, adding the profile to wpa_supplicant.conf did the trick. After using boxpuppeee for a couple days I'm really liking Pwireless2. The default puppy network manager would always connect me to the wrong network at bootup. :x

One more question, My cursor is very erratic when trying moving small distances, i.e. it's hard to click on small things. I thought it was a problem with the touchpad settings but after I tried changing them it didn't make a difference. I also experience the same issue with a usb mouse so I'm thinking its not a touchpad issue. Do you know what the culprit could be?

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#53 Post by jemimah »

Here's what to try for the mouse: go to http://drop.io/puppeee and grab the vmlinuz-no-elantech kernel. Rename it to vmlinuz and replace the kernel you're currently booting with. Jakfish, who also has an Eee 900, has this problem - caused by some kind of incompatibility between the touchpad and the touchpad driver. I'm not sure why that would affect a USB mouse, but it seems to me that it's highly likely to me that the elantech driver is the problem.

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#54 Post by 2lss »

Thanks jemimah, I tried your kernel w/out the elantech driver and my touchpad works great now. Only problem is that my usb mouse still exhibits the same behavior. When I get a chance, I will dig in and see if I can find the problem.

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#55 Post by 2lss »

Ok, after using boxpuppeee for a week I have a few more questions.

I am having problems trying to connect to bluetooth devices using the bluez bluetooth-wizard. The dongle I am using is a kensington k33348b and is listed in dmesg as: BCM92045B3 ROM. When I plug it in, the btusb and bluetooth modules are loaded automatically. I have also tried loading the modules rfcomm and l2cap but I am not sure they are needed. To start bluetooth-wizard, the first thing I have to do is start dbus by:

Code: Select all

rm -f /var/run/dbus/*
dbus-uuidgen --ensure
dbus-daemon --system
When I start bluetooth-wizard from the terminal I get some gtk errors but I'm not sure if they are related the problem:

Code: Select all

# bluetooth-wizard
(bluetooth-wizard:13451): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_model_filter_set_visible_func: assertion `GTK_IS_TREE_MODEL_FILTER (filter)' failed
(bluetooth-wizard:13451): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_model_sort_new_with_model: assertion `GTK_IS_TREE_MODEL (child_model)' failed
(bluetooth-wizard:13451): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_sortable_set_sort_column_id: assertion `GTK_IS_TREE_SORTABLE (sortable)' failed
(bluetooth-wizard:13451): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
(bluetooth-wizard:13451): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion `G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
The wizard starts up but doesn't list any bluetooth devices to set up.
If I use 'hcitool scan' I get an error 'Device is not available: No such device.' So I have to:

Code: Select all

# hciconfig hci0 down
# hciconfig hci0 up  
# hcitool scan
Scanning ...
	00:1C:CC:FB:B8:D4	BlackBerry 8130
	00:19:1D:CF:12:AD	Nintendo RVL-CNT-01
Even after this, the bluetooth-wizard still doesn't find any devices. Does anyone know what could be causing this problem? I am new to the world of bluetooth so maybe I am missing something.

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#56 Post by 2lss »

I dived back in to the world of bluetooth-wizard today to see if I can get this thing working. After playing around with strace and gdb I got to this point.

Code: Select all

(gdb) disass 20022
Dump of assembler code for function show_browse_dialog:
0x00004c10 <show_browse_dialog+0>:	Cannot access memory at address 0x4c10
Unfortuantely this is beyond my linux skills atm. I will do some reading up to see if I can figure this out.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#57 Post by jemimah »

Sorry I didn't see your message earlier. Bluetooth is supposed to load automatically if you plug your dongle in and reboot - but I haven't tested dongles recently.

If it doesn't load on it's own, try running /root/Startup/bluetooth which should cause all the daemons and the applet to load.

BTW, You need to also run bluetoothd to get the wizard to see stuff. :)

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#58 Post by 2lss »

jemimah: I tried both methods, start w/ the dongle plugged in and running /Startup/bluetooth. Starting w/ the dongle in does automatically load everything but I still did not see my device under bluetooth-wizard. After starting bluetooth the manual way(after a reboot) I saw the problem was bluetoothd. Here is what I get with the debug flag.

