How to change network proxy settings in Puppy and Chrome?

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
rameshiyer

How to change network proxy settings in Puppy and Chrome?

#1 Post by rameshiyer »

I am getting internet connection through http proxy. Due to this, I am not able to install additional packages through Puppy Package Manager. PPM is working only Direct access to Internet/ISP. Also I have managed to install Google Chrome. In which Change Proxy setting is not possible. While trying to set up Proxy setting in Google Chrome Browser, I am getting following message.
http://code.google.com/p/chromium/wiki/LinuxProxyConfig.
How to set up "http proxy "in Puppy as well as in Google Chrome Browser

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

Re: Network Proxy Setting

#2 Post by aragon »

rameshiyer,

please try the following in this order, because i think you don't need part 2 in this way round.
Also I have managed to install Google Chrome. In which Change Proxy setting is not possible. While trying to set up Proxy setting in Google Chrome Browser, I am getting following message.
http://code.google.com/p/chromium/wiki/LinuxProxyConfig.
How to set up "http proxy "in Puppy as well as in Google Chrome Browser
open the file

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.local
and add the lines

Code: Select all

export http_proxy="YOUR_PROXY"
export HTTP_PROXY="YOUR_PROXY"
export https_proxy="YOUR_PROXY"
export HTTPS_PROXY="YOUR_PROXY"
save the file and reboot. with

Code: Select all

echo $http_proxy
and so on you could check from within a terminal, if the variables are now setup correctly. Chrome should now work. please also test ppm at this stage. in my opinion it also should work now (it's from memory, i'm not in puppy right now).

only if ppm still doesn't work do the following.
rameshiyer wrote:I am getting internet connection through http proxy. Due to this, I am not able to install additional packages through Puppy Package Manager. PPM is working only Direct access to Internet/ISP.
ppm uses wget to download the files. to configure wget for your proxy there are 2 possibilities:
a) change default settings
/etc/wgetrc is the default-rc-file. open it in a editor. there are two points to change (and activate), the proxy-adress and use_proxy (please simple search for them). be aware to also delete the '#'. save the file. you should now be able to install directly with ppm.
b) setup user settings
copy the file /etc/wgetrc to /root and rename it to .wgetrc. after that apply the same settings as in a).

if you have problems, please post.

aragon

rameshiyer

Proxy Settings in Puppy

#3 Post by rameshiyer »

Dear Aragon

Thank you for the help. I am glad to inform you that now I am able to install from Puppy Package Manager after providing Http Proxy setting and User name and Password in /etc/wgetrc. However, I am still not able to browse Google Chrome and not able to access the Network Proxy setting in Google Chrome (option - under the hood of chrome). I also provided the proxy setting in /etc/rc.d/rc.local. However, PPM starts working only after adding Http Proxy setting in etc/wgetrc file. ( my Puppy works in Full Hard Disk -sda8 - with Grub Boot ) . My pending problem - how to browse through Google Chrome or enable Proxy setting in Google Chrome.
Looking forward further help
Thanking you once again.

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#4 Post by aragon »

rameshiyer
i've just tested it, for me http_proxy works with chrome, but i don't need username/password for my proxy.

are you shure, you entered your data in the correct way? in my oppinion this should be
http://user:password@server:port
to test it open a terminal and do

Code: Select all

export http_proxy="http://user:password@server:port" 
with your setting. then start chrome from this terminal. with a little trial and error you might get the correct syntax.

with that you should be able to setup as in my first post.

or you could simply write al little wrapper-script to start chrome. example:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
export http_proxy="http://Proxy:80" #Fill in your data
export https_proxy="http://Proxy:80" #Fill in your data
google-chrome #or whatever the startcommand for your package is
exit
save this in your path e.g. in /usr/local/bin as start-chrome, make it executable. if you start it with start-chrome now, it should work.

aragon

rameshiyer

HTTP Proxy Setting

#5 Post by rameshiyer »

Thank you for the continued support for solving my problem. In this regard, you may please note that though I am not a programmer, I managed to put the Google Chrome into working condition as per your guidance and suggestion. I have provided following commands in Console/terminal as detailed by you :-export http_proxy :

Skipper
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun 22 Apr 2007, 06:31

#6 Post by Skipper »

A little thing: it is not "Proxy-passwd" but "proxy_password".
And "proxy_user", without uppercase.

In my case, even using the last builtin proxy manager of Lucid Puppy, and without it, I'm unable to authenticate for the proxy. Error 407. May be a proxy's configuration?

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#7 Post by BarryK »

What Puppy are you using?

Recent puppies have /usr/local/simple_network_setup/proxy-setup, which is launched via a button in the Internet Connection Wizard (click 'connect' icon on desktop).

This includes Wary, Racy, Slacko, many others.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

Skipper
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun 22 Apr 2007, 06:31

#8 Post by Skipper »

BarryK wrote:What Puppy are you using?

Recent puppies have /usr/local/simple_network_setup/proxy-setup, which is launched via a button in the Internet Connection Wizard (click 'connect' icon on desktop).

This includes Wary, Racy, Slacko, many others.
Nice to read you, Barry! Genius!

Lupu-528.

I remembered that even on a Windows machine, I was unable to connect mplayer or any other console application, trough the proxy. It seems that some setups on the proxy's side is allowing only browsers to connect to the internet.

So, modify "/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser" did the trick. Just like this:

Code: Select all

exec iron --proxy-server=nvisacc:8080 "$@"
And Iron ask for user and password, and connects!

Sorry for the lost of time, but may be also you are suffering like me because of an irremediable proxy restriction.

Post Reply