(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Sep 2020, 06:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Firefox 3.6b2 and Seamonkey 2.0 compiles
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
Author Message
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 08:56    Post subject:  Firefox 3.6b2 and Seamonkey 2.0 compiles
Subject description: 3 browsers, with one SFS for testing.
 

To download these files you MUST make the changes to your browser as below. Failure to do so will result in Microsoft displaying an error on your browser.

First off, there appears to be an issue with Skydrive. I like Skydrive, but it is picky when it comes to what it recognises as a browser.

The mechanism that Microsoft uses is called a "user agent" and this basically tells Microsoft (or anyone) what browser you are using to download, be it Firefox or Internet Explorer. This is what you need to do:

Type about:config as the URL. Then type the following in the "Filter:" that appearType about:config as the URL. Then type the following in the "Filter:" that appears about all the settings:

general.useragent.extra.seamonkey

or

general.useragent.extra.firefox

dependent on which browser you are using.

Double click the entry and change it to Firefox. (It needs to be Firefox, with a capital F).

Now using sites that insist on a particular browser is fine. Note that this must be done on each browser that does not report that it is Firefox, IE6/7 or Opera(?).

OK, now for the files:

Firefox 3.6b1
Seamonkey 2.0
Firefox 3.6b2
Firefox 3.6b2 SFS

and, if you want nice MS truetype fonts to tidy up the interface(s):

MSCorefonts: this has the cabextract package to extract the fonts, and a nice little downloader script that somebody wrote to use these free to use fonts.

Hope this all works!

James.

Anyone annoyed by having to do this is welcome to complain to Microsoft, in particular the Skydrive site, to get them to change their code.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.

Last edited by sikpuppy on Mon 09 Nov 2009, 16:22; edited 14 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 532
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 20:51    Post subject: Can't Get the Pet
Subject description: XML Parsing Error
 

Oh, well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 21:45    Post subject: Re: Can't Get the Pet
Subject description: XML Parsing Error
 

davec51 wrote:
Oh, well.


Erm, did you read the first part of my post?

*edit* I have edited the first post to hopefully clear up my muddy logic.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 532
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 22:30    Post subject: Worked Now
Subject description: My Error
 

I thought the adjustment was to be made after the installation, not before the download. I apologize; both download and installation went smoothly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 22:35    Post subject: Re: Worked Now
Subject description: My Error
 

davec51 wrote:
I thought the adjustment was to be made after the installation, not before the download. I apologize; both download and installation went smoothly.


Excellent. Thanks, I wrote the original post quite late at night, and upon reading it today it did seem a little unclear. It is a Microsoft issue, their site only recognises Firefox, IE7/8 or Opera as being browsers. Anything else throws up an error, as you saw.

It's a shame, since Skydrive is a free, instant upload/download option with a lack of porn banners or delay timers. And posting Open Source goodies on A Microsoft site makes me feel all warm and fuzzy.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 7024
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 07 Nov 2009, 07:52    Post subject:  

Quote:
I thought the adjustment was to be made after the installation

Yes, it still reads like that to me... perhaps for the benefit of people who don't read the whole thread you could edit the post to make it clear that we actually need to configure our browser before we can download it.

_________________
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13647
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 07 Nov 2009, 08:31    Post subject:  

I could download them fine with Opera.

mirror:
http://dotpups.de/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/Seamonkey-2.0-i686.pet

http://dotpups.de/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/firefox-3.6b1-i686.pet

http://dotpups.de/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/cabextract-1.2.pet

mirror 2:
http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/Seamonkey-2.0-i686.pet

http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/firefox-3.6b1-i686.pet

http://puppyfiles.ca/dotpupsde/puppy4/dotpups/Internet/cabextract-1.2.pet

(user: puppy, password: linux)

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sat 07 Nov 2009, 10:40    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Quote:
I thought the adjustment was to be made after the installation

Yes, it still reads like that to me... perhaps for the benefit of people who don't read the whole thread you could edit the post to make it clear that we actually need to configure our browser before we can download it.


My bolding. Does it read OK now? It's almost taken me longer to try to force people to read my entire OP than it did to compile the files!

