Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 00:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
[SOLVED] HP Deskjet 840c: trying to set up using CUPS
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 05:09    Post_subject:  [SOLVED] HP Deskjet 840c: trying to set up using CUPS
Sub_title: Printer Wizard not succeeding
 

This is my 2nd attempt; eventually gave up at 1st attempt.

When CUPS opens the webpage, I click "Manage Printers", but there is no "Add Printer". Sad Confused

"hpijs-2.8.2_static-1 drivers for hewlett packard printers" has been installed.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 06:40    Post_subject:  

Suggestions anyone? Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
brymway

Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 12:04    Post_subject:  

What Puppy release are you using?

On my 4.12 when I click on 'manage printers' I have to scroll down and the 'add printer' button is on the bottom left of the page. If you have a 4.2 or 4.3 series it may be different?

_________________
http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 12:25    Post_subject:  

Yeah I noticed CUPS has different interface between releases, here on dpup add printer is right on homepage in the middle of the page but on 4.1.x it's different.
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 13:42    Post_subject:  

1. "What Puppy release are you using?"
BoxPup = Puppy version 4.1.3, kernel 2.6.25.16.

2. "when I click on 'manage printers' I have to scroll down and the 'add printer' button is on the bottom left of the page"
My page looks like it's incomplete [it's near empty].
There are empty rectangles where things aught to be, and it says "No printers" under the "Search in printers" box.
Beneath that the page is empty and there is no scroll bar to see more down below.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6458
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 15:22    Post_subject:  

Maybe try a different browser.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 15:46    Post_subject:  

I did.
Used Opera, but it was just the same. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 16:14    Post_subject:  

OK...
I rebooted to ttuuxxx's update version 4.31 on a live CD-RW + pupsave file.
That works as it aught, looks good, printer now set up, working, printed a test page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Oct 2009, 19:11    Post_subject:  

Then...
Rebooted and loaded Puppy 4.2.1-rc3 held on a USB Flash Drive.

Used CUPS in there to set up the printer and printed a test page.

Printer working there also. Very Happy

Pity it won't work in the BoxPup installation on the internal HDD.

Some time back I updated Boxpup from an earlier version to this latest version.
It didn't go perfectly; there were duplicates produced on the menu.

I wonder if it might have messed up CUPS?

Is there any way to uninstall and re-install CUPS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 06:25    Post_subject:  

Success!

Problem fixed.
Printer now installed, and printed a test page.

See the links here for the method used to fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0545s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]