Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 07:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Puppy Linux Windows Users: exe installer programs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 13:06    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
p.p.s How about also supplying an exe file to make a WakePup2 floppy?

That so anyone who has a PC with a BIOS that doesn't boot USB, would be able to make that also [from within Windows].


Hmmm...ok, you caught me at the right time as I've got an opportunity to make it. Hopefully it is small enough to just add as an attachment. (I had to zip it up as exe files aren't allowed as attachments.)

BUT YOU ARE THE TEST SUBJECT SYLVANDER! Very Happy You have to tell us if this works. I confirmed that it adds all the files to the floppy disk, but you have to tell us if it works as well as the floppy version of WakePup2 that you already have and that it boots the same.

By the way, all prop's for WakePup2 (at least the exe file I did) goes to forum member pakt on this thread and all information is listed out thoroughly there. Excellent job on this, pakt!
wakepup2-exe.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  wakepup2-exe.zip 
Filesize  134.33 KB 
Downloaded  366 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 14:04    Post subject:  

You put the ISO inside the .exe file?
Why not asking for the location of the ISO?

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 14:11    Post subject:  

T_Hobbit wrote:
You put the ISO inside the .exe file?
Why not asking for the location of the ISO?


Nope. I loaded everything onto a floppy disk per the windows install instructions...then I took all that was on the floppy and put it back into an exe.

The general reason that I am doing any of this is that most Window's people I know don't have experience with iso files, but they have installed stuff using exe files, for sure. So, this is trying to play to their strengths. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 14:24    Post subject:  

I mean... instead of putting the ISO inside the exe, you may create a more flexible exe, that can use any Puppy available.
Can you make an exe that ask the location of the ISO? The rest is the some, but using the ISO you just "locate"...

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 14:31    Post subject:  

T_Hobbit wrote:
I mean... instead of putting the ISO inside the exe, you may create a more flexible exe, that can use any Puppy available.
Can you make an exe that ask the location of the ISO? The rest is the some, but using the ISO you just "locate"...


That would be the next evolution/step. It would require an exe within another one. So far all this one does is unpack all the stuff required to run puppy; no other programs are run. Let me think on that, T_Hobbit...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 15:12    Post subject:  

One inside the other? Are you talking about unpacker?
_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 15:21    Post subject:  

T_Hobbit wrote:
One inside the other? Are you talking about unpacker?


Yep; very easy to do in Linux, needlessly complicated in Windows. Right now all this one does is unpack everything. Very small, nothing else installed.

To do that it would be having one thing unpacked, run it, have it unpack the iso, copy the files to a temp folder then have those added to the flash drive. At least one other program in there to get that done, probably a couple.

The problem at first glance that I see: unpacking an iso in Window's isn't standard fare. Sure, I have programs that will do that but I haven't looked at one that can be used within this exe to unpack what you want, then have it all copied to a temp file. And writing code for this is going to jack up the size, yeah? Again, easy to unpack in Linux, not so much in Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3263
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 16:17    Post subject:  

1. Downloaded the zip file for the WakePup2 floppy.

2. Unzipped the exe file.

3. Used the exe file to write the files to a blank formatted floppy.

4. Rebooted the PC with that WakePup2=(b) floppy in the drive.

5. It was reported that the floppy was not a bootable disk.

6. Compared the contents of my original WakePup2=(a) floppy with the new WakePup2=(b) floppy.
On (a) as compared to (b):
There were LOTS more files, and also 2 folders that were not on (b).
The drivers folder had a long list of files inside numerous sub-folders.
See the screenshots below of the contents of (a).
01.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.29 KB
 Viewed   1119 Time(s)

01.jpg

02.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.01 KB
 Viewed   1112 Time(s)

02.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 16:21    Post subject:  

Sylvander: wow! I missed that one, huh? Shocked

So, when you put the stuff on your floppy disk, how are you doing it and where are you getting your information from? Knowing that I can do what I did before and get all the necessary files and put them into the exe file...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3263
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 17:32    Post subject:  

1. "when you put the stuff on your floppy disk, how are you doing it"
To make the original WakePup2=(a), I had:

a. Used "Menu->System->Format Floppy Disk" to format the floppy.

b. With wakepup2-20070910 installed:
I then ran "Menu->Setup->WakePup" and supplied the formatted floppy.

2. "where are you getting your information from?"
(a) What information do you mean?
Why/how to make a WakePup2 floppy?
This thread chronicles my Puppy learning/discoveries.
See at the bottom of post #1 where I say that this Wikipedia page [looks like it has been updated since then, but the portion quoted is still there] said that Puppy can boot from a ""floppy boot disk that loads the rest of the operating system from a USB drive"."
I was advised in post #2 to go here for instructions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 18:01    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
1. "when you put the stuff on your floppy disk, how are you doing it"
To make the original WakePup2=(a), I had:

a. Used "Menu->System->Format Floppy Disk" to format the floppy.

b. With wakepup2-20070910 installed:
I then ran "Menu->Setup->WakePup" and supplied the formatted floppy.

2. "where are you getting your information from?"
(a) What information do you mean?
Why/how to make a WakePup2 floppy?
This thread chronicles my Puppy learning/discoveries.
See at the bottom of post #1 where I say that this Wikipedia page [looks like it has been updated since then, but the portion quoted is still there] said that Puppy can boot from a ""floppy boot disk that loads the rest of the operating system from a USB drive"."
I was advised in post #2 to go here for instructions.


Ok...I'll check it out. I'm having to do all of this from Windows so I may have to go back and forth...I'll post back....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 19:01    Post subject:  

Very Happy Ok, sylvander (and whomever else wants to try it): here is wakepup2 on an exe file.

I went a different route this last time: booted to puppy, installed and ran wakepup2 on a floppy, rebooted to windows, made the exe file from the files on the floppy.

Test run put it on the floppy great but I need you, sylvander, to test it again just like you did last time and give us the results. Very Happy

**CANCEL THAT: it didn't add all the folders i wanted to it...hm....will have to try it again....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TomRhymer

Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 20:27    Post subject:  

T_Hobbit wrote:
I mean... instead of putting the ISO inside the exe, you may create a more flexible exe, that can use any Puppy available.
Can you make an exe that ask the location of the ISO? The rest is the some, but using the ISO you just "locate"...


Unetbootin does this, I have used it with several different pups and puplets with any trouble.

http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 22:56    Post subject:  

TomRhymer wrote:
T_Hobbit wrote:
I mean... instead of putting the ISO inside the exe, you may create a more flexible exe, that can use any Puppy available.
Can you make an exe that ask the location of the ISO? The rest is the some, but using the ISO you just "locate"...


Unetbootin does this, I have used it with several different pups and puplets with any trouble.

http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/


Thanks, Tom, I'll check it out just for that purpose...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 22:58    Post subject:  

Wakepup2 exe file:

Ok, sylvander and anyone else, let's try this again. I got the right files this time and folders. The last method I used had issues with folders and wouldn't put the whole file path...anyway, here is the latest exe for WakePup2. All my previous comments about WakePup2 and it's creation/creator still apply. Very Happy
wakepup2.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  wakepup2.zip 
Filesize  800.49 KB 
Downloaded  364 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0795s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]