Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Oct 2019, 20:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Dpup482-beta5 testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 37 [548 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1289
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:33    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:

vtpup...can you try Re-run First Start Wizard in Setup menu, and choose Wbar on and apply...and let me know result.

Cheers
Guy


Gaackkkk!! It took out my desktop icons, my new wallpaper, and restarted X, killing a Gimp download from Ibiblio in the Puppy Package Manager. Back to square one!

Seems like we ought to be able to just start up wbar from the config, leaving the rest of our desktop alone.

Also, restarting X without a warning -- or better still, a choice -- is kinda irritating. Especially if you're working on the last chapter in your 500 page book, while uploading pix of your three year old's birthday from your digital camera..... Laughing

But by gosh, it did get wbar started....

Last edited by vtpup on Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11240
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:34    Post subject:  

Hi gposil I came across a xmms/BMP Debian skin, figured you might like it. Its nice and small also.
ttuuxxx
debskin.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.09 KB
 Viewed   1035 Time(s)

debskin.jpg

debfskin.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  debfskin.tar.gz 
Filesize  59.74 KB 
Downloaded  514 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:38    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
gposil wrote:

vtpup...can you try Re-run First Start Wizard in Setup menu, and choose Wbar on and apply...and let me know result.

Cheers
Guy


Gaackkkk!! It took out my desktop icons, my new wallpaper, and restarted X, killing a Gimp download from Ibiblio in the Puppy Package Manager. Back to square one!

Seems like we ought to be able to just start up wbar from the config, leaving the rest of our desktop alone.

Also, restarting X without a warning -- or better still, a choice -- is kinda irritating. Especially if you're working on the last chapter in your 500 page book, while uploading pix of your three year old's birthday from your digital camera..... Laughing

But by gosh, it did get wbar started....


Arrrrgh...sorry about that vtpup... Embarassed I should have warned you, and yes you are right about just starting from Wbar config, but your test does tell me that the fix is easy.

Have you tried the new Gimp version in beta5 addons...

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8716
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:39    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Hi gposil I came across a xmms/BMP Debian skin, figured you might like it. Its nice and small also.
ttuuxxx


We may have to hack that one to a Dpup skin! Laughing

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:41    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx...thanks for that, i'll include it in a pet of extra skins for BMP...
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1289
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:43    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:


Arrrrgh...sorry about that vtpup... Embarassed I should have warned you, and yes you are right about just starting from Wbar config, but your test does tell me that the fix is easy.

Have you tried the new Gimp version in beta5 addons...


No problemo, mate this is a test. This is only a test. Laughing

Heh, I was about to try the new Gimp when when my little buddy wbar intervened...

Will do,

Oh by the way, Open Office 3.0 had me scratching my head until I saw that freaking "Ignore User selection checkbox..." checkbox was checked. I hate that thing.

I don't like computers that ignore what I tell them to do. Laughing Dammit, am I root. or not? Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:48    Post subject:  

Has anyone got any Laptop reports, now that we have a full ACPI daemon running in Dpup...it certainly works fine on the 2 Laptops here...but as we know, that may not mean a thing.... Smile
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:58    Post subject:  

I can confirm the previous report that the latest Wine 1.1.33 works out of the box in Dpup...a pet for it will be in beta5 addons very soon...Oh and Mick I have changed the dpup.org link you mentioned.
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1289
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:02    Post subject:  

Wbar doesn't include the Connect Icon.

A very important use for the Connect Icon is the right click>autoconnect function.

I don't think that function is available anywhere else in Puppy. But if I'm wrong. please let me know. I use it daily, since I get frequent dropouts, and I don't want to go through the whole connection wizard thing again each time I need to restart a connection. Especially with static addressing, and a special DNS setup.

It was a simple click away with desktop icons.

You can't right click a wbar icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:10    Post subject:  

vtpup said:
Quote:
A very important use for the Connect Icon is the right click>autoconnect function.

I don't think that function is available anywhere else in Puppy. But if I'm wrong. please let me know. I use it daily, since I get frequent dropouts, and I don't want to go through the whole connection wizard thing again each time I need to restart a connection.


Very good point...I have figured two ways about that, first an autoconnect button in Wbar and second an Autoconnect Icon in the tray next to screensaver etc...which would you prefer., or do we do both.
autocon.png
 Description   wbar autocon
 Filesize   72.04 KB
 Viewed   519 Time(s)

autocon.png


_________________
Dpup Home

Last edited by gposil on Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8716
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:18    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Wbar doesn't include the Connect Icon.

A very important use for the Connect Icon is the right click>autoconnect function.

I don't think that function is available anywhere else in Puppy. But if I'm wrong. please let me know. I use it daily, since I get frequent dropouts, and I don't want to go through the whole connection wizard thing again each time I need to restart a connection. Especially with static addressing, and a special DNS setup.

It was a simple click away with desktop icons.

You can't right click a wbar icon.


That is a very good point vtpup. I have similar issues with dropouts and do use the right click option to reconnect almost daily. I can't think of a decent work around at the moment but will have a bit of a think.

gposil, will try on an R61e shortly.. however since you have an R60 I don't know if the info will be valuable.... beta 4 worked perfectly on the R61e.

I'll also give it a spin on my eee 701 SD over the weekend. That will test a few things, including the universal installer and/or the BootFlash installer, I'll try both.

So far so good here now, chose Wbar in the first start wizard and immediately changed things (! as I would!) and no problems.

I'll probably use this as my main OS over the coming weeks so if if there is a showstopper I find I'll let you know.

Cheers

WinkEDIT: Tray button

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1289
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:24    Post subject:  

gposil wrote:
vtpup said:
Quote:
A very important use for the Connect Icon is the right click>autoconnect function.

I don't think that function is available anywhere else in Puppy. But if I'm wrong. please let me know. I use it daily, since I get frequent dropouts, and I don't want to go through the whole connection wizard thing again each time I need to restart a connection.


Very good point...I have figured two ways about that, first an autoconnect button in Wbar and second an Autoconnect Icon in the tray next to screensaver etc...which would you prefer., or do we do both.


Both, that way non-wbar users will have a more visible means to do it. Or at least in the tray for sure.

The right click icon method is very obscure. Lots of people don't know about it, and suffer re-entering their network parameters in silence every time they want to reconnect. Before I knew about it, sometimes I'd even reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1289
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:26    Post subject:  

Can't center button paste from Geany to mrxvt.

found out when I was trying to get fancy and run something I probably shouldn't:

Code:
exec /etc/rc.d/rc.network connect 1>&2 ;;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:33    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
Can't center button paste from Geany to mrxvt.

found out when I was trying to get fancy and run something I probably shouldn't:

Code:
exec /etc/rc.d/rc.network connect 1>&2 ;;


It is a known problem with scintilla, the source view highlighter in Geany, supposed to be fixed in next version. In the meantime you can just go to the parcellite tray icon and click on it and select the last clipboard entry, then centre click will work.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8716
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 02:45    Post subject:  

On re-running first boot wizard Wbar seems persistent. If I choose icons I still get Wbar (with the icons), if I select clean screen I still get Wbar, even after a reboot.

The trash icon is still about 10 to 15 pixels too low on my widescreen.

"gcc" with devx loaded works.... will test out new2dir soon.

I disagree with vtpup and think a tray icon should be sufficient for network re-connection issues.

More later... Smile

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 37 [548 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0650s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]