Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 00:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
How about a .pet of Artha thesaurus / dictionary?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2009, 20:15    Post_subject:  How about a .pet of Artha thesaurus / dictionary?
Sub_title: Better than Wordweb / Wine
 

I currently use Wordweb thesaurus/dictionary over wine but wish I had the linux better-than-wordweb clone called Artha for my Puppy 4.3.1 system.

Wordweb is one of these programs that is really missed by many people coming from Windows to Linux I feel (and personally I much prefer it to an online thesaurus).

http://artha.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Home

Anyone compiled that and produced a dotpet as yet? I've searched but can't find any reference to it on the forum.

EDIT: The dotpet provided by sikpuppy in post below works fine in Puppy 4.3.1!

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 12 Nov 2009, 21:20    Post_subject:  

Here 'tis. Hope it works, if not I will make it work Razz

James.

You may need to do this first:Click

The pet is Here. (12.2Mb)

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 03:41    Post_subject:  

Great! I'll probably download it overnight (I'm on dialup) and give it a try thereafter

(my Seamonkey already pretends to be Firefox so that it works with my bank :-)

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 05:30    Post_subject: Your Artha pet working fine on Puppy 4.3.1  

Have now downloaded and installed your dotpet for Artha on my Puppy 4.3.1 system and it seems to be working fine! A very useful dotpet I'd say (albeit taking up a fair amount of space). I used to use Wordweb all the time when studying English and writing essays.

As a matter of interest, did you compile the program on Puppy 4.3.1 or is it from some other distribution originally?

The only thing I'm not so sure about, comparing Artha with Wordweb, is that it doesn't appear to indicate whether a displayed word is being spelled with US English or British English. For example, it recognises both 'color' and 'colour' but doesn't indicate the corresponding US/British characteristic. With so much US English saturating the web, I sometimes start mixing the two variations together; Wordweb was good at straightening me out in that regard!

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Fri 13 Nov 2009, 08:16    Post_subject: Re: Your Artha pet working fine on Puppy 4.3.1  

mcewanw wrote:
Have now downloaded and installed your dotpet for Artha on my Puppy 4.3.1 system and it seems to be working fine! A very useful dotpet I'd say (albeit taking up a fair amount of space). I used to use Wordweb all the time when studying English and writing essays.

As a matter of interest, did you compile the program on Puppy 4.3.1 or is it from some other distribution originally?

The only thing I'm not so sure about, comparing Artha with Wordweb, is that it doesn't appear to indicate whether a displayed word is being spelled with US English or British English. For example, it recognises both 'color' and 'colour' but doesn't indicate the corresponding US/British characteristic. With so much US English saturating the web, I sometimes start mixing the two variations together; Wordweb was good at straightening me out in that regard!


It was compiled from the raw source on 4.3.1. The actual executable is small, it's all the dictionaries (and there's more, in the form of various scientist level English lookups).

As for the US English part, Wordweb is developed by Princeton University. So I think that's where the American spelling comes in Razz

http://artha.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Features#WordNet

It actually appears that the main executable can be made with notification and spelling checker...dunno what that means, but i will rebuild and upload a small pet that could add this functionality presently.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 03:09    Post_subject: Re: Your Artha pet working fine on Puppy 4.3.1  

sikpuppy wrote:

As for the US English part, Wordweb is developed by Princeton University. So I think that's where the American spelling comes in :P


I think you mean WordNet here rather than Wordweb. Like Artha, I believe the program Wordweb relies to a large extent on WordNet.

Actually, Artha, includes both the British and the American spellings, it just doesn't seem to identify which is which (whereas, the program wordweb does).


sikpuppy wrote:

It actually appears that the main executable can be made with notification and spelling checker...dunno what that means, but i will rebuild and upload a small pet that could add this functionality presently.


Really looking forward to that. Very useful. I'm surprised more users haven't commented, especially since so many ex-Windows users have said in the past how much they missed the program wordweb.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 01:43    Post_subject: Re: Your Artha pet working fine on Puppy 4.3.1  

mcewanw wrote:

I think you mean WordNet here rather than Wordweb. Like Artha, I believe the program Wordweb relies to a large extent on WordNet.

Actually, Artha, includes both the British and the American spellings, it just doesn't seem to identify which is which (whereas, the program wordweb does).
Really looking forward to that. Very useful. I'm surprised more users haven't commented, especially since so many ex-Windows users have said in the past how much they missed the program wordweb.


Yes, I stand corrected Razz

I had to travel to Sydney for a few days but rest assured I am still on the case.

As an aside, it would be nice if more Internet users at least had a inline spell checker.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 17:40    Post_subject: Artha thesaurus  

I just came across someone requesting an offline thesaurus for Abiword http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=363907#363907

I can't help thinking that not enough people realise that Artha offline thesaurus exists. It is the ideal solution to such needs, especially since it works with any installed program via its ctrl-alt-W hotkey combination. Far better, I feel, to install the full featured Artha as a dotpet than to clog up Puppy linux by including Abiword with some crummy thesaurus addon of its own. At 12 MBytes, some might say that Artha is a big download, but if a thesaurus is small in download size, it can't be a very good thesaurus anyway (more words - more size)! - all the more important that Artha inherently works as an enhancing add-on for pretty much all installed programs, not just Abiword.

Thanks to sikpuppy, you can download a dotpet of Artha via the above post: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=361204#361204

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 17:45    Post_subject:  

I don't know why there isn't a menu entry for it but type

Code:
gaiksaurus


...we're not related btw

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 17:50    Post_subject:  

gaiksaurus...

Oh that is interesting to know. Nothing like as powerful as Artha, but good for a slim Puppy.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 17:55    Post_subject:  

I presume (and its help page supports my thought) that gaiksaurus works as a standalone program only (i.e. can't be activated by highlighting a word in another program and pressing a hot key combination)?
_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2346
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 18:20    Post_subject: aiksaurus is a "set of libraries and applications"  

re: gaiksaurus

I've pretty much found out the answer to my own question.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=363946#363946

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sat 21 Nov 2009, 06:49    Post_subject:  

You can edit the keybindings in
/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal

<Key mask="A" key="t">exec:gaiksaurus</Key>

...pressing Alt+t will open gaiksaurus in any program then

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Sat 21 Nov 2009, 07:31    Post_subject:  

Nice tip, technosaurus. With that key binding edit, alt-t brings up gaiksaurus even in wine/ms word 97 (good news since word's thesaurus is pretty primitive).

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Sat 21 Nov 2009, 16:31    Post_subject:  

here is something even better that I threw together (It uses your clipboard).. map it to this instead - I simply called it /usr/bin/thesaurus

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ ! $1 ];then
MYWORD=`xclip -o`
else
MYWORD=$@
fi
gaiksaurus $MYWORD

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1029s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0278s) ][ GZIP on ]