Code: Select all

# bluetoothd -nd
bluetoothd[7587]: Bluetooth daemon 4.55
bluetoothd[7587]: Enabling debug information
bluetoothd[7587]: parsing main.conf
bluetoothd[7587]: discovto=0
bluetoothd[7587]: pairto=0
bluetoothd[7587]: pageto=8192
bluetoothd[7587]: name=%h-%d
bluetoothd[7587]: class=0x000100
bluetoothd[7587]: discov_interval=0
bluetoothd[7587]: Key file does not have key 'DeviceID'
bluetoothd[7587]: Unable to get on D-Bus
So after searching, I found this link that explains the problem. http://markmail.org/thread/r47mqsku6xfsz5kp (second page)
I searched for the bluetooth.conf file and sure enough it was in /usr/etc/alsa (???? I don't know how it got there). So I tried moving it to /usr/etc/dbus-1/system.d and /usr/etc/bluetooth but I'm still getting the same error. Is there a different path that bluetooth.conf needs to placed in for dbus to find it?

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#59 Post by jemimah »

Hmmm, I'll have to look closer at the dbus install on boxpupeee. I haven't messed with the configuration, it probably needs tweaking. I opened all the permissions on Puppeee's dbus, but I'm not sure how Gray set it up on boxpup.

I'll get back to you on this. When I get a chance to check it out.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#60 Post by jemimah »

BoxPuppeee 2.1 has been posted.

I updated Pwireless2, the acpi scripts, and bluetooth.

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#61 Post by 2lss »

Thanks jemimah, my bluetooth is now working! The bluetooth.conf in /usr/etc/dbus-1/system.d was still missing, but I just coppied it from the latest puppeee.

One other small thing I noticed (may be my wpa_supplicant.conf) is that pwireless only auto connects to the previously connected network after restarting. I.e. I have a profile for network A (aka home) and network B aka(work), and I am connected to Network A. If I reboot at home, pwireless autoconnects to network A, but if I boot at work, pwireless does not autoconnect to the network. I have to connect to network B manually. After that, I can reboot and autoconnect to B fine but when I go home and boot up, I have to manually connect to network A again. I'm not sure if this is per design, a bug, or my wpa_supplicant.conf file. I will try see if I can replicate this with puppeee and a different conf file. IMO its not related to the kernel bug but I could be wrong.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#62 Post by jemimah »

You need to put in in Roaming mode by pressing the Roam button.

2lss
Posts: 225
Joined: Sun 20 Sep 2009, 23:54

#63 Post by 2lss »

Oh so thats what the roam button does :shock: . I guess I should have read the manual. Thanks for pointing that out, everything is working good now.

Dancer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 29 Apr 2010, 17:39

Re: BoxPuppeee

#64 Post by Dancer »

[quote="jemimah"]By popular request, I've remastered BoxPup for the Eeepc.
Download: http://drop.io/puppeee

Hi.

Am veeeery new to this but I think I have fallen a little in love with boxpup! Not only does it have a look I like, but it's cut back to the things I want in my puppy! (As an aside, why does the default puppy not come with a package uninstaller or is that a stupid question?)

Anyway. am enjoying playing around with boxpup v 4.3.1 but would dearly like to use the one talked about above specifically for my eeepc.

I think things have move on and now all the boxpup stuff has vanished.

Any chance of being able to download it somewhere else?

I personally prefer an iso version (got rather confused with using the individual files) if that's at all possible?

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#65 Post by jemimah »

I've been meaning to update boxpuppeee, but all my time right now is going into getting Puppeee into releasable state.

You can get BoxPuppeee here:http://puppeee.com/files/BoxPuppeee/
And the kernel from here:http://puppeee.com/files/2.6.31.5/
Download all the files (you don't need box.jpg though, that's just a screenshot), so there are 5 files in total you need to get.

The install is not hard! If you already have a bootable usb stick, just copy the files onto it, and it will work. If you don't have one, use Puppy's Bootflash utility to make one, then copy the files onto it.

The reason you can't uninstall stuff is that puppy uses a compressed filesystem to save space, and the compressed filesystems are read-only. So even if you delete files, it only looks like they are gone, but they are really still there, just hidden. You can edit the sfs files, but you have to unpack them, make your changes, then recompress them - and you can't do this while running. So, uninstalling is actually fairly complicated!

Post Reply