Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 23:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy RamBoot - Everything (including save file) in RAM
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan 2010, 19:56    Post subject:  

Seaside, I'll check it out.

Anniekin, you need to use frugal if you want to put things in RAM. Even then, it's difficult to be selective unless you want to remaster or move stuff around to different sfs files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 878

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jan 2010, 18:07    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
Seaside, I'll check it out.


jemimah,

Tried out a few other items -

Symlinked the devx_431.sfs file outside of the psub dir - no luck- was hoping that might be it.

Also, converted the "pup-save.2sf" save file to an .sfs file and renamed it "zp431000.sfs" and that didn't load (maybe the "zdriv" filename convention isn't right-not sure)

Forum seems to have been down.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jan 2010, 18:26    Post subject:  

I had problems today using psubdir with the devx without ramboot. Moving it to /mnt/home fixed it, maybe a symlink is not good enough. Not sure what the deal is yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 878

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jan 2010, 18:53    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
I had problems today using psubdir with the devx without ramboot. Moving it to /mnt/home fixed it, maybe a symlink is not good enough. Not sure what the deal is yet.


Yes, the devx sfs has to be either in the /mnt/home or symlinked to work for my "non-ramboot" loading from a psubdir.

(I'm wondering how many reboots my machine can take before it starts complaining that it's being abused Very Happy ) ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 878

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jan 2010, 23:47    Post subject:  

jemimah,

Some more observations.....

The "zp431000.sfs" file needed to be renamed "zp431305.sfs". It loads fine with "ramboot=1" and without - in the psubdir.

The devx sfs file still doesn't load in "ramboot=1" mode, however, no matter if it's in /mnt/home or psub.

A puzzle.

Thanks for your help,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 19:10    Post subject:  

ive been looking for a way to load the save file into ram as well... might be able to use what you've done as a steping point. Smile
Thanks for the work you do for the community.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 4982
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 19:29    Post subject:  

Q5sys; But if you load it into ram then it`s not a Save file anymore!
It has to be on a "persistent" medium for it to Save data, usually a HD or USB flash drive.
This has been talked about and has been done, but why I`m not sure...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1046

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 22:58    Post subject:  

sunburnt wrote:
Q5sys; But if you load it into ram then it`s not a Save file anymore!
It has to be on a "persistent" medium for it to Save data, usually a HD or USB flash drive.
This has been talked about and has been done, but why I`m not sure...


sunburnt, yea I got that from reading the prior posts. Would be nice for once I have my save file in order and I want to load it into memory for faster usage. I save all my files to an external drive anyway. The only thing i'd be loosing would be web history and stuff like that which isnt important to me anyway.
Yea I know I could just remaster a CD, however I have different save files for different configs on my system, so if I did a remaster... then i'd be locked into one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 4982
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 00:48    Post subject:  

I believe that Puppy will give a boot menu listing Save files that it has found.
To hack the boot code to load the SAve file into ram isn`t difficult, at least 1 GB is needed.
And then a shutdown GUI to Q for a new Save file name if desired, not hard to do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [69 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0598s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]