Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 22:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Dpup482-beta5 testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 37 [548 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 19:53    Post subject: Restart JWM  

Will a restart JWM be implemented later?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 20:28    Post subject:    

Got it looking hunky-dory! Fun fun fun. Love wbar!
dpuptop11-30-09.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  dpuptop11-30-09.png 
Filesize  133.39 KB 
Downloaded  544 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 20:44    Post subject:  

Looks great tubeguy, could you get me a copy of your background...
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 20:49    Post subject: Re: Restart JWM  

Béèm wrote:
Will a restart JWM be implemented later?


Sorry Béèm, I forgot it...yes it will be in...

On another note, the APT/Synaptic addon will not be up till tomorrow, and there will also be a Cinelerra 4.1 addon for Dpup.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 21:15    Post subject: Re: Restart JWM  

gposil wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Will a restart JWM be implemented later?


Sorry Béèm, I forgot it...yes it will be in...

On another note, the APT/Synaptic addon will not be up till tomorrow, and there will also be a Cinelerra 4.1 addon for Dpup.
I just found out as a circumvention, that going in jwm configuration can restart jwm as well.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 21:21    Post subject: SFS support  

As far as I know dpup uses sfs4

Puppy 4.31 shows the non supported sfs's. Dpup don't do this?

With puppy 4.31 I converted a sfs 3 to sfs 4, but it isn't seen in the boot manager sfs selection panel. In puppy 4.31 it is seen and can be selected. Any idea how come?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 23:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
Looks great tubeguy, could you get me a copy of your background...

Here ya go!
dpup482beta5-1024x768.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  dpup482beta5-1024x768.jpg 
Filesize  80.22 KB 
Downloaded  503 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 23:37    Post subject:  

Thanks tubeguy...
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 23:49    Post subject:  

Hello, everyone.

Ok, here's a report on my 1st try of dpup-beta5. This is the 1st time I'm doing this systematically, reflexively, with note-taking. So I don't how much of what I'm reporting are lacks / oversights in dpup, and how much of it are lacks / oversights upstream... NB This test is very incomplete.

WARNING [mimicking what is said on Canadian TV for some programs]: This post may provoke depression in viewers so inclined. Viewer discretion is advised.

In any case, here goes. Some good, some bad, some annoying.

Positive:
* screensaver (nice!)
* save to 1.5 Gb DVD-rw ok (great!)
* Abiword 2.8 (with conversion)
* new screenshot script & mini-window for choice of timing (very convenient)
* All programs under calculate sub-menu work fine. (Did this one as a spotcheck. Will check others later.)

Negative:
* Time zones
Canada/Eastern != GMT-5 (shoud be) Canada/Eastern takes me back 6 hours, indicates 12 pm when it should be 6 pm.
( Mind you, ZenWalk and a few others put the Montreal, Canada time zone in the middle of the Atlantic. Oh, well, our ancestors were mariners ! )
* CUPS: no USB port connection available for such printers. So still no printer available other than the CUPS-PDF.
* Asking for a clear screen at Startup still leaves all the disk icons. If you ask the pup-event script to leave only the "drives" icon in this "empty screen", it doesn't put it on, only the trash can remains.

Hm... Strange; it should be simple enough to have / create a completely empty PuppyPin in ROX using head and tail or echo and >>. Something like this structure:

head 3-4 first lines of PuppyPin > EmptyPuppyPin
tail last line of PuppyPin >> EmptyPuppyPin
rox -p=/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/EmptyPuppyPin
(Whatever programs that are on screen will stay there.)

jwm
* the jwm "add a button" feature does not seem to work
* script gives a "corrupt" message after 5 -6 times of changing and validating changes. So you have to do things manually again. (In all Puppies I've had, so this is not a dpup thing.)
* if you put jwm at top, title bars of programs slide under it, and programs become difficult to manage.
* right click on time in jwm bar does nothing. Checked ".jwmrc-tray" : clicking on the time should launch minixcal... Osmo's there, but where's minixcal?
* using htop, clicking on close button of jwm window does nothing. Luckily htop provides F10.
(If ever you were wondering why I prefer the echinus wm! Smile Well, now you know!)

