Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 14:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Wpa_Gui: Finally a real network manager for puppy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 12:00    Post_subject:  Wpa_Gui: Finally a real network manager for puppy
Sub_title: Including a systay applet!
 

If you've been missing WICD or NetworkManager, this pet is for you.

Wpa_gui runs in the background and automatically connects you to any open wireless network it finds. Encrypted Network? No problem, just hit scan, double click your network, and enter the password. Choose file->save, and you'll be automatically connected whenever you're in range. Since, wpa_gui is a simple frontend to wpa_supplicant, written by the team that wrote wpa_supplicant, you can expect WPA-encrypted connections to work without much hassle (hopefully, I don't have a wpa network so I didn't test this). Wpa_gui will even handle your Ethernet connections, giving you a convenient one-stop shop for most of your networking needs.

To install the pet, first you need to install the qt4 pet from the puppy4 repository. You'll also probably want to disable any automatic connections you setup with the Network Wizard. Then install the attached pet and restart.

The pet puts a script named networking in /root/Startup that automatically runs when you login. To prevent wpa_gui from starting automatically, move the script somewhere else. If your network interfaces are called something other than wlan0 and eth0 you'll need to modify the script. Let me know if you have any problems with this, and I'll try to help.
wpa_gui-qt4-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  wpa_gui-qt4-i486.pet 
Filesize  517.03 KB 
Downloaded  2718 Time(s) 
wpa_gui.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  wpa_gui.jpg 
Filesize  104.57 KB 
Downloaded  1901 Time(s) 
context.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   7.99 KB
 Viewed   8950 Time(s)

context.jpg

appletballoon.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   11.61 KB
 Viewed   8944 Time(s)

appletballoon.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
a-dub

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 16:02    Post_subject:  

Yay!! No kidding, FINALLY! I was just talking about this in another thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=351599#351599

I'll try it out and give you feedback. Thanks for your effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 23:14    Post_subject:  

Worked fine for me under Fatdog 112 and Puppy 431RC

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4347

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 00:32    Post_subject:  

Recompiled and repacked.
... here is a pet and the dotconfig for reference
defconfig.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  defconfig.gz 
Filesize  5.14 KB 
Downloaded  1168 Time(s) 
wpa_gui-qt4-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  wpa_gui-qt4-i486.pet 
Filesize  215.79 KB 
Downloaded  1411 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
a-dub

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 02:13    Post_subject:  

A quick question: how do you disable automatic connections previously setup with Network Wizard?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 03:13    Post_subject:  

Have a go at compiling it statically with the Qt library. It would be interesting to see how big it becomes.

Usually, if you just remove all the .so files, leave only the .a files, that enough to make it link statically.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 13:39    Post_subject:  

a-dub, Network Wizard never worked at all for me, so I'm not totally sure. I presume just deleting any saved profiles would do the trick. If it's giving you issues, you can try renaming the /etc/rc.d/rc.network file.

Technosaurus, wanna try the static link thing? Qt applications are not my forte' and I'm still a novice at making pets. The startup script could likely be made a lot more intelligent too. The current one is the simplest implementation that could possibly work.

I think it would not be terribly difficult to make a gtk gui for this, as all the brains are in wpa_supplicant. It uses some kind of control file for communication with the applet. Wpa_supplicant can also use dbus for communication which is how WICD and Connman talk to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4347

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 13:58    Post_subject:  

I would have done it already but I am still toying with the idea of having a minimal QT environment in 4.4 CE. I'll do it when I get home tonight.

It does use a lot of resources though...

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
a-dub

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 17:18    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
a-dub, Network Wizard never worked at all for me, so I'm not totally sure. I presume just deleting any saved profiles would do the trick. If it's giving you issues, you can try renaming the /etc/rc.d/rc.network file.


Thanks, I'll give it a shot.

a-dub
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4347

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 18:58    Post_subject:  

well, damn... turns out the devx does not have all the .a files and there is no qt4_dev pet so it looks like I will have to try and recompile qt again because I didn't compile them either when I compiled qt-4.5.3. It takes several hours to compile on my computer so it likely won't be tonight.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4347

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 21:43    Post_subject:  

I compiled it statically against QT-4.5.3... binary ends up being over 8MB

I might have a go at it again though I didn't realize that Qt set static libs to be compiled as PIC, I know it will be smaller but by how much? Probably will still be at least in the 5Mb range so probably better to use the shared version

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 15:21    Post_subject:  

Tried to install this to ttuuxxx's pup 214X15 but it didn't run.

From CLI it says it needs
Quote:
libQtGui.so.4


Google didn't help so can anyone help me find this.

Thanks
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 15:31    Post_subject:  

I got my copy here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/qt4-4.3.2.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 17:34    Post_subject:  

As the pet is nearly 4MB I guess you mean just extract the lib from it.

Many thanks
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 18:34    Post_subject:  

Sorry, that's the rub of it. This requires Qt and Qt is rather large. It's possible to configure Wpa_supplicant as a network daemon without the Gui but you'll have to do it by hand editing files and such and you won't have an applet to tell you it's working. Someone might be able to whip up a GTK gui for it, but I couldn't find anything that's already built.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0730s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]