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sat 07 Nov 2009, 10:48    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
I could download them fine with Opera.

Mark


Good to know, thanks.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 7024
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 07 Nov 2009, 17:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
My bolding. Does it read OK now?

Yes, that's great.
BTW the problem wasn't forcing people to read your whole post, but making your post say what you actually meant.
Quote:
It's almost taken me longer...

At least you can blame it on Microsoft Smile

_________________
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sat 07 Nov 2009, 19:05    Post subject:  

thanks for making this sikpuppy. First off, I was able to download it just as normal--none of the extra was needed, Left-click on it and choose Save, that was all.

Second, I am running uPup 4.32 (a Woof Pup built with Ubuntu 9.10 karmic binaries). I have found that dbus and hal do not need to be running for most software that I use. I even have a broswer, SRWare Iron, that does not need or start dbus or hal. It's lower overhead without dbus and hal for sure so I would rather they not run. Firefox however does start and require dbus and leaves it running when Firefox exits. I was hoping your version which was built without the dbus dependency (as i understand it) would not need or start dbus. But, dadgum it, for some reason it did and left it running. Probably if I did not have dbus installed then your Firefox would run without it unlike the main Firefox distribution but since it is there it starts it anyway. I don't want to uninstall dbus though, just because some program that I need might require it. I am not asking for a solution just telling the story .... unless someone knows a startup option that would tell Firefox not to start dbus. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2009, 01:49    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
thanks for making this sikpuppy. First off, I was able to download it just as normal--none of the extra was needed, Left-click on it and choose Save, that was all.

Second, I am running uPup 4.32 (a Woof Pup built with Ubuntu 9.10 karmic binaries). I have found that dbus and hal do not need to be running for most software that I use. I even have a broswer, SRWare Iron, that does not need or start dbus or hal. It's lower overhead without dbus and hal for sure so I would rather they not run. Firefox however does start and require dbus and leaves it running when Firefox exits. I was hoping your version which was built without the dbus dependency (as i understand it) would not need or start dbus. But, dadgum it, for some reason it did and left it running. Probably if I did not have dbus installed then your Firefox would run without it unlike the main Firefox distribution but since it is there it starts it anyway. I don't want to uninstall dbus though, just because some program that I need might require it. I am not asking for a solution just telling the story .... unless someone knows a startup option that would tell Firefox not to start dbus. Thanks.


These files are designed and apparently do work on a clean 4.3.1 install of Puppy.

Both were compiled without the need for dbus, as in I disabled it in the compile options. It SHOULDN'T use it, since it was compiled without the need for it in the first place.

So it's curious it uses it on your system....I neither have nor use dbus or HAL on my Puppy.

Since this was compiled and runs on 4.3.1 I think it might not be the best for you. If you have dbus installed maybe using the official version may be the go? It might close more gracefully and end any dbus threads properly: http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-beta.html

BTW I used the following to compile Seamonkey:

Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var --enable-application=suite --disable-mailnews --disable-gnomevfs --disable-gnomeui --disable-dbus


and a very similar method for Firefox.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2009, 02:22    Post subject:  

I have this feeling this might be something to do with a module called "Startup-Notification".

Firefox (and other programs) uses this to notify various other parts of the operating system that it has ... started up for want of a better phrase.

This may fire up a dbus thread or two, but since Firefox isn't actually using these threads then the threads are never properly terminated and seem to be running in limbo.

I will recompile Firefox without "startup notification", and see if this fixes the issue. Stay tuned.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2009, 03:48    Post subject:  

I have re-uploaded the Firefox PET. I have explicitly disabled startup notification so hopefully this will now behave on systems that have 'dbus' installed.

It should perform identically for 4.3.1 Puppy as the previous PET.

_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
sikpuppy


Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 431

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2009, 23:52    Post subject:  

There is now Firefox3.6b2. I have packaged it as before and the link is in the first post.
_________________
ASUS A1000, 800Mhz PIII Coppermine!, 192Mb RAM, 10Gb IBM Travelstar HDD, Build date August 2001.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2852s ][ Queries: 11 (0.1199s) ][ GZIP on ]