Annoying:
* double eject of CD or DVD with save-to-CD option
* no item in control panel works... (work in progress?)
* nano editor not included (yikes!)
* only pburn as CD/DVD burning utility. I never had any luck burning isos to 1.5 Gb DVD's with it. Regression here since Puppy 3.01? It had 3 or 4: burniso2cd, tkburn (correct title?), and a couple of others?

* this posting, unfortunately...

That said, you still did a great job, gposil. Putting together a Puplet is never easy, as we all know. Thanks for accepting the task. Take heart. Italians have a proverb which applies nicely: "Criticism is easy, but art is difficult."

BFN

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 00:13    Post subject:  

Thanks for report Christian...this is what we need to iron out all bugs...

OK...lets address some of these...

1.) TimeZone....bug in woof will fix...
2.) Cups...I don't get this problem, I have 2 usb printers, Canon ip3000 and HP Deskjet F2235, both show up in cups drop down when plugged in. (more investigation on this)
3.) I left the drive icons in the clearscreen option...I'll adjust that if you think that would be good.
4.) JWM add button...yes I had noticed that..an oversight on my part...bug to fix
5.) JWM top problem...bug to fix
6.) Right click on time...my fault, left it out...will fix.
7.) Htop not closing with window close button...I did that on purpose so you actually had to quit htop...if that is not a desirable feature, i'll adjust it.
8.) Double eject ...bug to fix
9.) Control panel...click text underneath icon...a new version with icon clickable as well is under way.
10.) Nano should be in Document menu...it is in mine...maybe i've done something wrong there could you confirm...
11.) Pburn/burniso2cd....burniso2cd is still there, as Pburn uses it...I can add menu entry back, but Zigbert tells me it works in Pburn now.

As I said...good report, keep them coming..

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 00:40    Post subject:  

What worked:

Downloaded wine 1.1.33 in .deb format from Winehq. Clicked on file, it installed. Everything I threw at it in an .exe ran fine.

What didn't work:

Xvidtune still doesn't write a usable custom modeline for me in xorg.conf.

I still have to modify the name from something like "1680x1050" to "1680x1050blahblah" or "1680x1050vtpup" or anything other than an apparently protected standard resolution mode name.

I'm testing with an Nvidia graphics card using the standard puppy installed linux kernel driver -- not the nvidia proprietary driver.

Works fine when I change the name in 3 placed manually in xorg.conf as explained above.


EDIT: something else I'd like to mention if the above gets addressed.

In xvidtune the xvidtune window overlays the purple puppy explanation/help window. This help window should actually be readable while editing the xvidtune widow. Can the help window be moved so it's visible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 00:53    Post subject:  

Thanks vtpup...Xvidtune is still not right....i'll post re-write when i'm finished it...sorry

The help window problem I will address also, an important point...

Good news on the Wine front, that make things easy...i'll include it in Dpup repository.

Thanks Again

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:13    Post subject:  

By the way, of course, sorry I didn't mention it first:

Good work!

Now, more results:

I chose not to have wbar on new installation. But then later to test setting it up after the frugal install I did the desktop>wbar config>start button, and then did a restart of X. Wbar didn't show up, but I did see the momentary flicker after a second or two that I recognize as wbar trying to start.

I tried the start button and X restart again, but it still didn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7796
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:20    Post subject:  

Hi all,

Just downloading now..

One issue with the web page Guy (dpup.org)

The main download link on the main page triggers the browser download. Now we all here know better and use wget. .. but how is Joe Average supposed to know that? It isn't stated on the main page. Perhaps a hot link to Windows version of wget would be handy too.

He clicks the link, it may (or may not) crap out after 10 minutes and he may (or may not) give up..

Just a thought.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 01 Dec 2009, 01:23    Post subject:  

vtpup wrote:
By the way, of course, sorry I didn't mention it first:

Good work!

Now, more results:

I chose not to have wbar on new installation. But then later to test setting it up after the frugal install I did the desktop>wbar config>start button, and then did a restart of X. Wbar didn't show up, but I did see the momentary flicker after a second or two that I recognize as wbar trying to start.

I tried the start button and X restart again, but it still didn't work.


vtpup...can you try Re-run First Start Wizard in Setup menu, and choose Wbar on and apply...and let me know result.

Cheers
Guy

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 37 [548 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1226s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0383s) ][ GZIP on ]