Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 02:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Dpup Synaptic Testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 19:47    Post_subject:  

Fresh frugal install on Compaq Presario desktop, installed base dpup5, then patch then synaptic. Tried installing Kompozer, see attachments.

On the plus side, Google Chrome for Linux is here and it installed fine through petget, although I had to go find the exe, no menu entry.
kompozer.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  kompozer.png 
Filesize  28.76 KB 
Downloaded  826 Time(s) 
kompozererror.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.08 KB
 Viewed   2051 Time(s)

kompozererror.png

changesapplied.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.76 KB
 Viewed   2025 Time(s)

changesapplied.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 20:24    Post_subject:  

I also had major problems with Synaptic, I installed Kazehakase and Netsurf and they worked (well, Kazehakase was experiencing segmentation faults). However, when I tried to reboot X restated.......when I tried to shutdown X restarted. Ctrl/Alt/Backspace to the prompt and entered "reboot" and X restarted, entered "poweroff" at the prompt and, you guessed it, X restarted.Did a hard reset, could not get X to work so I reinstalled Dpup again.

On the good side, I also have Google Chrome running in Dpup, posting with it now.See screenie.However, I made a menu entry for mine. Smile

More later.
chrome on dpup-2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  chrome on dpup-2.png 
Filesize  145.26 KB 
Downloaded  877 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 20:51    Post_subject:  

I won't try anything else with Synaptic for now. I'm loving the big-screen puppy tho....
1600x1200.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  1600x1200.png 
Filesize  275.09 KB 
Downloaded  858 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Dec 2009, 21:20    Post_subject:  

Ok the Synaptic problems that are still occurring are not actually synaptic problems, they are the broken Python implementation in Puppy and Dpup, I will fix that, and we should be right...getting there...
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 09:11    Post_subject:  

Ok...hopefully the final one...will be uploaded in about 15 minutes....

Again...thanks everyone for testing...

http://dpup.org/test/dpup482beta5-2.6.30.5/addons/

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 13:15    Post_subject:  

Wiped previous installation and reinstalled full hd installation of dpup482b5 including service patch on an ext4 partition. The only added software is synaptic and sfs installer which was used to install dpup_devx_482.

It works on some packages, but gives error messages on all packages.

Tried Gramps first which downloaded 35 packages and then failed on installation due to python2.4, then I tried python2.4, gcalculator, dolphin, dirdiff, 3dchess, and alexandria. All appeared to download properly and partially installed but failed to complete installation.

Later, I discovered that although 3dchess, gcalculator, and alexandria had error messages that they do appear to work, but don't show up properly on the menu.

Also, I installed Gnomesword and Bibletime 1.6.5.1 which do work although they had error messages and do not show up in the menu.

I'll be happy to wipe the full hd installation again and try installing only packages that you suggest that may help in solving the installation problems.

Cheers,
Jim Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 14:28    Post_subject:  

Some success I guess. Smile

Fresh full install with only the service pack, Synaptic pet and Google Chrome added. I've only installed two small packages....one of which was NetSurf browser.

It does work, but I also got an error message and had to make my own menu entry.Haven't attempted a reboot yet....... Smile

Will install some larger packages later and report back.
error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   69.73 KB
 Viewed   914 Time(s)

error.png

NetSurf.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  NetSurf.png 
Filesize  542.96 KB 
Downloaded  872 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 17:42    Post_subject:  

I've sucessfully installed Streamtuner thru Synaptic, didn't get a picture but had several python errors upon installation. Streamtuner does work though.......after I made a menu entry and made it default to Beep Media Player instead of xmms.

Have a couple of errors when it launches too.....

More later. Smile
shot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   73.1 KB
 Viewed   1835 Time(s)

shot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 22:32    Post_subject:  

I am uploading a new apt, it will not be ready till later today...I have tested it with netsurf and few others, the only problem I can see at this stage is the curious debian/ubuntu practice of including %u in the .desktop file under exec...I have written a script to fix that and will get that together for upload tonight...
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 22:46    Post_subject:  

For the best results with the new apt, would you recommend trying on a fresh install?

Luckily I can reinstall in about 10 minutes so it's no problem. Just looking for the best results. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 22:55    Post_subject:  

Yes, I use a fresh install each test....I know it's a pain, but we might as well get it right.... Smile
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5722
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 23:01    Post_subject:  

Sounds like a great idea to me.

A little word of caution to anyone attempting to do an upgrade......check the packages!
One of the upgrades offered to me included a new 2.6.26.2 Lenny kernel.....not to sure how that would work out.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lwill


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 173
Location: City Of Lights

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 23:35    Post_subject:  

My first try with dpup just to try apt.
Fresh frugal install. 1.5G ram 512M save.
Added dpupbeta-patch.pet and dpup_devx_482.sfs

Try to install apt_synaptic-dpup.pet and get:

"Error, package apt_synaptic-dpup.pet failed to install."

Any guesses/directions?

(re-down-loaded from above link and same thing)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 23:39    Post_subject:  

gposil said:

Quote:
I am uploading a new apt, it will not be ready till later today...I have tested it with netsurf and few others, the only problem I can see at this stage is the curious debian/ubuntu practice of including %u in the .desktop file under exec...I have written a script to fix that and will get that together for upload tonight...


lwill:
The new apt has not completed uploading yet, it will not be complete till later today...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
lwill


Joined: 13 Jun 2008
Posts: 173
Location: City Of Lights

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2009, 23:46    Post_subject:  

Sorry, I jumped the gun. I didn't look close enough at the time.
Even I forget not everyone has a fast connection. I though it was done.
Will try again latter, thank you.
Lyle
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0763s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]